We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Host Shows Makes Visitors Feel Welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salamander Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We paid just 63 pounds to stay here.

We stayed here last night for our one day in Stratford, and the place was practically perfect. Incredibly clean, comfortable beds, quiet yet central location.

Pascal showed us all of the key spots on a map of the town to help us make the most of our 21h visit, and even offered to hold on to our luggage after we checked out so we could see more of the city before we left.

This place served our needs perfectly!

Constructive criticism:
The shower drain was a bit blocked when I tried to use it, but since we only stayed one night it didn't become an issue. We let the operator know.

Also, it would be helpful to provide guests with face cloths, since some but not all guests use them (I use them to wash my face).

Tiny niggling points though on an otherwise wonderful and highly-recommended spot!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pidu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for Salamander Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed here one night last week with my husband and college-age son. It is sometimes hard to find a triple at a B&B. Room was clean, average size. Very quiet. Bathroom small but fixtures very modern; plenty of hot water. Breakfast good and filling, served is a very pleasant room. Good location on street with lots of B&Bs. Ample parking. French host, Pascal, was loquacious and humorous, and will help carry your luggage up the stairs; but don't trust his restaurant recommendations. He told us the Kingfisher had the best fish and chips. Well, it may have had the most economic fish and chips but the place was bare bones simple and the fish and chips were, well, fish and chips. Remember there is an extra charge for paying with a credit card. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acheyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Good value for money, spotlessly clean, great breakfast, full english with cereal and good fresh coffee. I stayed in a single room that was clean and comfortable, my bathroom was at end of corridor, but I had my own key and it was very clean. Pascal was very helpful also quite witty, with his funny observations.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank net61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Our 3 day stay at Salamander Bed & Breakfast was a pleasure. Pascal greeted us with a welcoming sense of humour, and promoted the benefits of our stay in Stratford upon Avon. Walking distance to places of interest, this budget accommodation with quality breakfasts enabled us to relax, explore and enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janno968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just returned home from a brilliant weekend stay at the salamander guest house.We were greeted by a lovely pascal who informed us of things to do during our stay.A very friendly and relaxed atmosphere, enjoyed by us all :-)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I've stayed here several times in the past few years, when having a short, theatre-going, break in Stratford. Pascal is always a welcoming host, and the comfortable rooms and good breakfasts are excellent value for money. Perfect location for the theatres, riverside, shops, restaurants, etc, and very convenient for the railway station - which is an easy (10 minutes max) walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I have been to BnB:s all over Europe, Its not often you get this fantastic warm welcome. Nice beds and just the feeling you want to have when you stay at an BnB. I strongely recomend this guest house. My only wish is that the next time I stay in another town that they will be as good as The Salamander Guest House because this is value for your money.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
Thank Joachim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashgrove House
Ashgrove House
#18 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Faviere Guest House
Faviere Guest House
#14 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden Park Guest House
Arden Park Guest House
#33 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Twelfth Night Guest House
Twelfth Night Guest House
#8 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
474 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Moon Guest House
Hunters Moon Guest House
#9 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
#35 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamander Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamander Guest House

Address: 40 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £60 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salamander Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edwardian family-run guesthouse located in the town centre and close to all tourists attractions/restaurants. Offering quality en suite bedrooms and freshly cooked breakfast. Free car parking/garaging on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Salamander Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamander Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing