We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Salamander Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We went to Stratford for a couple of nights staying at the Salamander We arrived and were very warmly greated by Pascal. He ensured we knew where we were going plus pointed out on a map restraunts and attractions we should consider. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast whist not huge was very good with a good choice of cerals and full english. Pascal french humour is a delight

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    91
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
85
99
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed two nights 4th and 5th of November.
Pascal was fun, knowledgeable and informative.
Accommodation was clean and the bed very comfortable.
Breakfast was good with unlimited tea, coffee and toast.
Lovely stay, good value for money and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GG43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed 28 & 29 October 2013 with two female friends, sharing a large triple room. (Be aware when booking any B&B that you do need to specify you want single beds - or at least that you don't want to share a bed! - as there was some confusion when I arrived first and was shown to a room with one double and one single. Luckily another room was free. In fact we had specified three single travellers wanting own beds, but we'd booked so long ago - March - that the owner had forgotten the details). It could have been a problem if there hadn't been another free room, so be sure to double-check any B&B's terminology when you book; a "triple room" doesn't necessarily mean a room for three singles. Having said all that, the accommodation here was great - not only clean and well-organised, as one would hope, but the bedding was of very good quality, and there were hooks everywhere to hang dressing gowns, outdoor coats, wash-bags - just perfect! It'sthe first place I've ever stayed in anywhere that had that, and we all really appreciated it. And there was a long mirror, too - something other B&B's and hotels have lacked. Our room was opposite the little park area, on a well-used road, but the traffic didn't bother us, and anyway, that's Stratford. I would say that darker curtains would be helpful, as the street lights made it quite light in the room at night.Despite being three in a room, we didn't feel crowded. Pascal warned us that the water pressure for showers might be low during the busy morning period, but in fact there was no problem. Breakfast was a sociable occasion, as other reviewers have noted - Pascal introduces your party to everyone as you arrive.It may not suit everyone - it didn't particularly suit me, but my companions were happy with it, and it did break the ice. Most of us were going to see Richard II, but not because we're David Tennant groupies, so there was some interesting and informed conversation about the play. If you're grumpy and unsociable at breakfast, it might irritate you! But Pascal was absolutely on top of the service - no one was ever left waiting for what they wanted, and it was all hot and tasty. I particularly recommend the eggs - I meant to ask him where he gets them. There isn't a huge amount of choice, but if you're a veggie you can have veggie substitutes, I believe. I chose to just leave out the sos and bacon. There were cereals and fruit juice too (orange, ready poured and waiting, which was a waste for me as I don't drink it, and forgot to tell him on the second day). We got a key on arrival and were not bothered after that by any rules or regulations. The parking at the rear (in an area shared with other B&Bs, as is the way in Stratford) is a bit tight, as others have remarked, but not as bad as I feared, and Pascal has a knack of popping up to help just when you need him. I would happily stay here again, and I'm not surprised that The Salmander's been going for many years.

Room Tip: As I said in my review, specify what you want if you're with a group. But then, that applies for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrogladyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

After reading all the reviews we were quite excited about staying here. Well it was the most disappointing stay of our trip to the UK and France.
Firstly we were very tired after travelling through the Cotswolds on a very lovely day. However all we wanted to do was go to our room to relax, unfortunately the owner was a little too helpful (going on and on) in explaining the various places to eat and drink in Stratford. However it's hard to fault someone being so helpful.
The room was awful. It was on the top level. Whilst it was sizeable, the window wouldn't open and there was no water to shower with. There was also a large gap in the ceiling between the roof and beams which was full of spider webs. Hardly conducive to a good night's sleep!
Breakfast didn't improve the experience. The hot breakfast was almost cold (served on a hot plate), but worse was the introductions in the breakfast room, every-time someone entered the room. This was frankly annoying.
Unfortunately some of our comments are echoed by others 3 years ago. I think the water situation is something that needs to be addressed (even if it's only on the top floor, it's still not good).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

And it was great! Vivian was ultra-helpful and friendly, went out of her way to make us feel at home. Great location, comfortable and clean with easy off-street parking. Lovely breakfast, fresh and delicious. Would stay here again in a flash!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Kreuznach, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were on a "Gent´s Tour", father and 2 sons (15, 12) for two days. As I worked in S-u-A ages ago, I knew the town and stayed afterwords in quite a lot B&B´s. Now I know, the Salamander is on of the best choices ever! A very warm welcome by the Pascal, the French with a perfect black british sense of humour :-) - great! We booked a triple room and got a kind of spacious Junior Suite, with 2 bedrooms and separat entrance on backside to car-parking area, so quiet as well!
Great stay! Thanks!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bewert-o-Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Four 60s college reunion bods spent 2 excellent days at the Salamander.
It is ideally situated for Stratford's centre, the breakfast is top quality, and the accommodation was just what we wanted; but importantly Pascal's service is first rate - nothing is too much trouble.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Famousbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashgrove House
Ashgrove House
#16 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moonraker Guest House
Moonraker Guest House
#26 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Carlton Guest House
The Carlton Guest House
#41 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arden Park Guest House
Arden Park Guest House
#33 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twelfth Night Guest House
Twelfth Night Guest House
#9 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
#27 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamander Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamander Guest House

Property: Salamander Guest House
Address: 40 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Salamander Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edwardian family-run guesthouse located in the town centre and close to all tourists attractions/restaurants. Offering quality en suite bedrooms and freshly cooked breakfast. Free car parking/garaging on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Salamander Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamander Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing