We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously lacked atmosphere...”
Review of Quilt & Croissants

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quilt & Croissants
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had really high hopes for the Quilts & Croissants based on the excellent reviews we had read. Unfortunately our experience fell well short of our expectations.

The name 'Quilts & Croissants' suggests a warm, cosy and homely environment that is almost a home from home. Unfotunately the b&b lacked any kind of personality, even down to the owner who seemed extremely uncomfortable in the role as front of house. The hallway and breakfast room were cluttered with folders and paperwork and our room was quite dated, small and lacked anything to make you feel 'at home'. Despite the owners being aware that we were staying with a young infant (travel cot, pushchair etc) we were given a tiny room on the very top floor and when we came down for breakfast the following morning we were informed that their only highchair was in storage somewhere!

It has to be said that our room was very clean which is always a blessing. The breakfast was exactly as you would expect and we felt that overall it was good value for money.

In short, its hard to say exactly what is 'wrong' with the Quilts & Croissants, but its also hard to say what is 'right' with it either. Not a bad place to stay but is it worth all of the glowing reviews it has received so far? Not in this lifetime.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

10 of us ladies stayed at Richard and Sue's guest house last Saturday. We were very well looked after and given a great welcome. There was parking for 2 cars, comfortable beds, extensive teabag choice in our rooms, wonderful breakfast. We were even able to chill our own wine in a fridge. Would definitely recommend and return. Thank you

Room Tip: The triple has a great window seat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mags t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We visit Stratford often. Our first choice for overnight accommodation is always the cheerful but quiet Q & C. The modern house is conveniently located,with bright well decorated rooms, comfortable beds, good showers. Hosts are friendly, eager to please, helpful with information, and respect their guests privacy. There's a wide choice in their made-to-order breakfasts.

Room Tip: An excellent B&B for groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Excellent location, although on a busy road. Parking across the street in a back alley (ring door bell first). Great breakfast, with what appeared to be home made bread and jam. Very friendly and helpful owners. Only negative is that the shower was really extremely limp...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LangeWapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I stayed here journeying through with a study abroad group from Texas. I stayed in the triple room, which is beautifully decorated and even contains a quaint and peaceful window seat. The en suite bathroom is modern and has wonderful amenities. The establishment itself is very neat and clean, and the breakfast is very good. The owners themselves were the best part of the stay, for they were very kind and did not mind at all when we inconvenienced them. One of them graciously opened the door for me when I did not have a key, for my roommates had taken it, and they did not complain when we forgot to place our breakfast orders the night before. As Stratford is small, the establishment is not a long walk from any of the attractions. My only small complaint would be that there is only one key, which would not be a problem for a family, but posed some issues for three university age girls coming in and going out at differing times.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOMSUDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Couldn't take a shower because I couldn't get the shower to work. Everything else was pretty much as you'd expect from a b&b. Bed, teabags....I didn't try the breakfast so can't comment. It's located about 10-15 minutes walk from the theatres. Quickest route is to walk down Scholars Lane.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
Thank tagliatelle458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Over many years of visiting Stratford for the theatre we have stayed as often as possible at Quilt and Croissants. It has been our first choice B&B but not surprisingly it is popular and there have not always been rooms available. We stayed there recently and were struck again by how kind and generous Richard and Sue are in their welcome and general attitude to those who stay with them. On two occasions we have had car trouble necessitating calling breakdown services. Each time we were welcomed back to the house, offered drinks and made to feel comfortable. They clearly know about "the extra mile" in hospitality!
We were also impressed by the way they are constantly improving the accommodation they offer.
We have always been most comfortable in the attractively appointed rooms and their breakfast offerings are wide and should cover the most demanding client, the ingredients and
cooking being exemplary.
Richard and Sue are interested in the theatre and attend as many performances at the RSC as they can so it is always interesting discussing the latest productions with them. As B&B proprietors they seem to be unusual in this respect.
We highly recommend Quilt and Croissants.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
13.7 mi away
The Limes Country Lodge Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,162 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,470 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Blue Boar Inn
The Blue Boar Inn
#1 of 1 in Temple Grafton
468 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quilt & Croissants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quilt & Croissants

Address: 33 Evesham Place, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £79 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quilt & Croissants 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quilt & Croissants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing