We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avoncot Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The White Swan Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Billesley Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Arden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Stratford, A QHotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
15
4
1
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
4
1
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsensuite roomtrain stationbreakfast was excellentminute walktown centreone nightthe riverguesthousetvcerealshakespearestratford
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2008

After trawling through various B&B internet sites, it was a happy surprise to find this self catering guest house amongst them, offering do-able rates for my family and real self catering facilities. We paid a standard room price and although there was no full English breakfast included, we happily made our own. The kitchen was fully functional, we found biscuits, fresh bread, tea, coffee, milk that sort of thing set out for us. A microwave oven great for heating up the babies milk without disturbing anyone. The daughter of the family was lovely and really helpful for advising which sights would be best for us to take the kids. The house was being renovated at the rear when we were there but this didn't disturb us at all. I would recommend penshurst as a home from home, letting families such as mine have the opportunity to visit Stratford without costing an arm and a leg as well as having the independence that we have at home.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank titch_lc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2007

We stayed at Penshurst for our recent trip to Stratford.We were greeted ny son and left standing on door step.Parents didn't even greet usThe concept selfcatering started when shown kitchen and that was it - no milk (all out of date), coffee or tea. Rooms and hallways messy, Junk everywhere. Whole place is very tired and overpriced. View from window disgusting - junk yard. We would never recomend this "guest house" to anyone! Don't be duped into the family room. A disappointing investment of too many quid!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McFlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprogs, Owner at Avoncot Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2008

Thank you for your review, which follows on from 2 other fairly negative reviews. I have taken on board the comments made and there is actually very little that I can disagree with. There have been many pressures from various sources over the last 18 months or so that have resulted in little attention being paid to the proper running of the guest house.

These problems, however, are now being ironed out. This Spring will see major improvements in decor, overall cleanliness and services provided. The only promise I can't make, however, is in rectifying the view of the back yard just yet. We are carrying out renovations to our own living accommodation out the back, but we will be aiming to completely re-landscape this area in the late Summer/early Autumn of 2008.

Karen and Yannick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2006

A new concept in Bed and Breakfasts! proclaims the brochure in our room. As far as I could tell the new Bed and breakfast concept meant no breakfast (unless you paid extra) and, bizarrely no room cleaning unless you paid extra! At £47 room only, this already represented poor value and its just down right strange and something of an insult to be asked to pay an extra £4 to have the room cleaned (but it's OK as the brochure helpfully points out where the cleaning materials are should you wish to do it yourself)!

There was a kitchen for self catering, which seem well equipped, but I have to say I don't think the owners set foot in there for several days on account of the rock hard pastries that were gathering dust on the side through out the stay.

Actually the owners were no where in sight; the B&B seemed to be staffed entirely and very inefficiently by the owners'(very noisy) teenage children. It was impossible to get any attention, despite ringing their bell and knocking on their private door (even though I could hear voices the other side).

The overall feeling was that the b&b has been set up to extract maximum cash at minimum effort. They say that they are trying to keep the costs down for the visitor, but as a b&b regular, they didn't seem to actually DO anything thing that had any cost in the first place. In all lazy and sloppy and very poor value.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billybobteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2006

We stayed at the Penshurst for 3 nights for a blast of culture on our trip around England. We booked it direct from their web site on the basis that unusually it had self catering facilities in the form of a shared guest kitchen.
Our room was fine, although not particularly clean, and had useful furnishings like a dining table and sofa which were appreciated. It was up on the second floor (3rd to the Americans) up some extremely steep stairs, which I would not reccommend to anyone with mobility problems.
All this was acceptable but for two major problems;
1) The kitchen was rarely cleaned; one day the same debris was in the kitchen from 8 am to 5 pm. Also our food was taken from the kitchen, apparently by the owners children.
2) They were renovating, and there was constant noise from tile cutting etc until 9 to 10 pm at night.
I was irritated enough to insist on a discount when we left.
A minor issue was that despite having asked for our visa card on booking, they did not accept payment by this method.
Not reccommended.
Dunedinite.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dunedinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Middlewich Cheshire
1
Reviewed 23 September 2005

Breakfast was brilliant compliments to the Chef, room was lovely however didn't think much of the view out the back, back yard could do with a clear out, could look lovely with a few hanging baskets and pots of flowers. The gentleman was extremely helpful,(assuming he was the owner) offering to help with our bags and telling us where we could park safely across the road. The Guest House itself was lovely and clean and we would recommend it, would definately stay there again, (just sort the bag yard out and you would be onto a winner!)

Kind regards

Belinda, Simon and James Affleck.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews