We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly B&B a must to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moonraker Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
high wycombe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly B&B a must to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This B&B is a short walk into town which offers plenty of places to eat and drink. Visited three of the Shakeaspears houses well worth visiting. Warwick Castle a must to visit. Morris was very helpful and makes you feel very welcome. we stayed in room 6 which overlooked the back garden which was very peaceful and quiet and when we visited the weather was extremely hot and a welcome surprise the room even had a fan in it so we could keep a cool. Breakfast excellent plenty of choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighWycombeAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    45
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
87
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

This guest house was well situated for a walk into Stratford passing Morrisons on the way if you need anything.
As other reviewers I can't fault Morris who couldn't have been more helpful and I was really pleased to have been able to chose our room from pictures on the website. However we were disappointed at the size of the room which was too small to hold the 5 foot bed which was in it. We stayed in June and found the 13.5 tog duvet too hot and far too heavy.
The breakfast was excellent and they were able to provide vegetarian sausages and green tea which we requested.
Needs some updating.

Room Tip: Room number 5 called 'Rosalind' is situated at the back so it is quiet BUT it is very small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleyann50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here for weekend 5th to 7th July when River Festival was on. Visited all the Shakepeares Houses and this is ideally placed as it it about 15 mins walking to town and 20 mins country walk to Anne Hathaways Cottage. Another advantage is it close proximity to yhe railway station (easy walking). Morris really makes you welcome and nothing is too much for him. He gave great advice on getting to places. It is friendly place. We stayed in the RosLind room which was quite pleasant and biyou-shower and bath made the space a bit crowded but loved to have both during a hot spell of weather. Breakfasts were fantastic-all freshly cooked and choice was good.Very good value for the facilities on offer. This is worth a visit-we followed the advice given as to where to eat and recommendations were excellent both times. We really would recommend this guest house and would loke to thank Morris and Ruth for their welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just spent two lovely days in Stratford at the Moonraker B&B. Read the reviews before booking, could see décor and size was an issue but everywhere was getting booked so we went for it. The location was great, 10 minutes walk from the town, free parking. We were immediately disappointed when we were shown to our room, front downstairs, we thought we wouldn't have any privacy as it opened onto the dining room and were worried about the noise from the road. It was very small and the en-suite was barely big enough to brush our teeth in. BUT, having said all that, it was lovely and quiet, we really didn't hear any other guests and each morning at breakfast we were surprised how full the b&B was as everyone was so quiet, the road was also quiet at night. All in all great value for money, badly needs moderninsing, but Morris was lovely and it was clean and breakfasts great too with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just had two great days staying in the Moonraker. This lovely bed and breakfast is superbly run by a friendly, attentive couple who make sure your stay is enjoyable. Our room to the front wasn't noisy nor was the room tiny. Breakfast was varied and made fresh. A short ten minute walk to the town and nearby railway station makes it an ideal location. When we come back to Stratford wouldn't hesitate to stay again here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monaghanchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
522 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Do not get me wrong, guys: Morris is one of the nicest, friendliest and most attentive innkeepers I met when travelling. The place is within a 15 minutes’ walking distance to the centre of Stratford. Breakfast is great, there is free WiFi as well as free parking. So a clear recommendation, not least as everything was spotlessly clean ! But if you have a room towards the front and hence one of the main roads into Stratford, the nights will be noisy, and the street lights will illuminate your room in full. And these streetside rooms are very small (I mean very), and so are the bathrooms (where the shower could deserve a refurbishment as well as substantially higher water pressure). And on top of these criteria, the furniture of the room we had was the cheap of the cheapest. All of this far away from the “Luxury” the street sign promises. You may figure: a balanced validation is very difficult. So maybe you develop it yourself … . PS: the room rate was acceptable for what we got!

Room Tip: definitely no room towards the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eberhard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Moonraker House is located less than a 10-minute from William Shakespeare’s Birthplace. It is ideal for vacationers. The bedroom and the bathroom were warm and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was delicious too. Free Wi-Fri. Morris is very kind and very helpful with things around Stratford-upon-Avon. Thoroughly enjoyed my dinners and will certainly stay there again.

Thank you Ruth and Morris.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agatha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtland Hotel
Courtland Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mil-Mar
Mil-Mar
#36 of 94 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hunters Moon Guest House
Hunters Moon Guest House
#10 of 94 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Emsley Guest House
Emsley Guest House
#3 of 94 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Penryn Guest House
Penryn Guest House
#14 of 94 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Twelfth Night Guest House
Twelfth Night Guest House
#8 of 94 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonraker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonraker Guest House

Property: Moonraker Guest House
Address: 40 Alcester Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonraker Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Moonraker Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing