We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B, couldn't do enough for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moonraker Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb B&B, couldn't do enough for us”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Have just enjoyed a wonderful stay at The Moonraker guest house, a perfect base for visiting Stratford. The guest house is on a residential street just under a leisurely 10 min stroll to town and less than 5 mins from the railway station, and benefits from on site parking. On arrival we we're offered refreshments which was most welcoming after a long journey. Morris the owner couldn't do enough for us to ensure our stay was enjoyable, the hospitality we received was second to none. The whole place is spotlessly clean and our room was most comfortable, with attention played to detail. Breakfast was most impressive with all tastes catered for and consisted of two courses, the omelettes are so tasty. There is not a negative comment I could say about The Moonraker, try it you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    46
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
90
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Booked a one night stay on the night before at a reasonable price.Found the hotel on one of the main roads leading into town and was a welcome find to have off road parking.We were met by Morris,a rather charming man,who came across as eager to please.The room itself had a certain charm to it,and even tho slightly on the small side,we ended up staying in for the evening as the bed was so comfortable.Free wifi too.Breakfast was enjoyable with Morris again more than happy to please his customers.With its location a 2 minute walk away from the train station and the local Morrisons ,and a 10 min walk into town we would recommend this hotel for a short stay.As a leaving gift we were given a cpl of branded moonraker biro pens...happy days !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKweekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

There is a personable quality to this B and B, as I believe it is the host's family home. However, our stay was marred due to creaky floorboards in the hall; we could here other guests coming in and out of their rooms. I didn't mind too much, as I love Stratford-upon-Avon and was determined to have a good time, but I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple, opt for one of the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LManz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a lovely spot run with care and attention by Morris and Ruth. Breakfasts are freshly cooked and varied, the rooms spotlessly clean though small. No problems with street noise and parking spaces made a big difference. This is a real find.

Room Tip: "Oberon" overlooks the garden, at the back, and though small it is thoughtfully furnished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcinbelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at the Moonraker Guest House on a Friday night for just the one night.
We arrived later than the listed check-in time, but the proprietor Morris was very accommodating and gave us a lovely welcome when we got there.
We wanted to go out for dinner, so he showed us a very helpful list of local restaurants which we had a flick through before heading out.
The town centre of Stratford is about 10-15 minutes walk from the guest house, and we passed the station on the way in to town, so if you are travelling by train it would be very handy, so I would definitely recommend staying here.
The room was clean and tidy, and the ensuite bathroom was newly-decorated and very nice.
There were tea and coffee and biscuits in the room, which we enjoyed!
Breakfast was great, and we were offered a menu with a large range of things on it. We both went for the traditional full-English, but there were also lighter options on offer. I'm a vegetarian, and Morris' veggie breakfast was lovely.
We wanted to spend the day in Stratford, and Morris very kindly let us leave our car on the drive all day, even though we were not staying another night.
Overall, this guest house is a relaxing place to stay for a short break, and I would highly recommend it and would definitely go back there as it is very reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed in room 4 again, 'Viola' on the upper floor at the front. We particularly like this room as it has a table and 2 chairs in the window and isn't overlooked. Morris was as welcoming and helpful as ever. The room itself was clean, there's just a couple of scuffs on the wallpaper near the window.
10 minutes walk gets you into into Stratford. We stayed on August bank Holiday weekend so plenty of things to see and do.
We had two nights here again and after a full english on the first morning I thought I'd try the omelete on the second morning - it was excellent with a choice of fillings. The toast and Ruth's home made jams were as good as I remembered. You have to book a slot for breakfast but it means you are guaranteed a table.
Free wi-fi is a nice addition.
After we'd checked out we left our car on the front as the car park can get a bit tight and walked into Stratford again - great location.
Thanks again to Morris and Ruth for another great stay. We would definitely come again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashgord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Very friendly reception, a room with a four poster bed, off-street parking, handy local supermarket, easy walking distance to town centre, very interesting locality, beautifully cooked breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easthigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Carlton Guest House
The Carlton Guest House
#44 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emsley Guest House
Emsley Guest House
#3 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salamander Guest House
Salamander Guest House
#26 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Twelfth Night Guest House
Twelfth Night Guest House
#8 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
467 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avonpark House
Avonpark House
#7 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Haven Guest House
Green Haven Guest House
#24 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonraker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonraker Guest House

Property: Moonraker Guest House
Address: 40 Alcester Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonraker Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Moonraker Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing