We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Amazing Stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adelphi Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another Amazing Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

There is nowhere better to stay in Stratford Upon Avon! We have just returned from another amazing stay with Martin and Ellen. The breakfast was as always beautifully cooked and I even had a lesson on how to cook the perfect poached egg! If you are looking for a house full of character and beautifully presented look no further. The rooms are decorated with style and all comforts have been considered. Everywhere is spotless and the fixtures and fittings of the highest standard. The shower was perfect, the bed linen beautiful and the bed extremely comfortable. The Adelphi Guest House is convenient for the theatre and the shops, in fact everywhere in Stratford! We highly recommend you stay here and experience this B&B for yourselves!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freya12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    38
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
84
238
45
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Excellent place to stay. Ellen & Martin are such great hosts. very central to town centre, great breakfasts, Very comfortable, clean stylish rooms and parking available which is and add bonus. woul definitely recommend, this is over third time we have stayed here and have always been impressed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellesyd24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Upon arriving by train, we called Ellen to see if we should take a cab. She said they were just up the road and around the corner and we could easily walk it. It was so close! Not a problem to find and we were pleasantly surprised at the charm of this B&B in Stratford-upon-Avon. We were met at the door and shown to our room...on the first floor with a lovely private patio through the little french doors. There was a gorgeous modern ensuite bathroom with shower and the queen bed was a welcome sight. Clean, beautifully decorated it was a cozy, comfy room and we were well pleased. The breakfast room was just beside us and I was concerned about the noise, but it was fine. Food was amazing...unlike other B&B's, you get to choose what you want. Each day you find a new menu/order form which you check off, and in the morning you get exactly what you ordered. The choices vary from a full English breakfast to just fruit and cereal and everything in between..it is quite impressive. Everything in Stratford is easily within walking distance. We were given a 50% off the 5 houses of Shakespeare, which was of great value and we walked over to Anne Hathaway's cottage, then back into town for the rest. One evening we went to the Black Swan Pup for dinner and across the road to the Swan Theatre for a night of Richard III! After the show we wandered back up to The Adelphi...it took about 10 minutes..just great! We would recommend this place very, very highly...and would definately go back again if ever we found ourselves in Stratford!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

The breakfast was fantastic. Room was very clean and homely. Ellen and Martin made us very welcome and at home. The location is central and convenient for everything. You must go and experience it for yourself. Can't wait till our next visit to the Adelphi.

Room Tip: all lovely rooms. we like the family room on the top floor the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marymanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westchester, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Perfectly located for Stratford, nicely appointed rooms, good breakfasts, elegantly presented, good value.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank marysidneyherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We had a lovely time at the Adelphi Guest House. Martin was such a lot of fun,and the house was beautifully decorated. The breakfast menu was excellent and the service could not be faulted, Martin did a wonderful job. It is also very well located in Stratford, would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My stay at the Adelphi for two nights, 25 and 26 April 2012 was a gift from family. The Guest House is attractive, clean and comfortable and the owners are welcoming. Included parking at the rear of the property is a bonus. It's about a 7 minute walk to the riverside, shops and the RSC theatre. My single room had a nice view across to a little park. Excellent breakfast choice and the food is good.

Room Tip: The Adelphi is on a busy road. The double glazing provides sound insulation and I slept well. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennymatthew42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Guest House

Property: Adelphi Guest House
Address: 39 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England (Formerly Kawartha House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelphi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed by owners Sue and Simon who aim to make your stay a friendly, comfortable home from home experience. The award winning breakfasts, made from quality, locally sourced produce prove very popular as do the home baked cakes. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard in period style, reflecting the age of the property and the bedding is pure cotton of the finest quality. Great attention is given to detail, offering that little something different. We are situated opposite the lovely Fir Gardens and are only a few minutes walk from town centre shopping, Shakespeare's Birthplace, The Royal Shakespeare, Swan, and Courtyard Theatres. Anne Hathaway's cottage is also within walking distance of the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adelphi Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing