We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in Stratford!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adelphi Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This review is a bit delayed, sorry! I stayed with Sue and Simon at the Adelphi for three nights this past February and had a wonderful time.

They are both so accommodating and the room I stayed in on the first floor was lovely. The breakfasts were great also - plenty of food!

I was very lucky with the weather for the time of year and spent a lovely few days exploring the town and its surrounds. The B&B is only a few minutes stroll from the centre.

Don't hesitate to stay here if you are visiting Stratford!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaireJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon1979, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

We never mind how late a review is, we are grateful that guests find the time and it is always useful feed back. Thank you as I'm sure you have been busy since your return. I'm so glad you enjoyed your breakfast and had enough to eat. We hope you will return one day. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Adelphi multi-star service began from the moment we made our first contact and continued right through until we said our good byes. Sue and Simon were the perfect hosts for our week in Stratford Upon Avon in mid May. The room was beautiful, the breakfasts wonderful and I'm still trying to recreated the fruit salad. It was a pleasant walk from the B&B to Anne Hathaway's Cottage and an even shorter walk to the Festival Theatre and other Shakespeare related sites in Stratford.
Our hosts made sure we were aware of ongoing events in town and ensured that we had information on local travel options. The week went by far too quickly.

Room Tip: The upper room was wonderful, but you do need to be agile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon1979, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly enjoyed having you and helping with your plans for the day.
The fruit salad is never the same as I use what ever is available from the markets.I also try and use seasonal fruits. I hope this helps.
The top room should keep Simon and I agile for a few more years. I agree one has to be fit to enjoy the room.
Thank you for writing this review. Best wishes to your both and Congratulations on your Golden Wedding Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I've been staying at the Adelphi regularly since 2009 and it's easily the best B&B I've found anywhere. The rooms are well decorated and well maintained; the hosts always thoughtful and attentive, welcoming you with tea, coffee and cakes; and I spend the weeks leading up to my stay fantasizing about their beautifully sourced and prepared breakfasts. The atmosphere is wonderful, like being welcomed into a friend's home. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. (Also a little confused by a reference to hidden charges, we've only ever been charged for what is quoted, perhaps the guests bank added a conversion charge or something).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhianWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon1979, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Simon and I are so glad you feel at home here and part of the family. We love seeing guests returning and your knowledge of the theatre is awesome..I'm glad the breakfast gives you such pleasure . Thank you for taking the time to write another review for the Adelphi as new owners we do appreciate it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Adelphi Guesthouse was a wonderful B&B experience! My Mum & I stayed there for 1 night in early June this year & were so impressed with the guesthouse & it's amazing owners, Sue & Simon.

When we arrived we were greeted with a big pot of tea, while Simon carried our very heavy suitcases up to our room for us. We were given maps & discount attraction vouchers & Sue showed us all of the best routes to take to find all of the main sites in Stratford-upon-Avon.

We were going to see "Hamlet" that night & were able to look through the play program at the guesthouse before we left to refresh our memory of the play, which was a nice bonus.

Breakfast the next morning was BEAUTIFUL!!! I had a waffle with bacon & maple butter & it was just divine! My Mum had the apple & raisin pancakes with maple butter & bacon, & she raved about it!

When we were getting ready to leave to walk to the train station with our suitcases, Simon offered to drive us there at no extra cost, which was a godsend because our bags were very heavy & we had already had a few days of travel which involved lugging the cases around a lot.

Sue & Simon were truly wonderful hosts - so genuinely friendly & couldn't do enough for us, which was such a nice thing to encounter when we'd been travelling a lot & were very tired.

I cannot recommend the Adelphi Guesthouse highly enough - staying there is an experience in itself!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaHarvey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon1979, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time in your very full trip to write such a comprehensive review. We were sorry you were only with us one night. I'm glad the programme was of use and you enjoyed the breakfast. If you are visiting the UK please do come again. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The Adelephi Guest House is a friendly, clean and a real home from home guest house. Simon and Sue make you feel very welcome from the time you arrive until the time you leave. They couldn't have been any more helpful. It is also only a very short walk into town making everything so easy to get to. We stayed just three days which really isn't long enough there is so much to do in Stratford. The Adelphi is definitely a place to stay if you visit in or around Stratford!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycustomer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon1979, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you. We are glad you felt at home that is our aim. We love the position of the house as you rightly say is with in walking distance. Almost forgotten how to drive. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to further explore Stratford in the not to distant future. Best wishes. Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We have visited Stratford-upon-Avon many times for both business and pleasure since 1975. During that time we have stayed at most of the hotels and many guest houses - some good, some not so. However, our recent stay at the Adelphi Guest House tops them all. Excellent room and facilities, as well as the best range of breakfasts - including a superb 'English' breakfast - anyone could ask for. To top all of this the owners Simon and Sue were so pleasant and could not do enough for you. We shall be back next Spring and look forward to their hospitality, and wonderful breakfasts again!

Room Tip: Had room at rear, away from fairly busy road but friends who had room in front said they slept fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon1979, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

What an accolade . Thank you . We enjoyed meeting you all and look forward to your visit in the spring. We hope to have the front of house triple glazed by then, so should your friends join you there will be a difference. We hope you have a good summer and best wishes
Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

very helpful and friendly place to stay Simon and Sue make you feel at home right away. There is gingerbread and home made fairy/cupcakes to help yourself to in the hallway. So close to town centre I could leave the car and walk. Liitle extras in the room include sweeties and nice beverage and biscuits

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archaeo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon1979, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

We do appreciate when people take the time to review. We are glad the little extras improved your stay and hopefully allowed you some down time. We hope business brings you back soon.
Best wishes
Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,946 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avonlea Guesthouse
Avonlea Guesthouse
#4 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Twelfth Night Guest House
Twelfth Night Guest House
#8 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emsley Guest House
Emsley Guest House
#3 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
531 reviews
0.7 mi away
White-Sails
White-Sails
#1 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Guest House

Address: 39 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England (Formerly Kawartha House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £78 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelphi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed by owners Sue and Simon who aim to make your stay a friendly, comfortable home from home experience. The award winning breakfasts, made from quality, locally sourced produce prove very popular as do the home baked cakes. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard in period style, reflecting the age of the property and the bedding is pure cotton of the finest quality. Great attention is given to detail, offering that little something different. We are situated opposite the lovely Fir Gardens and are only a few minutes walk from town centre shopping, Shakespeare's Birthplace, The Royal Shakespeare, Swan, and Courtyard Theatres. Anne Hathaway's cottage is also within walking distance of the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adelphi Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing