We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Winner”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adelphi Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Winner”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a wonderful time during our recent one night stay with Sue & Simon.
They are fantastic hosts who really make you feel like cherished guests in their home.
I can't give a 5 star rating as my shower stopped working mid scrubbing but I do want to note that, just because of this unavoidable mishap (recent plumbing work), they graciously offered a full refund of our cost (which we declined).
The location is perfect for exploring Stratford, with most attractions within easy walking distance.
I only wish we'd been able to stay longer as there were several breakfast selections we would like to have sampled, in addition to eating a few more of the home baked cupcakes.
We attended the horse races during our one night in Stratford and didn't fare very well financially but, thanks to the hospitality of Sue & Simon, we consider our stay in Stratford to be "a winner".

Room Tip: The rooms are not large so I'd recommend selecting an "en suite" accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harlem_CAAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we are sorry it was marred by the shower giving up on you. Unfortunately air had got into the system which caused the pumps on yours and another shower to fail. We had it rectified by the evening and now experts at unjamming pumps with air in should this happen again. ( we hope this is a one off due to a new shower being fitted) But as the motto goes "Be prepared". We do hope you have better luck at the races next time and should you risk Stratford Races come and sample another breakfast. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    38
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
84
238
45
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia & Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I recently spent five wonderful nights at Simon and Sue's lovely bed and breakfast. Not only were the accommodations outstanding, Simon and Sue were well-versed in the RSC plays which we were attending daily. The Guest House was clean, the beds were comfortable and breakfast was delicious! I had something different each morning and was never disappointed.
They charged our phones and Simon even drove us to the train station on the day of our departure because it was raining!
I had such a great experience, in part because of the excellent accommodations, that I am planning to return next year and quite possibly every year!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiredButHappy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
What a glowing review, thank you. It is always interesting to discuss RSC productions with guest who are studying the performances. You bring a new perspective to the productions. Having a varied breakfast menu means we never get bored cooking the same dish and love it when guests try new variations or even suggest new combinations. Charging your phones was the least we could do when your charger would not work. We are all so dependant on our phones, they really are our life lines. We look forward to your return either to study or on pleasure. We will then have another opportunity to discuss Shakespeare and the world. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

You couldn't ask for a more caring, welcoming couple hosting a B&B than Sue and Simon, where guests are treated like friends. Their breakfasts are wonderful - you select from a check-off sheet the evening before, your table is ready when you come down, and the meal is then freshly prepared. The Adelphi is walking distance from the train station, the productions at Stratford-upon-Avon, and the restaurants. We were lucky to choose this B&B, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devorah33851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for this review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and want to return. We do love meeting guests and hope we make guest feel at home.The convenience of the Adelphi was one of the attractions and we love the fact everything is in walking distance including Anne Hathaway's Cottage. I hope it will not be long before we meet again. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moe, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Our third tour of the UK, with countless B&B's that have all provided quality accommodation and meals with nary a negative that could be mentioned. Adelphi, with hosts Sue and Simon rates with the best! Warm, welcoming hosts, excellent breakfasts, comfortable accommodation in an ideal location. Thoroughly enjoyable stay and certainly recommend to others visiting Stratford.

Room Tip: We stayed in the penthouse, a magnificent room but would not suit those who struggle with or don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue C, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for this review. We are so glad we rank among the best and that you enjoyed the Penthouse. The stairs do keep us fit and add to the steps we do each day, but nothing like the steps you both clocked up while staying with us. We hope you will return one day . Enjoy the rest of your break. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stumbled across the Adelphi quite late as we only decided at the last minute to visit Stratford-upon-Avon, and our first 2 choices were booked out. Sue and Simon were extremely friendly and very accommodating and our room was very clean. Unfortunately though, the bathroom was a bit of a disaster. Our shower was uncontrollable - it didn't matter which temperature was chosen, the water oscillated from boiling hot to freezing cold of its own accord and no amount of trying to rectify would make any difference. The toilet also did not flush properly and took forever to fill, so first thing in the morning this posed a bit of a problem. Breakfast offered plenty of choice and Sue's ginger cake on arrival was sensational. Unfortunately though the bathroom issues spoiled our stay and the bed was very hard, so at £90 a night, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon1979, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
We are so sorry you had bathroom issues. Fortunately the next guest alerted us to the problem and the plumber was called and a new shower has been installed. The cistern on the loo is a 9 litre one and not 6 so does take time to fill, but has the added advantage of flushing thoroughly. All our beds are equipped with orthopaedic mattresses which provide a firm support. We are sorry this is not to your liking. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We found this place through Rick Steves' guide. He was spot on. They are a kind and generous couple who really know the town. We stayed at the room at the very top of the house and I would highly recommend it. Everything was lovely. Sue's cooking is fabulous. The whole street is full of Bed and Breakfasts but I think we got the best.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the very top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlathemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon1979, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
We are so glad you found us through Rick Steve's guide and we lived up to the book. Thank you for writing a review we really appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed the "Penthouse/Garret"room at the top of the house. We do hope you will return one day. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbles swansea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

my husband and i stayed at the adelphi for 2 nights, sue and simon are such nice homely people.on arrival simon took our bags for us, sue had ginger cake to die for absolutely gorgeous, which was always out in the hallway for a nibble, very generous people, my husband had his birthday, also our anniversary whilst we were there, the morning of breakfast sue had put a birthday banner on the breakfast table also ferrero roche chocolates, and a gorgeous rose plant for us to take home for our anniversary. we stayed in the four poster room and it was magical very very nice place to stay would definately recommend to people here in swansea.sue and simon definately the nicest people to stay with. may i add simon also brings around at 10pm a large bottle of iced water.which i have never known in any guest house. definately a perfect stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beverley f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon1979, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. Simon's bag carrying skills are in lieu of the gym! It gives us great pleasure when the ginger bread/cakes are enjoyed. The water was introduced as we like cold water at nights and find guest do as well. We also love to celebrate special occasions and are glad we helped make your stay memorable. We do hope you will stay again. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,458 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Guest House

Property: Adelphi Guest House
Address: 39 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England (Formerly Kawartha House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelphi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed by owners Sue and Simon who aim to make your stay a friendly, comfortable home from home experience. The award winning breakfasts, made from quality, locally sourced produce prove very popular as do the home baked cakes. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard in period style, reflecting the age of the property and the bedding is pure cotton of the finest quality. Great attention is given to detail, offering that little something different. We are situated opposite the lovely Fir Gardens and are only a few minutes walk from town centre shopping, Shakespeare's Birthplace, The Royal Shakespeare, Swan, and Courtyard Theatres. Anne Hathaway's cottage is also within walking distance of the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adelphi Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing