We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adelphi Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just had an amazing stay at The Adelphi in Stratford. Wonderful hosts Sue and Simon made us instantly at home with their hospitality. Their attention to detail and perfection was superb. The room and ensuite was spacious with a super-king bed, very clean with some lovely pictures and period pieces of furniture. Dining Room was airy, again with very interesting pictures surrounding the walls. There was a large selection to choose from for breakfast which was served with quiet efficiency. There is far too much to mention which was absolutely 'on the mark' and no one thing which was wrong. Fantastic location for centre of Stratford and all within walking distance of the guest house. Try it...you will not be disappointed. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear may be quieter from main road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

We are so glad you had an amazing stay and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love it when guests comment on our furniture and pictures. An eclectic mix inherited or collected over the years. One of the bonus for guests and us is being in the centre of Stratford so that everything in the Town is in walking distance. I hope your friends enjoyed the rest of their tour of the UK and we may see you again. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

Sue & Simon are wonderul hosts & truly made our stay a lovely one. We booked for two nights in the four poster room which was beautiful with a nice, clean shower room inc premium toiletries, a tv & DVD player & lots of windows for natural light to come through. What makes The Adelphi really stand out is the service, we were greeted with tea & cake & given lots of info about the attractions to visit in the area, the breakfast was delicious & chilled water was left outside our room door of an evening. We were really made to feel comfortable & I'd highly recommend here for a break to Stratford.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquelineee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We enjoyed having you to stay. It may amuse you to know the "Talking Tree" has now been located in Anne Hathway's Garden, so will have to visit again. It was a joy to discuss Chester another great location. We are so pleased you felt comfortable and we hope you will return soon. Best wishes Simon ad Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a wonderful time during our recent one night stay with Sue & Simon.
They are fantastic hosts who really make you feel like cherished guests in their home.
I can't give a 5 star rating as my shower stopped working mid scrubbing but I do want to note that, just because of this unavoidable mishap (recent plumbing work), they graciously offered a full refund of our cost (which we declined).
The location is perfect for exploring Stratford, with most attractions within easy walking distance.
I only wish we'd been able to stay longer as there were several breakfast selections we would like to have sampled, in addition to eating a few more of the home baked cupcakes.
We attended the horse races during our one night in Stratford and didn't fare very well financially but, thanks to the hospitality of Sue & Simon, we consider our stay in Stratford to be "a winner".

Room Tip: The rooms are not large so I'd recommend selecting an "en suite" accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harlem_CAAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we are sorry it was marred by the shower giving up on you. Unfortunately air had got into the system which caused the pumps on yours and another shower to fail. We had it rectified by the evening and now experts at unjamming pumps with air in should this happen again. ( we hope this is a one off due to a new shower being fitted) But as the motto goes "Be prepared". We do hope you have better luck at the races next time and should you risk Stratford Races come and sample another breakfast. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I recently spent five wonderful nights at Simon and Sue's lovely bed and breakfast. Not only were the accommodations outstanding, Simon and Sue were well-versed in the RSC plays which we were attending daily. The Guest House was clean, the beds were comfortable and breakfast was delicious! I had something different each morning and was never disappointed.
They charged our phones and Simon even drove us to the train station on the day of our departure because it was raining!
I had such a great experience, in part because of the excellent accommodations, that I am planning to return next year and quite possibly every year!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiredButHappy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

What a glowing review, thank you. It is always interesting to discuss RSC productions with guest who are studying the performances. You bring a new perspective to the productions. Having a varied breakfast menu means we never get bored cooking the same dish and love it when guests try new variations or even suggest new combinations. Charging your phones was the least we could do when your charger would not work. We are all so dependant on our phones, they really are our life lines. We look forward to your return either to study or on pleasure. We will then have another opportunity to discuss Shakespeare and the world. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

You couldn't ask for a more caring, welcoming couple hosting a B&B than Sue and Simon, where guests are treated like friends. Their breakfasts are wonderful - you select from a check-off sheet the evening before, your table is ready when you come down, and the meal is then freshly prepared. The Adelphi is walking distance from the train station, the productions at Stratford-upon-Avon, and the restaurants. We were lucky to choose this B&B, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devorah33851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for this review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and want to return. We do love meeting guests and hope we make guest feel at home.The convenience of the Adelphi was one of the attractions and we love the fact everything is in walking distance including Anne Hathaway's Cottage. I hope it will not be long before we meet again. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Our third tour of the UK, with countless B&B's that have all provided quality accommodation and meals with nary a negative that could be mentioned. Adelphi, with hosts Sue and Simon rates with the best! Warm, welcoming hosts, excellent breakfasts, comfortable accommodation in an ideal location. Thoroughly enjoyable stay and certainly recommend to others visiting Stratford.

Room Tip: We stayed in the penthouse, a magnificent room but would not suit those who struggle with or don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue C, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you for this review. We are so glad we rank among the best and that you enjoyed the Penthouse. The stairs do keep us fit and add to the steps we do each day, but nothing like the steps you both clocked up while staying with us. We hope you will return one day . Enjoy the rest of your break. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stumbled across the Adelphi quite late as we only decided at the last minute to visit Stratford-upon-Avon, and our first 2 choices were booked out. Sue and Simon were extremely friendly and very accommodating and our room was very clean. Unfortunately though, the bathroom was a bit of a disaster. Our shower was uncontrollable - it didn't matter which temperature was chosen, the water oscillated from boiling hot to freezing cold of its own accord and no amount of trying to rectify would make any difference. The toilet also did not flush properly and took forever to fill, so first thing in the morning this posed a bit of a problem. Breakfast offered plenty of choice and Sue's ginger cake on arrival was sensational. Unfortunately though the bathroom issues spoiled our stay and the bed was very hard, so at £90 a night, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Casmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon1979, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

We are so sorry you had bathroom issues. Fortunately the next guest alerted us to the problem and the plumber was called and a new shower has been installed. The cistern on the loo is a 9 litre one and not 6 so does take time to fill, but has the added advantage of flushing thoroughly. All our beds are equipped with orthopaedic mattresses which provide a firm support. We are sorry this is not to your liking. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,041 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,866 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avonlea Guesthouse
Avonlea Guesthouse
#3 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emsley Guest House
Emsley Guest House
#5 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twelfth Night Guest House
Twelfth Night Guest House
#7 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Guest House

Address: 39 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England (Formerly Kawartha House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £75 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelphi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed by owners Sue and Simon who aim to make your stay a friendly, comfortable home from home experience. The award winning breakfasts, made from quality, locally sourced produce prove very popular as do the home baked cakes. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard in period style, reflecting the age of the property and the bedding is pure cotton of the finest quality. Great attention is given to detail, offering that little something different. We are situated opposite the lovely Fir Gardens and are only a few minutes walk from town centre shopping, Shakespeare's Birthplace, The Royal Shakespeare, Swan, and Courtyard Theatres. Anne Hathaway's cottage is also within walking distance of the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adelphi Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing