We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adelphi Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I recently spent a great weekend with 3 friends in Stratford-upon-Avon and had the pleasure of staying at this lovely guesthouse. Sue and Simon are great hosts and we had a great welcome with Simon carrying our bags from the car to the rooms. Plus a very welcome cup of tea and lovely cakes on arrival. The bedroom was very comfortable and the shower was one of the best I have experienced staying in hotels/guesthouses for some time. It was extremely hot over the weekend and cool water was delivered to our door in the evening which was gratefully received and was a lovely touch. There was lots to choose from for breakfast which was superb and included dairy free products which Sue had kindly provided. I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone who is going to Stratford and I look forward to staying again next year.
Thanks for a super stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

We are so glad you had a brilliant stay and we were able to cater for all your dietary needs. It is always a relief to know the new shower lives up to the manufacturer's claims and is working well. It was a great a pleasure to have you all to stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Adelphi next year. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Adelphi Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and I had our first stay at the Adelphi recently and were very pleased with the warm welcome received from Sue and Simon (including tea and cakes on arrival!). There were too many good things to list and they have been generally covered by other recent guests below. We shall certainly return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which was comfortable, large bed and spotless. It was at the back of the house a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for writing a review, we are always flattered when guest take the time. We are very pleased you will be returning. We do enjoy Shakespeare and Stratford upon Avon and can be classed as "Addicts" a reason we returned to the Town to run the Adelphi. There is always something to learn and our guests including ourselves are great teachers. We look forward to your next visit. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This is a real gem of a guesthouse. I'm a regular visitor to Stratford and would always choose to stay here if it wasn't sometimes already booked up - hosts Sue and Simon took over ownership about a year ago and have maintained the wonderful high standards I've become used to in the 5 years or so that I've been staying there. Everything provided is of high quality, from the multiple breakfast options (local produce, all home cooked, great veggie choices too) to the Egyptian cotton linens, from the elegant decor to the superior toiletries. Best of all is the warm welcome you receive from Sue and Simon (including delicious home-baked treats available on arrival or for a midnight feast), who very much make you feel like an honoured guest in their 'home'. The Adelphi has become as much a part of my enjoyment of Stratford-upon-Acting as my trips to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre and I recommend it most highly.

Room Tip: There's a fabulous 4-poster in the top room, though it's up two flights of stairs. Great gar...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhywun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you we are so glad we have maintained the standards. We always enjoy having guests who return regularly to visit us and the RSC. We are glad you feel at home and we will have to make sure the cake stand is well stocked for Midnight feasts. Maybe add some new treats for your next visit . See you soon. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just had an amazing stay at The Adelphi in Stratford. Wonderful hosts Sue and Simon made us instantly at home with their hospitality. Their attention to detail and perfection was superb. The room and ensuite was spacious with a super-king bed, very clean with some lovely pictures and period pieces of furniture. Dining Room was airy, again with very interesting pictures surrounding the walls. There was a large selection to choose from for breakfast which was served with quiet efficiency. There is far too much to mention which was absolutely 'on the mark' and no one thing which was wrong. Fantastic location for centre of Stratford and all within walking distance of the guest house. Try it...you will not be disappointed. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear may be quieter from main road traffic.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

We are so glad you had an amazing stay and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love it when guests comment on our furniture and pictures. An eclectic mix inherited or collected over the years. One of the bonus for guests and us is being in the centre of Stratford so that everything in the Town is in walking distance. I hope your friends enjoyed the rest of their tour of the UK and we may see you again. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Sue & Simon are wonderul hosts & truly made our stay a lovely one. We booked for two nights in the four poster room which was beautiful with a nice, clean shower room inc premium toiletries, a tv & DVD player & lots of windows for natural light to come through. What makes The Adelphi really stand out is the service, we were greeted with tea & cake & given lots of info about the attractions to visit in the area, the breakfast was delicious & chilled water was left outside our room door of an evening. We were really made to feel comfortable & I'd highly recommend here for a break to Stratford.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquelineee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We enjoyed having you to stay. It may amuse you to know the "Talking Tree" has now been located in Anne Hathway's Garden, so will have to visit again. It was a joy to discuss Chester another great location. We are so pleased you felt comfortable and we hope you will return soon. Best wishes Simon ad Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a wonderful time during our recent one night stay with Sue & Simon.
They are fantastic hosts who really make you feel like cherished guests in their home.
I can't give a 5 star rating as my shower stopped working mid scrubbing but I do want to note that, just because of this unavoidable mishap (recent plumbing work), they graciously offered a full refund of our cost (which we declined).
The location is perfect for exploring Stratford, with most attractions within easy walking distance.
I only wish we'd been able to stay longer as there were several breakfast selections we would like to have sampled, in addition to eating a few more of the home baked cupcakes.
We attended the horse races during our one night in Stratford and didn't fare very well financially but, thanks to the hospitality of Sue & Simon, we consider our stay in Stratford to be "a winner".

Room Tip: The rooms are not large so I'd recommend selecting an "en suite" accomodation.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harlem_CAAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we are sorry it was marred by the shower giving up on you. Unfortunately air had got into the system which caused the pumps on yours and another shower to fail. We had it rectified by the evening and now experts at unjamming pumps with air in should this happen again. ( we hope this is a one off due to a new shower being fitted) But as the motto goes "Be prepared". We do hope you have better luck at the races next time and should you risk Stratford Races come and sample another breakfast. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I recently spent five wonderful nights at Simon and Sue's lovely bed and breakfast. Not only were the accommodations outstanding, Simon and Sue were well-versed in the RSC plays which we were attending daily. The Guest House was clean, the beds were comfortable and breakfast was delicious! I had something different each morning and was never disappointed.
They charged our phones and Simon even drove us to the train station on the day of our departure because it was raining!
I had such a great experience, in part because of the excellent accommodations, that I am planning to return next year and quite possibly every year!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiredButHappy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

What a glowing review, thank you. It is always interesting to discuss RSC productions with guest who are studying the performances. You bring a new perspective to the productions. Having a varied breakfast menu means we never get bored cooking the same dish and love it when guests try new variations or even suggest new combinations. Charging your phones was the least we could do when your charger would not work. We are all so dependant on our phones, they really are our life lines. We look forward to your return either to study or on pleasure. We will then have another opportunity to discuss Shakespeare and the world. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,801 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Guest House

Address: 39 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England (Formerly Kawartha House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £33 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelphi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed by owners Sue and Simon who aim to make your stay a friendly, comfortable home from home experience. The award winning breakfasts, made from quality, locally sourced produce prove very popular as do the home baked cakes. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard in period style, reflecting the age of the property and the bedding is pure cotton of the finest quality. Great attention is given to detail, offering that little something different. We are situated opposite the lovely Fir Gardens and are only a few minutes walk from town centre shopping, Shakespeare's Birthplace, The Royal Shakespeare, Swan, and Courtyard Theatres. Anne Hathaway's cottage is also within walking distance of the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adelphi Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing