We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Guest House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adelphi Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adelphi Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Cranage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

My husband I stayed at the Adelphi in July as a mini weekend getaway. We arrived early evening on the Friday to a warm welcome from Sue and Simon. The homemade cakes were very well received after our drive. We had a lovely room, very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was amazing, plentiful and beautifully cooked. We ventured out on the Saturday into Stratford and visited some amazing places on the advice of Sue as it was our first trip to Stratford. We weren't disappointed, Sue, Simon and their staff are very knowledgeable on the area if you need to be pointed in the right direction. Our first experience of Stratford was fantastic and we will be back again staying at the Adelphi.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RahRah03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay , and want to return. we always appreciate when guests take the time to write a review. We love Stratford and all it offers so enjoy telling Guests what we know, and making suggestions if asked. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    38
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
83
238
45
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stopped here a few weeks ago though I have only just decided to review it as I'm going back tomorrow to stay at Sue and Martins.
I stayed in room 6 at the top of the house which was cozy and will be staying in room 1 tomorrow which i believe has its own patio area.
However the food and welcome you get is second to none which is why I have not hesitsted to stay there again after just two weeks.
Recommended and close to all amenities and rail station.

Room Tip: Try the top room well worth an extra fiver for the four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you taking the time to write a review. I hope the second time you enjoyed as much as the first. It is always lovely to have returning guests. It was nice to meet more of your family and we hope you will return again. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My friend and I visit Stratford on weekend every year to see a matinee at the RSC and have a meal at one of the many restaurants there. Next time we will be back even if there isn't a play we want see at the theatre because it's worth staying at the Adelphi because its such a fantastic place to stay!

From the complimentary cakes, the lovely accommodation (we stayed in twin room number 2), the fantastic choice for breakfast and of course as other guests have mentioned--the warm welcome from Simon and Sue--you couldn't find a better B&B in Stratford for the money.

Our room (the above mentioned twin) was roomy, and we found the shower room a good size. Also the whole place is spotless. There are two windows in Room 2, so it eels light and airy--there is double glazing but even with the window open we couldn't hear any traffic noise(Room 2 is at the rear of the property though). Little touches like home made cakes and a bottle of chilled water delivered outside your room each night really make you feel like a family friend more than a paying guest.

We will definitely be back to enjoy the delights of the Adelphi Guest House soon.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet twin room, Room 2 is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie195847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always pleased when guests enjoy the little "extras" we offer and feel part of the family. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully to see another production as you so enjoy the theatre. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

A beautiful guest house, close to the theatre. The guest house was spotlessly clean and beautifully presented. Sue, Simon and the staff were so friendly and knowledgeable about all sorts of things, it was a real pleasure to stay there. We had a lovely twin room, with lots of space, very modern bathroom and comfortable beds. The breakfast was fabulous, can't speak highly enough of the whole experience. We visit Stratford every year and will most certainly be returning next year.
Thank you!

Room Tip: Room two is a twin, at the back so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desteck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for the review"Best Guesthouse Ever". We are thrilled you felt this. We like to think that our rooms are spacious and beds comfortable so it is always nice to have guests confirm this.We look forward to welcoming you back , when you come for your annual theatre trip. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I, who are from the U.S., stayed at the Adelphi Guest House recently and could not have been more pleased with our experience. If you want a quintessential Englsih bed and breakfast experience with great food, beautiful rooms and some of the nicest people you'll ever meet, this is the place to stay.

Upon arrival, Simon, the owner along with his wife Sue, carried our bags up to our room and then met us in the dining room for tea and cakes while he showed us a map of Stratford and gave us helpful tips for exploring the town. We stayed in room 4, which far exceeded our expectations. There was a large window overlooking a park, and the decor was beautiful. It was extremely warm and homy, especially compared to the hotel we had stayed at in London. The bathroom was tiny, but the shower was heavenly (especially after long days of walking everywhere).

Sue and Simon were extremely helpful throughout our visit, making sure we had everything we needed and offering suggestions of places to go. One of my favorite places we visited, Kenilsworth Castle, we would not have known about had Sue not told us about it.

There is a large variety of food to choose from for breakfast - whether you're in the mood for a large traditional English breakfast or just a bagel with cream cheese - and all of it is delicious. The scrambled eggs are some of the best I've ever had, and there are also vegetarian options.

The best part about staying at the Adelphi is definitely Sue and Simon, because they really make you feel at home and like part of their family. I told my husband I felt like we were visiting relatives rather than staying at a guest house, and I was actually sad when we had to leave. I can not say enough good things about this place and the owners. Just go there and find out for yourself.

I only wish we lived closer so we could go back. If we ever make it across the ocean again, we will definitely be staying at the Adelphi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTrafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
What can we say, but thank you for this glowing review. we do aim to be the "quintessential English Bed and Breakfast". Simon and I do try and make the guests feel at home. It is always a pleasure to tell people about the less obvious places of interest in the area. Kenilworth is one of our favorites , we just hope the Council get the funding to reflood the Moat. We would love to see you again and hope you will return as there is lots more to do around the area. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Boyfriend has earned many brownie points for finding this gem for our overnight stay in Stratford - Sue and Simon are lovely, friendly people - they were helpful about local points of interest, and they definitely know their Shakespeare! Sue's cakes (which you have with tea on arrival) are very good and the cooked breakfast second to none. Very pretty room with lovely decor and everything you need taken care of. They helped arrange surprise champers for me in the room as birthday treat. Would definitely come here again. Within 5 min walk of both the station and the theatres.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmayoung21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for this review, what a lovely title. We are glad your boyfriend gained many Brownie points, he certainly wanted you to have a special day. We are glad the treats and cakes helped towards this. There is still more Shakespeare plays to see and we look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was a perfect place to stay! Sue and Simon make you feel like part of the family. Helpful, relaxing, cozy, great food! Rooms are spacious and luxurious. A quick walk to all major sites in Stratford. Would go back in a heart beat! (If you are lucky enough to taste the gingerbread, you're in for a real treat!)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissawmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for the "fantastic" review. We are so glad you liked the gingerbread it is becoming Sue's trade mark. We do hope you will return as we learnt so much about the other Stratford from you both. best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Guest House

Property: Adelphi Guest House
Address: 39 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England (Formerly Kawartha House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelphi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed by owners Sue and Simon who aim to make your stay a friendly, comfortable home from home experience. The award winning breakfasts, made from quality, locally sourced produce prove very popular as do the home baked cakes. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard in period style, reflecting the age of the property and the bedding is pure cotton of the finest quality. Great attention is given to detail, offering that little something different. We are situated opposite the lovely Fir Gardens and are only a few minutes walk from town centre shopping, Shakespeare's Birthplace, The Royal Shakespeare, Swan, and Courtyard Theatres. Anne Hathaway's cottage is also within walking distance of the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adelphi Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing