We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay at the Adelphi, would highly recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adelphi Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Have just returned from a very enjoyable trip to Stratford-upon-Avon with my daughter. We stayed for four wonderful nights at the Adelphi. It really would be impossible to find fault with anything: the breakfasts were absolutely delicious, still missing them!(We are both vegetarians and sometimes the choice can be limited, but not here thankfully.) It also made for a pleasant start to our day talking to the other guests about the RSCs previous nights performance over beautifully selected background music . Our room at the top of the house was spacious and very comfortable with a beautiful old four poster bed, a treat to retire to in the evening. The service was fantastic, Sue and Simon made us feel at home immediately and are a wealth of local knowledge. The position of the Adelphi is ideal for exploring Stratford,everything that you want to visit is just a short walk away, (including the station). All in all couldn't recommend more highly.
(Also be sure to visit the Shakespeare Hospice Book Store, just around the corner, a real goldmine for book lovers, wish we had the equivalent at home!)

Room Tip: Our room at the top of the house was spacious,quiet,comfortable and peaceful to come back to in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Another long over due response to a very kind review. Thank you for taking the time. We are so glad you and your daughter had such an enjoyable stay. We do try and give vegetarians as much choice as possible. We always have three or four types of sausage on offer to make the breakfast more interesting. The Shakespeare Hospice Bookshop is wonderful, we can not walk past with out going in. We hope you and your daughter will return again to the Adelphi soon. Best wishes
Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our visit to the Adelphi felt all too short, thanks to the wonderful hospitality of hosts Sue and Simon. Homemade cakes at the door, friendly advice and recommendations, cosy bedroom with our own outdoor seating area, and far above average breakfast all made for an enjoyable stay in Stratford. It’s a real plus to be able to walk to the theatres and main shopping streets easily from the house. Also, the free off-street parking was appreciated. Nowadays, an increasing number of bed and breakfasts are going “boutique” with Molton Brown bath products, 100% cotton bedding, and homemade waffles for breakfast. You can find all of those and more at the Adelphi Guesthouse, but what really sets this lovely place apart is the friendliness of the hosts, who show a great knowledge and fondness for the town and especially the RSC. When discussing the soundtrack of the play we had just seen, Sue bustled off to fetch the CD. As the conversation turned to other music, Simon insisted on emailing me an MP3 copy of a mutual favourite tune, which was waiting in my inbox when I got back home. I have stayed in Stratford a few times but hope to make this place my permanent place to stay on all future visits!

Room Tip: The downstairs room has access to a little private outdoor seating area that would be lovely in warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgeHCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

This is a long overdue response to a very kind review. We always appreciate when guests take the trouble to do one. It is always nice to find there is a common interest such as the Theatre and Music. We do hope you will return, perhaps when the weather is warmer and you can then sample the patio. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our third stay and still as delightful as before. Sue and Simon are very welcoming and knowledgeable hosts. The room was immaculate, impressive attention to detail, excellent breakfasts with carefully sourced ingredients and a convenient walking distance from the town centre and theatre.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

it is always a pleasure when guests return and take the trouble to write a second review, thank you. We look forward to your 2014 trip. It is a pleasure to discuss with you both about the arts as you have a wealth of knowledge and see far more than we do. Thank you again for this review. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Great attention to detail, comfortable room, excellent and varied breakfasts, good advice on Stratford and nearby attractions and welcoming hosts! With its own off-road car parking and easy walking to the town centre and the theatre this is a B&B to be recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. we are glad our advice helped. The fact The Adelphi is in the centre of the town and close to the theatre is a bonus for us and our guests. We hope you will return soon. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I was there i March alone and the weather was ghastly. But the owners couldn't be more accommodating and made my two day stay wonderful. Any problems with heat (there was arctic weather going on when I was there) or anything and they took care of it right away. After walking around Stratford and seeing all of the other choices where one might stay, I felt that I had made an excellent choice and would not have changed a thing. They are wonderful people and strive to make everyone have a great trip and also very knowledgeable about their town and Mr. Shakespeare.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kateteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for this review. We are so glad that we were able to compensate for the weather. English weather is so unreliable that we have to be ready for Arctic weather one week ,Tropical the next. It is always nice to hear that we have contributed to a great trip. We hope you will return one day and experience more of Mr Shakespeare town . Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights during our 6 weeks in the UK. Great little B&B in the heart of Stratford. Hosts Simon and Sue were very welcoming. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Great breakfast choices, even had "vegemite".

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tessatoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for writing a review. We know what a hectic schedule you had. We are pleased the "Vegemite" helped you feel at home. It certainly gets used more than the "Marmite! Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We visited the Adelphi Guest House along with friends of ours over the first weekend in October. From the moment we walked through the door on arrival we received nothing but first class service. Tea and home made cakes were served in the dining room, the cakes are regularly topped up and left for guests to help themselves during their stay. The rooms were very comfortable and more than adequate for a short break. There was a vast choice of breakfast items, more than any other B&B we have previously visited. Sue & Simon were very keen to help in any way they could and their level of customer service deserves a special mention.

This is a top quality B&B.

Room Tip: Room 1 on the ground floor has a little outside patio area which is nice to use in good weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you so much for writing this "excellent "review.We are so glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay. We do attempt to help guest enjoy there time in Stratford and it is always lovely to hear it is appreciated.Topping up the cakes is rewarding as it shows guests are enjoying them. We are pleased the patio can into its own with the fine weather. We hope you all will return soon. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,943 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avonlea Guesthouse
Avonlea Guesthouse
#4 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Twelfth Night Guest House
Twelfth Night Guest House
#8 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emsley Guest House
Emsley Guest House
#3 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
531 reviews
0.7 mi away
White-Sails
White-Sails
#1 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Guest House

Address: 39 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England (Formerly Kawartha House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £78 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelphi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed by owners Sue and Simon who aim to make your stay a friendly, comfortable home from home experience. The award winning breakfasts, made from quality, locally sourced produce prove very popular as do the home baked cakes. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard in period style, reflecting the age of the property and the bedding is pure cotton of the finest quality. Great attention is given to detail, offering that little something different. We are situated opposite the lovely Fir Gardens and are only a few minutes walk from town centre shopping, Shakespeare's Birthplace, The Royal Shakespeare, Swan, and Courtyard Theatres. Anne Hathaway's cottage is also within walking distance of the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adelphi Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing