We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Guesthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adelphi Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stay here if you're looking for spotlessly clean & comfortable accommodation with an extensive and tasty breakfast menu. The owners are really friendly and go out of their way to be helpful.

The spacious rooms match the historic venue with lovely furniture and decor. The bathroom in my room was newly refurbished in a very modern style and the shower was fantastic.

Everything about this guest house represents both quality and value for money. I'd definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. we know how busy you are. The shower you mention gets lots of comments. As we both love good showers we do try and install powerful ones. We do hope you will return soon and we look forward to seeing you again. Now you know where we are. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Adelphi Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night in December and we were both very impressed with the level of service and comfort experienced.

The B&B is very well situated just a short walk away from the centre of town and has a handy parking area situated behind the house.

We received a most friendly welcome and were shown up to our spacious room before being offered a much needed cup of tea and some lovely homemade cakes after our long journey up from Dorset.

We had a little time to spare before our party that evening and our hosts were keen to tell us about what we could see in town and pointed us to the performance and light show at Shakespeare's birthplace, which we went to see and thoroughly enjoyed.

The room itself was spotlessly clean, with a comfy bed and powerful shower. Extra brownie points for the full length mirror!

Overall, we were made to feel most at home and we will certainly return here on our next visit to Stratford.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always difficult to tell guests what to do when they have a limited time.The light show over the Christmas period was a bonus and we are glad you got there. It is always nice to know the room is comfortable and the mirror was appreciated. We try to have a full length mirrors in most rooms.We hope to see you next time you are in Stratford. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

welcomed by offers of tea and cup cakes; fresh daffodils in the bedroom; proper fresh milk for the bedroom tea; lovely breakfast [4 types of gorgeous honey as well as all the usual full English/vegetarian/continental stuff] served with a joke and a smile by our hosts; so good with our rather boisterous grandchildren; each room has different old furniture, including a 4 poster bed in the room at the very top of the house; very comfy bed, our room looked out over park; breakfast boiled eggs came in wonderful cups with tops on; programme for the show we were seeing at the RSC lent to us, and this meant we could have a really good look at it before and after the show; free off street parking; 6 minutes walk to the theatre. I expect all B&Bs in this street are good, but this one is outstanding.

Room Tip: the room at the very top of the house has a 4 poster bed; what a treat!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roeyNeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

A rather late response and thank you for this excellent review. We loved having the family to stay and the excitement of the grandchildren over Wendy and Peter with the crocodile was infectious. The egg cups with their hen tops for boiled eggs are always well received. The cups and tops are over 50 years old and still doing service. We do hope you will all return for another family outing to the RSC. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Have just returned from a very enjoyable trip to Stratford-upon-Avon with my daughter. We stayed for four wonderful nights at the Adelphi. It really would be impossible to find fault with anything: the breakfasts were absolutely delicious, still missing them!(We are both vegetarians and sometimes the choice can be limited, but not here thankfully.) It also made for a pleasant start to our day talking to the other guests about the RSCs previous nights performance over beautifully selected background music . Our room at the top of the house was spacious and very comfortable with a beautiful old four poster bed, a treat to retire to in the evening. The service was fantastic, Sue and Simon made us feel at home immediately and are a wealth of local knowledge. The position of the Adelphi is ideal for exploring Stratford,everything that you want to visit is just a short walk away, (including the station). All in all couldn't recommend more highly.
(Also be sure to visit the Shakespeare Hospice Book Store, just around the corner, a real goldmine for book lovers, wish we had the equivalent at home!)

Room Tip: Our room at the top of the house was spacious,quiet,comfortable and peaceful to come back to in the...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Another long over due response to a very kind review. Thank you for taking the time. We are so glad you and your daughter had such an enjoyable stay. We do try and give vegetarians as much choice as possible. We always have three or four types of sausage on offer to make the breakfast more interesting. The Shakespeare Hospice Bookshop is wonderful, we can not walk past with out going in. We hope you and your daughter will return again to the Adelphi soon. Best wishes
Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our visit to the Adelphi felt all too short, thanks to the wonderful hospitality of hosts Sue and Simon. Homemade cakes at the door, friendly advice and recommendations, cosy bedroom with our own outdoor seating area, and far above average breakfast all made for an enjoyable stay in Stratford. It’s a real plus to be able to walk to the theatres and main shopping streets easily from the house. Also, the free off-street parking was appreciated. Nowadays, an increasing number of bed and breakfasts are going “boutique” with Molton Brown bath products, 100% cotton bedding, and homemade waffles for breakfast. You can find all of those and more at the Adelphi Guesthouse, but what really sets this lovely place apart is the friendliness of the hosts, who show a great knowledge and fondness for the town and especially the RSC. When discussing the soundtrack of the play we had just seen, Sue bustled off to fetch the CD. As the conversation turned to other music, Simon insisted on emailing me an MP3 copy of a mutual favourite tune, which was waiting in my inbox when I got back home. I have stayed in Stratford a few times but hope to make this place my permanent place to stay on all future visits!

Room Tip: The downstairs room has access to a little private outdoor seating area that would be lovely in warm...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgeHCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

This is a long overdue response to a very kind review. We always appreciate when guests take the trouble to do one. It is always nice to find there is a common interest such as the Theatre and Music. We do hope you will return, perhaps when the weather is warmer and you can then sample the patio. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our third stay and still as delightful as before. Sue and Simon are very welcoming and knowledgeable hosts. The room was immaculate, impressive attention to detail, excellent breakfasts with carefully sourced ingredients and a convenient walking distance from the town centre and theatre.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

it is always a pleasure when guests return and take the trouble to write a second review, thank you. We look forward to your 2014 trip. It is a pleasure to discuss with you both about the arts as you have a wealth of knowledge and see far more than we do. Thank you again for this review. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Great attention to detail, comfortable room, excellent and varied breakfasts, good advice on Stratford and nearby attractions and welcoming hosts! With its own off-road car parking and easy walking to the town centre and the theatre this is a B&B to be recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. we are glad our advice helped. The fact The Adelphi is in the centre of the town and close to the theatre is a bonus for us and our guests. We hope you will return soon. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,803 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Guest House

Address: 39 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England (Formerly Kawartha House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £33 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelphi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed by owners Sue and Simon who aim to make your stay a friendly, comfortable home from home experience. The award winning breakfasts, made from quality, locally sourced produce prove very popular as do the home baked cakes. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard in period style, reflecting the age of the property and the bedding is pure cotton of the finest quality. Great attention is given to detail, offering that little something different. We are situated opposite the lovely Fir Gardens and are only a few minutes walk from town centre shopping, Shakespeare's Birthplace, The Royal Shakespeare, Swan, and Courtyard Theatres. Anne Hathaway's cottage is also within walking distance of the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adelphi Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing