We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adelphi Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely B&B!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had a wonderful stay at Adelphi! Sue and Simon are so sweet and welcoming and willing to answer all your questions. The breakfast was delicious and there was lovely variety. The beds were so comfy - I miss the pillows, haha! I really enjoyed by stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Stratford. :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to sign up and write a review. We are glad the pillows left such an impression. It was a delight having you and your fellow students to stay. It is always fun discussing the plays. We hope you will return one day, perhaps with your family. Best wishes
Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    38
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
84
239
46
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Adelphi is genuinely one of the most welcoming B&B’s we’ve ever visited. Run by a lovely couple (Simon and Sue), who provide a very personal and accommodating service, it is ideally located at the heart of the town. Many of the main attractions are no more than a five minute walk away, including the theatres, river, birthplace, houses, restaurants/pubs and church. Free parking is provided or the nearby train station isn’t far away. The Rooms are spotless, tastefully furnished and decorated and very well equipped (TV, DVD, clock radio, en suite shower etc) The choice offered at breakfast was extremely wide, ranging from a full English, cereal and toast to something a little more imaginative. We tried both options and they were lovely, as were the readily available homemade cakes. If we return to Stratford we know where we’d be staying. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.It was lovely to meet you and your Mother ,who had seen so many iconic RSC productions. We were so glad that you enjoyed going to the Swan. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Stratford. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

One of the loveliest and friendliest B&B's that I have stayed in. Simon and Sue have a beautiful home filled with original artworks and antiques. The welcome was very friendly (cup of tea and the offer of homemade cake), the room was stunning and the breakfast was superb. I would recommend the Adelphi to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for this review. It was kind of you to write one. It was a pleasure to have your party staying here. We do hope you will return either on business or pleasure .There are always more plays to see. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

stayed for one evening only. Sue and Simon are lovely people and their welcome and friendliness is extremely genuine. The rooms were lovely, clean and quiet. The beds were great. Breakfast was yummy. They even had vegemite.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brettmoseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review while still on holiday. We loved having you to stay and only wished it had been longer. Vegemite proves popular. It certainly has the same effect as Marmite, you either love it or hate it. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday and return to the Adelphi next time you are in the UK. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had one night at the Adelphi for a trip to the RSC. Simon and Sue were lovely, their B&B was everything you would hope for in a traditional English B&B and the location was brilliant - close enough to everything interesting in Stratford but far enough away to avoid the noise. Breakfast was delicious whether you ordered the traditional English breakfast or not, I loved the touch of fresh dill on my smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. We were two friends, one American and one British and both of us loved it which says a lot. I would not hesitate to recommend this and when I go back, I will definitely be booking in again. The rooms were very comfy, the en-suite was good and the touch of homemade cakes was a definite bonus.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 and this had the best location for the breakfast table!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JadeG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely having you and your friend to stay. And you both were such theatre buffs it was great to discuss productions. the extra touch of dill on the smoked salmon is a favourite. Dill is a herb we love, and it is great on cucumber and carrots as well. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

One our highlight visits in UK last month was with Sue and Simon at the Adelphi Guest House. My wife is a retired teacher of Shakespearean literature and, of course, Stratford Upon Avon was therefore the first place for us to visit on this trip. We saw a very good rendition of Henry !V Part 2 by the Royal Shakespeare Company and visited most all the Shakespearean places of interest over our 2 days there.

Simon picked us up at the bus station. Sue made wonderful breakfasts of our own choosing and we visited with them a bit each day/morning. Our stay ended with Simon taking wife and I to the train station.

We did not encounter better hospitality anywhere on our trip.
Thanks Sue and Simon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HornDozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the Comment "We did not encounter better hospitality anywhere on our trip." It was a pleasure to discuss Shakespeare and American History. Swapping notes is always fun. We do hope you will return soon. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Adelphi when attending a wedding in Stratford. From tea and home made cakes on arrival to help with removing labels on a new suit, to a 5 star breakfast, it was excellent. Lovely decor, gorgeous bed linen and welcoming attentive hosts. Town centre location with parking invaluable. Probably the best b n b we've ever stayed in!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
What an accolade,"best b n b" you have ever stayed in.Thank you very much and for taking the time to write a review. It was a great pleasure to help with the labels. I'm only sorry I missed one and you had to improvise before arriving at the venue. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to Stratford and the Adelphi. Best wishes Simon and sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Guest House

Property: Adelphi Guest House
Address: 39 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England (Formerly Kawartha House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelphi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed by owners Sue and Simon who aim to make your stay a friendly, comfortable home from home experience. The award winning breakfasts, made from quality, locally sourced produce prove very popular as do the home baked cakes. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard in period style, reflecting the age of the property and the bedding is pure cotton of the finest quality. Great attention is given to detail, offering that little something different. We are situated opposite the lovely Fir Gardens and are only a few minutes walk from town centre shopping, Shakespeare's Birthplace, The Royal Shakespeare, Swan, and Courtyard Theatres. Anne Hathaway's cottage is also within walking distance of the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adelphi Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing