We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hosts can never be better!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adelphi Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hosts can never be better!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here in Feb 2010 with three friends. The trip to Stratford Upon Avon was a spontaneous one. Hence had no bookings for stay before hand. Being able to find them and stay here was the best thing of that spontaneous trip. It is just the most cozy B&B I have stayed in England until now. The hosts are the most lovely and warm people. They take care of every small detail to make the guests happy. The breakfast is great. The rooms are nice and beautifully decorated. If you are visiting Stratford Upon Avon and want to feel how great its people are, you should stay with this lovely B&B host. It is walking distance from all major attractions of the town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKSU-GaAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for writing this. It is always nice to know our "hosting" skills are appreciated. As we took over in 2012 it is nice to know we lived up to your previous experience of the Adelphi . We hope to see you again soon. best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    38
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
84
238
45
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a wonderful time in stratford thanks to our fantastic B&B proprietors who were so helpful and kind. The breakfast was excellent and the rooms were comfortable. The wifi was good. Highly recommend a stay at Adelphi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TumbleWeedTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for "excellent and lovely" as a review. We have recently upgraded the Wi-fi so it is good to hear it is appreciated. We do hope you will return to Stratford as we now have Tom's book and will have lots to talk about. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The food was delicious, the rooms were exceptionally clean and well-furnished, and the service I received was impeccable. Sue and Simon went out of their way to make sure that I was comfortable and well taken care of during my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for this review. We are glad you felt "well taken care of" we tried to help as you had such a tight schedule. Should your work or pleasure allow you to return to Stratford we would love to welcome you back. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Even though I rarely give out reviews I must submit this one for the Adelphi's hosts Sue and Simon.
I travel around the world for a living and been around the globe a few hundred times. So I recommend the Adelphi whole heartedly. The friendly hospitality was exceptional the place was immaculate as was the room. If you get a chance go for room 6 with the four poster bed!
Even though I had been to Stratford many times before I was impressed with the walking proximity of the Adelphi to anywhere in town. Will definitely return if availability permits. Book before you regret, goes fast! Sue and Simon kudos and thanks all around!

Room Tip: Room 6 four poster bed at the top. Quiet and roomy. King bed too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you we know you travel a great deal and have been to Stratford many times. So your review means a lot. We are so glad you and your daughter did manage to stay. It was a pleasure having you and we hope we shall see you both again. There is still more to see in the area. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We unfortunately only stayed one night with Simon and Sue as they were booked the other night. However, we would thoroughly recommend this accommodation. Simon and Sue were very friendly and helpful. Their house was our home and we were always greeted well. They even helped us find accommodation the following night.
Marnie and Ed Venturini

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenslandMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your vacation. We do appreciate it. We were sorry we could not accommodate you both nights, and were only too pleased to help you find alternative accommodation. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit and will return on your nest trip. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Peter and I came here partly to celebrate our civil partnership and we were welcomed with cava and flowers! Sue and Simon are charming, welcoming and knowledgeable, the house is full of interesting objects, pictures and books, and the breakfasts offer great choice. It is a warm and friendly little place, and could hardly be more convenient for the short walk into town. Ideal! There was great chat at breakfast with other guests swapping stories and tips of where to go and what to do. We hope to visit again one day.

Room Tip: We are now larger than we once were, so maybe we should request a king size bed or twin beds in futu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kildare54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were honoured that you choose The Adelphi to celebrate your civil partnership. It is always great when the breakfast room buzzes with conversation. It was also appreciated that you took the trouble to talk to the Austrian's in their own language. We do hope you will return and we will make sure you have a larger room next time may be the king sized four poster.. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

As this was my sixth visit to the Adelphi Guest House and as I have booked already to return I thought I should share my enthusiasm for this wonderful B&B again! I think I have tried every room now except the single room and I have enjoyed staying in them all! I went first with my friend and since then with my husband. Sue and Simon are excellent hosts. They have a beautiful home in a very convenient place for anywhere you might wish to visit in Stratford upon Avon. We like the theatre and Sue and Simon have a mine of information to share. This is a warm and comfortable place to stay with every convenience; comfortable beds with crisp linen, plenty of hot water and interesting books, pictures and ornaments. The cooked breakfast is delicious and well presented with help yourself fresh fruit and cereals. They make excellent coffee too.The gingerbread is a speciality not to be missed and although we were too late for tea we were delighted to see help yourself gingerbread and cakes! Look no further The Adelphi Guest House is the best place to stay.

Room Tip: There is a room on the ground floor with a small patio which is delightful to sit in and there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freya12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Wow. Thank you. We have only had the pleasure of your company twice since taking over the Adelphi. We are thrilled you have already booked to return. We love the theatre and to share our enthusiasm with guests. As every room has its own character reflected in its pictures and books guests who do return enjoy trying out different rooms. The ground floor room with the patio comes into its own in the summer and especially when "Amelia the Camilla" is in full bloom. See you soon. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Guest House

Property: Adelphi Guest House
Address: 39 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England (Formerly Kawartha House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelphi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed by owners Sue and Simon who aim to make your stay a friendly, comfortable home from home experience. The award winning breakfasts, made from quality, locally sourced produce prove very popular as do the home baked cakes. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard in period style, reflecting the age of the property and the bedding is pure cotton of the finest quality. Great attention is given to detail, offering that little something different. We are situated opposite the lovely Fir Gardens and are only a few minutes walk from town centre shopping, Shakespeare's Birthplace, The Royal Shakespeare, Swan, and Courtyard Theatres. Anne Hathaway's cottage is also within walking distance of the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adelphi Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing