We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location and Lovely Antiques”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adelphi Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Four attributes of the Adelphi Guest House make it an ideal place to sleep in Stratford-upon-Avon: (1) its location within easy walking distance of all the in-town Shakespeare properties, including the theatre, (2) its handsome antique furnishings, (3) its free parking (provided your vehicle is small enough to squeeze into the narrow lane leading to the parking spaces), and (4) its hospitable owners, Simon and Sue. Sue's decorative artistry is especially apparent in the elegant Four-Poster Room. It's at the top of the house, but--not to worry--Simon insists on hauling your luggage up and down the two flights of stairs.

Room Tip: If you want elegance, choose the Four-Poster Room. If you don't like stairs,ask for a first-floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Iamcurioustraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for writing this review and listing the four attributes that made the Adelphi ideal and we loved the title "Convenient Location and lovely antiques" many of which are family heirlooms. As for the lane it appears narrower than it is because Ford Transit Vans and SUVs go up and down it regularly. We hope you had a good journey home. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very welcoming couple who helped show around town and create a nice experience with a delicious breakfast and a extremely nice room with matching tactilities. Would highly recommend to anyone staying in the Stratford area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank evantravels88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for writing this review. We hope this means you returned safely to the USA. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very pleasant,clean and well run bed and breakfast. Owners extremely helpful and friendly. Close to town and theatre. The town centre is also handy and everything is easy to reach on foot.Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank genaCairo_egypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

We are so pleased you had a "very pleasant stay". We did enjoy meeting you both and will treasure the picture you kindly bought form Cairo. Thank you for this review as well. We love being in the centre and really wonder why we still have a car. We hope your house that was damaged by flooding is now repaired and you can relax and enjoy it again. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This bed and breakfast is a little gem. Sue and Simon are delightful hosts, very welcoming and helpful. Our downstairs bedroom felt like the perfect haven for us both and we even had our own terrace to enjoy the balmy evenings. Breakfast was delicious and enjoyable with a lot of interesting chat with Simon, Sue and the other guests, and we enjoyed our treat of tea and Sue`s buns in the evening. The house is perfectly located within Stratford and within easy walking distance of Stratford and its many places of interest. We really had an idyllic time and it was always a delight to return to our beautiful room in the evening. Thank you Sue and Simon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ghisjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for the review. We are so glad you had a wonderful stay. You were very lucky with the weather as recently no guests have been able to take advantage of the patio/terrace. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast . Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Myself and a friend stayed here over the weekend and could not be happier with our choice.

Our room was nicely decorated with thoughtful little touches added throughout. The location is perfect you are no further than 10 minutes from the town and the theatre.

The stand out feature of the B&B, however, is the warm and hospitable atmosphere. Upon arrival we were offered coffee and cake. Sue and Simon seemed genuinely interested in our plans for the weekend and were a fountain of knowledge about Stratford and the surrounding area.

Thank you Simon and Sue for your warm welcome and excellent advice, it made our weekend a wonderful experience. I hope to return again at some point and will definately be recommending to all my family and friends!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for this "Wonderful B&B review. It was a great pleasure having you and your friend staying. We are glad we contributed to your weekend enjoyment. It is always nice when the little touches are appreciated. As you rightly point out we are no more than 10 mins from any thing in the centre.We do hope we see you again soon , Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

From the moment you walk through the door and are greeted with tea and cakes Sue and Simon are the perfect hosts. The rooms are very comfortable and have everything you need. Breakfast is excellent. All the sights are within walking distance and Simon shows you where everything is in relationship to the guesthouse. Would certainly return. Thank you Sue and Simon for an excellent couple of days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you and we are glad you thought the Adelphi was "Worth every Penny". We love Stratford and like to show guests how to get the best out of the time here. We do hope you will return with your friends or alone, Stratford has a lot to offer. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Adelphi Guest House is truly charming. We recently stayed there as part of our honeymoon and we couldn't have made a better choice. Our top floor family room was perfect and Simon and Sue were wonderful hosts. Informative, friendly, and helpful. They really made us feel welcomed. I cannot say enough good things about them. We loved our breakfasts -- plenty of variety from which to choose.

The location is ideal-- a quick 5 min walk into town. Walking distance to all the sights of Stratford.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here during your honeymoon.Thank you for writing a review expressing this. The top floor room is popular with couples and also families. The four poster bed is always a hit. We think the location is ideal and love being in the centre of town. We hope you will return one day perhaps for an anniversary. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,826 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Guest House

Address: 39 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England (Formerly Kawartha House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £34 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelphi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed by owners Sue and Simon who aim to make your stay a friendly, comfortable home from home experience. The award winning breakfasts, made from quality, locally sourced produce prove very popular as do the home baked cakes. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard in period style, reflecting the age of the property and the bedding is pure cotton of the finest quality. Great attention is given to detail, offering that little something different. We are situated opposite the lovely Fir Gardens and are only a few minutes walk from town centre shopping, Shakespeare's Birthplace, The Royal Shakespeare, Swan, and Courtyard Theatres. Anne Hathaway's cottage is also within walking distance of the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adelphi Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing