We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely close to the amenities”
Review of Hampton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hampton Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Myself and my wife stayed here last week.The manager Michael greeted us on our arrival and made sure we were aware of where things were and how things worked. It is easy to find and has parking outside its front door. The rooms were more than adequate for the price, clean and comfortable bed and bedding. The cleaner came round each day to change towels etc and she was cheerful. The rooms had a fridge, kettle and tv. For us the main selling point however was its closeness to the theatre and attractions. You can walk out the front door, turn right go to the end of the road and there is the bridge leading over the river to the park by the theatre. My wife struggles with walking and it took her less than 10 minutes to walk, I did it on my own in 5. You can also turn left out of the front door walk 3 minutes and there is a pub on the side of which is a walk thro the park which can also lead to the theatre.

Room Tip: Maybe check out the backrooms that overlook the garden, we stayed in the front as it was larger but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a 2 night stay. The room was well decorated and the bed was fantastic. Although breakfast not available, the pub across the road served food all day. A 10 minute walk and you find yourself in the center of Stratford. A wonderful stay hope to return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay here and the plus side to not having a breakfast means there's no need to get up early! Limited privacy was the only issue; the walls were paper thin and we could hear other guests' conversations and their TVs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed at Hampton Lodge with my two sons, 18 and 16, to visit the RSC. It's in an excellent location only 5-10 mins walk from the theatre with all the main sights in town, restaurants etc within easy reach.

I booked the family room for all three of us. The room was spotless with plenty of space so that you don't feel cramped at all. Decor is contemporary, uncluttered and stylish in creams and soft bracken browns, and the room was blissfully quiet. Towels are a sensible size; soap, shower gel and hair dryer provided. Tea, coffee and biscuits are all complimentary and there is bottled water also free of charge in the minibar. Wi-fi is free, courtesy umbrellas are provided if you're unlucky enough to get a rainy day, and there is plenty of parking at the front.

No breakfast facilities as yet, but a lovely light room has been built at the back for a self-serve breakfast bar for patrons. A full English breakfast can be had at the Tramway Arms just across the road - or there is plenty of choice just across the river in town, a pleasant 5-10 minute stroll. Lots of restaurants all within easy walking distance - and the wonderful RSC.

Michael is a genial, welcoming host, there if you need him but happy for you to make this your home from home. If we come back to Stratford, Hampton Lodge will be my first choice. At £130 for three of us for two nights? Fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms look well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kefb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just got back from a great weekend staying at Hampton Lodge. Accommodation was very clean and room was cosy with all that was needed. Very friendly and welcoming owner (Michael). I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a nice good priced break in Stratford. Only a 5 to 10 minute walk into the town centre and I can also recommend the pub (The Old Tramway) just a few doors down across the road.

Will definitely stay here again when we return!

Room Tip: back rooms are quite as away from the road, but are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Don72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Fantastic place to stay. Very hospitable. Stayed here with parents from Friday - Sunday. Brilliant. Will definitely stay here again. We will visit again to see this lovely town. The old town is walking distance from the lodge. Lots of places to eat surrounding Hampton Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bridgetfox3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great stay the owner greeted us him self, we stayed there from Friday to Sunday morning, the room was tidy and I got speaking to the owner and there current works for expansion so hopefully to the same great standard

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 really nice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.4 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
931 reviews
0.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,045 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,866 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#12 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,923 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Lodge

Address: 38 Shipston Road | Hampton Lodge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £64 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing