We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A pleasant Stay in a Lovely Hotel"”
Review of Courtland Hotel

Courtland Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Courtland Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“"A pleasant Stay in a Lovely Hotel"”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I initially stayed at the end of June for a weekend. As it was that good, I went back again in July for an overnight stay. It is minutes away from the train and coach station, Shakespeare's Birth Place Trust houses, RSC Theatre, restaurants and the river Avon. On both occasions I was received by the friendly landlady.The en-suite rooms are clean, comfortable and are attractive. They all have Wi-fi. tea/coffee, biscuits, toiletries. There is a choice of a continental or cooked breakfast. I tend to choose the cooked option with veggie sausage. It is filling and sets me up for a morning of walking around Stratford and the surrounding area. I have recommended it to friends and family and I will certainly be staying here again and again. So, ignore the bad reviews about the hotel. People tend to complain about the slightest things, including me, but I have none in both instances.
AB

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aishah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    34
    19
    7
    11
See reviews for
17
66
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This B & B is in the centre of town, with easy parking & if you're staying in the area after you check out, it's only £3 for another full day - buy a pass from the landlady (Diana?)
Check-in was fast & efficient and I have no idea why some people resent being asked to pay on arrival- it's not as if you're going to have a room service or mini-bar bill. Many B & Bs ask you to do this, as they're busy with breakfast in the mornings when people are also leaving - it's not as if they have a receptionist to take care of your payment. It also means people can't sneak off early without paying - yes, it happens!
Our group had two rooms & both were exactly what we'd expect for the price. One (room 4) had what I assume is the "folding screen" referred to by other reviewers- actually a space- saving concertina type door, but the modern & well equipped bathroom was certainly a separate room. So the door was plastic, old and worn, but it didn't stop me sleeping! And the furniture in one room was like something from my gran's house- so what? We only needed a clean, comfy bed & we got that!
Flat screen TVs, tea & coffee & biscuits, lots of toiletries, big bath & great shower (not that common in the UK!) - what more do people want in a small B & B? Breakfast was fine, we were given a menu for each day the night before & asked to tick the boxes so we would get what we wanted with no waste. We liked being asked what time we wanted to eat, as this means - hopefully- not everyone comes at once. Too often I've stayed in small places where you have to wait for food because all the guests show up for breakfast at once.
My parents' room faced the street & was quite noisy for them, but they live in a very quiet area so they're not used to traffic noise.
Our hosts were friendly and helpful, both on the phone for booking & when we were there. If you want 5 star soulless service and fancy decor, go elsewhere & pay for it.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HkPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We booked to see a play at the theatre and so chose this guest house as it is so nearby to everything.shakespeares house is two mins away and the theatre n best restaurants only five mins.our room is small but beautifully done and perfect for a weekend stay.on arrival the landlord was extremely kind and gave us maps and recommendations.despite being near to the road we didnt hear any traffic and its v quiet. I brought my partner here for his birthday and its been a lovely weekend treat.highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 98776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Position and parking facility outweighed such disadvantages as uncertainty of booking arrangements, ensuite being behind a folding screen in at least 2 bedrooms and landlady who demanded full payment on arrival. Rooms clean and comfortably furnished and the drinkmaking equipment and toiletry extras appreciated. Dining room welcoming with separate tables, linen table cloths and napkins. Breakfasts good and cooked to order.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on main street if you are worried by traffic noise. The small bedroom is really small w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaretwirral702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My wife and i stayed here for one night saturday 11th feb.We recieved a warm welcome when we arrived and enjoyed our stay here.We found the hotel is in an ideal central location for visiting the historic sitesand pubs and restaurants .We will be returning in the summer hopefully when the weather is warmer. Tony and Jan.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anthony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I agree with the previous reviewer in that the innkeeper's customer relations skills are not very good, although she warms up after a bit of conversation. I stayed here one night with a friend as we were attending plays in the town. Our room was pleasantly furnished and had a private bathroom although, as often happens, this was a bit of a walk. The major downside is that it faces on to a busy street with traffic through the night. Luckily I had earplugs with me. I recommend that anyone planning to stay here ask for a room at the back. The breakfast was ample - the full English - but not cooked with much skill. Not nearly as good as the breakfast I last enjoyed at a B&B here in Canada where we were served cheese souffle and maple bacon with homemade muffins.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting on the street very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailr97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I was communicating with this hotel via email and agreed to book a 1 night stay. When I rang the lady to pay the deposit to secure my booking, she answered the phone in a very abrupt way, was unpleasant to speak to and so I got completely put off...and decided not to pay the deposit and look for a place in Stratford that has staff with customer service skills.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,781 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,772 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
876 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtland Hotel

Property: Courtland Hotel
Address: 12 Guild Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Courtland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtland Hotel Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing