We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sequoia House

Sequoia House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sequoia House
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed here to celebrate my husands birthday and it was perfect. The house is gorgeous and the furnishings are lovely. Our room was peaceful and relaxing. The nice toiletries in the bathroom were a lovely touch. The owners are really pleasant and very welcoming. They gave us lots of information about the area.
Breakfast was wonderful - home cooked, excellant quality and really good portions.

This is not a place to go if you are looking for a tv; music system or internet in your room - however if your aim is to get away from the rat race and completely unwind in beautiful surroundings it is perfect. We will visit again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of equal quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dw1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

We loved Sequoia, every bit of it! Such gorgeous rooms, the owners have great taste in interior design and have done outstandingly with decorating the house. Every room we saw was stunning and had lovely individual character. Excellent showers, soft towels, robes, super comfortable beds and rather large and spacious rooms. The breakfast was just delicious and the breakfast room, again like the rest of the house, was beautiful.

Sequoia is a nice 7 minute walk through the park and over the River Avon from RSC and the centre of Stratford.

Thank you again for a lovely weekend and we will sure stay in Sequoia on our return to the area.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KPairio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingston upon thames, Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

We stayed last weekend as we had theatre tickets. Great location for the theatre and town, lovely hosts that were so helpful - just how you wish all Hoteliers were! Room was lovely, full of character and the breakfast was very filling and tasty! Top marks!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BankerGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravensthorpe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

We had a wonderful weekend at Sequoia House, the room was beautiful, very relaxing, and the rest of the house equally tastefully decorated. Breakfast very tasty and lovely setting.
The central location was also great, given how relaxed the house felt you could hardly believe it was so close to central Stratford! We also had some very reliable restaurant recommendations from the owners.
As mentioned by other reviewers, my only small dissapointment would be the lack of tea making facilities - when I arrived late on Friday evening after a long drive I was gasping for a cup of tea, but none was to be found! I would suggest the owners add this facility, or enable guests to make tea in the kitchen downstairs, to make enjoying the beautiful rooms even more relaxing!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kierenandalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

On the recommendation of a colleague I stayed here with my mother last summer; our first time in this delightful town - which of course is touristy, but not overpoweringly so. Greeted by the charming owner, we were shown to our room, under the watchful gaze of the portly house puss! Tasteful decor, lovely bath products; only downside was the lack of tea-making facilities in the room. Considering the price, this absence was a surprise.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trampercamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

I had booked theatre tickets for my partner and I and were looking for an unassuming but romantic B&B near to the town but in a quiet position. In the Sequoia, we found what we were looking for, a beautifully decorated room with a romantic ambience. The breakfast was excellent with locally produced farm sausages and free range eggs, organic fruit - wonderful!

This would have been 5 stars all round had there been tea-making facilities in the room and a bath instead of/as well as a shower.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2005

This is a nice place to stay. It is very convenient to the theatre and the shops in town as it is only a short walk over the bridge. It has lots of room for parking and has a garden, although we did not make much use of this in February! We stayed in the extension and the room was clean, big and comfortable. Breakfast was served in a large dining room and was plentiful. We didn't see much of the owners and didn't use the bar, so can't say what they are like.
I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anon14London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Lodge
Hampton Lodge
#12 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia House

Property: Sequoia House
Address: 51 Shipston Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sequoia House, a recently restored Victorian town house offering B&B in four individually styled and beautifully appointed guest bedrooms. We are perfectly located near the river,just a picturesque stroll along the Tramway Walk to Stratford's shops,restaurants and world class theatres. Built in 1887,the year Queen Victoria celebrated her Golden Jubilee, the house has an intimate charm that no large hotel can match. Its classic interiors incorporate many period features and superb collection of antique furniture. Home comforts include luxurious beds,crips linens,splendid bathrooms,fluffy towels,home cooked, traditional English breakfast and good old fashioned hospitality. We should point out that our bedrooms are very much technology free, making the ideal retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing