We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Stratford”
Review of Emsley Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emsley Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Stratford”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We loved our stay very much. We were warmly welcomed by the Landlord, with fresh made biscuits in the room. He gave us a lot of information. It was very clean, the room was perfect and quiet, just what you're looking for in your holiday. Also on walking distance from the centre, so percect.
We had a very nice breakfast in the cosy breakfast lounge. Helpful landlord and landlady, we would really recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to do a review for us, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to meet you. Maybe we will see you again on some future occasion.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    50
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
111
247
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

First class.Everything about this guesthouse is excellent.The welcome tour of the property by Ray was helpful and the room was so clean and well thought out.Great shower,great bed with quality linen.Breakfast was supurb and plentiful.This guest house is the only place to stay in Stratford and the price is real value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurence h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hi Laurence,
Thank you so much for the lovely review, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you had a nice stay and it was a pleasure to meet you both. Thanks again for taking the time and trouble to do a review for us.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Travelled with my wife and daughter. Chose Emsley because of the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed! The property is ideally situated for Stratford being only a 5 min walk into the centre. Emsley is well decorated throughout and our room was excellent. I can not improve on other reviewers opinions about breakfast only to agree totally with them and say it was fantastic.
However, the most impressive thing about this property are the owners Ray, Mel and Hayley. They really are welcoming, genuine people and offer great advice on where to visit and eat. A short story to illustrate the point. We travelled from Manchester and had a nightmare journey to get to Stratford (major accident on M6, we only travelled 30 miles in 4 hours). Having booked a cream tea (recommended), we phoned Mel to let her know we would be late. We arrived at 5.15pm, settled into our room, then half an hour later went down to the breakfast room for aforementioned cream tea - homemade scones, homemade jam, clotted cream, fresh strawberries and lots of tea and coffee. Just what we needed after our journey. We could only manage 4 of the 6 scones we were served. No problem, the 2 remaining scones were saved
and along with another scone and more jam was placed in our room on Saturday afternoon. On our return from a morning in Stratford we found the tray of jam and scones and this time left nothing! Additionally, the complementary biscuits in the room each day are also homemade and are also excellent!! Emsley really is a home from home and we will definitely have a return visit. Thank you Ray, Mel and Hayley

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryokeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review and fantastic comments! We are so glad you had a pleasant stay, and enjoyed the cream tea! It makes all the hard work worthwhile when our guests appreciate it. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again at some future date.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed at the lovely Emsley Guest House during a quick overnight trip to Stratford-Upon-Avon and had such a wonderful stay. The closeness to the train station, the center of town, and the Royal Shakespeare Theater cannot be beat. Plus the extra amenities they offer is an excellent touch. I cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hi Sarah,
Thank you for taking time out to do a review for us, we really appreciate it. We are glad you had a good time in Stratford and hope the rest of your holiday was memorable. It was lovely to meet you.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORDOBA,ARGENTINA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Good location near the railroad station.Very nice room,nice decoration and good ventilation.Tea and coffee hardware and inputs in the room.Excellent English beakfast plus juices,fruits,yougurts,cereals etc.serviced by the owners in the living room decorated real english way.We had real good time.

Room Tip: Rooms are in the first floor ,no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMASCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you the lovely review, it is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Stratford. Sorry about the lack of an elevator but unfortunately the house was built in 1860 and I don't think they had been invented then! It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Yet another super stay at this perfect guest house. I honestly cannot fault the Coulson family. The property is spotless and absolutely everything is catered for and I mean everything. Beautifully decorated and furnished accommodation. Relaxing and a home from home which adds to the pleasure of my annual visit to the RSC Theatre. Okay I went to see David Tennant as Richard II [fantastic] but I now feel I also travel to Stratford to meet up with Melanie, Ray and Hayley once again. Bravo folks and keep up the good work. Incidentally the cooked breakfasts are 11 out of 10!! Location is ideal for a leisurely stroll into the beautiful town of Stratford too; a matter of minutes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POPPYEWAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for another lovely review! It is always a great pleasure when guests return to us. I suppose we must be doing something right! We are glad you enjoyed "David's" performance too. He is never a disappointment! Thanks again for taking the trouble to do a review and we look forward to seeing you both again next year.
Best wishes,
Melanie, Ray & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed here for three nights alone in a twin room and it was a very pleasant experience, clean room and bath, great amenities, friendly and considerate owners, plentiful and tasty breakfast, good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaSt84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi Julia,
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us, it is much appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you and you were the perfect guest. We would welcome you back any time. We wish you all the best with your studies in Scotland.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,558 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,034 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,731 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emsley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emsley Guest House

Property: Emsley Guest House
Address: 4 Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emsley Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emsley is a newly refurbished four star rated Victorian Town House Bed and Breakfast, centrally located, five minutes walk from town centre and Shakespeare's birthplace. We are also the closest B&B to the train station.All rooms are en suite, centrally heated, tastefully decorated with generous tea and coffee making facilities home made shortbread biscuits, LCD TV/DVD with Freeview, free WiFi and free parking. Spacious family rooms sleep up to five adults. Special diets catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emsley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing