We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely & convenient Stratford B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arden Way Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Big Canoe, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely & convenient Stratford B&B”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This B&B is very clean and comfortable. Jeanne, the proprietor, made us feel very welcome. She offered suggestions for sightseeing and cooked up a great made-to-order breakfast. It is a short walk across a footbridge over the Avon to the RSC theatre, the restaurants on Sheep Street, and many of the sightseeing destinations. We had a wonderful stay and heartily recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esankay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
92
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brodnax
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I arrived at our B&B exhausted with a bad cold and the proprietress greeted me with kindness, a cup of tea, sympathy, and a wonderfully comfortable room. She even called a pub to make sure we could enjoy dinner before seeing Hamlet at the RSC. Her home was in easy walking distance of the in town Shakespeare Properties and her breakfast, co-cooked by her sweet husband, was delightful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA. USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Our stay at Arden Way Guesthouse was superb. The hospitality was gracious and the room was beautiful and spotlessly clean. Enjoyed the breakfast and we could use the garden and a summer house in the yard for relaxing. The guesthouse is convenient to the main part of the town, including the theater, restaurants and historic sites. Jeanne is a gracious and helpful hostess.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristip34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Our sixth visit to SUA this year and our fifth to Jeanne, the one year we stayed elsewhere was only because she had no vacancies. Comfortable, friendly and a fabulous breakfast, a stone's throw from the town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sqc107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I spent five nights at this B & B in May 2013 and I truely cannot find a fault. Jeanne, the proprietor, works extremely hard to ensure that her guests' needs are met. As stated by others,
the place is spotlessly clean and the breakfasts huge and tasty. My room was upstairs at the back of the house. The bed was very comfortable and the sun shone in every morning. This room also overlooks Jeanne's beautiful garden. Being a Shakespeare "tragic" myself, it was great to meet a like-minded person. Jeanne sees all the productions and has good knowledge of the various actors and their work. You can pick her brain on any Shakespearean question.
The B & B is a 5 minute walk into town and to the RSC. There are walking tours and hop-on hop-off busses available. See Shakespeare's house and visit the church where he was married and buried. There is also a great choice of restaurants in Stratford. I had a beautifully cooked chicken dish at Vitners (on Sheep Street) which cost about 10 pounds , before going to the theatre. I had a terrific duck dish (about 25 pounds with a glass of wine) at the pub on the corner closest to the B & B. All of the caffs serve jacket potatoes and cream teas if snacks are needed. You can also hop on the little boat for a trip down the River Avon for 5 pounds.
I am in my 60s and travelled alone. I felt completely safe in this place and would highly recommend both the B & B and Stratford-on-Avon for a quintessential English villiage stay.

Room Tip: I would choose a room at the back upstairs. The morning sun comes in and these rooms are away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javea
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Great location, lovely room, super breakfast.

Actually stayed in August 2011 but forgot to write review at the time and have just been desperately searching for the name of the guest house as planning to go to Stratford in November and wanted to stay there again! So glad to have found it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Javea03730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

It was our first time at Arden way guest house and it was brilliant we were in stratford for 2 nights the first night stayed at Alveston manor 2nd night Arden way wish we had stayed at Arden way both nights we can highly recommend this guest house it was amazingly clean and comfortable very friendly excellent breakfast and free parking we will be using it again dont bother with alveston manor its not worth the money go to Arden way guest house you wont be disappointed good location for the town as well.

Room Tip: only 6 rooms all looked good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,079 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,616 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,057 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Way Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Way Guesthouse

Property: Arden Way Guesthouse
Address: 22 Shipston Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LP, England (Formerly Compton House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden Way Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arden Way Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing