We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange Pricing Structure and not so warm welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stratford-upon-Avon Racecourse Touring Park
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Strange Pricing Structure and not so warm welcome”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

We had a great camping trip here in our tent, however our pitch was more expensive than that of others in our party who had a caravan with awning. Apparently they prefer caravans to tents as people in tents "get drunk, noisy and throw up" - doesn't make a young family feel particularly welcome does it?
Also got shouted at entertaining the kids by singing along in the car waiting outside of reception. Apparently they're not that kind of site.
Showers were clean and went on forever. Take a bag to hang on a hook as no shelves, etc. Our pitch was not near others, well spaced apart and sheltered. Grass was shorter on the tent bit than the caravan sections. Nice walk into Stratford

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamGilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    12
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
18
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The site is situated within walking distance of Stratford upon Avon. The walk is about 1 ½ miles on a footpath. Stratford upon Avon is a lovely place with much to see and do.

We stayed here over a bank holiday weekend in a motorhome. The site is very spacious so if you have a large tent or RV this shouldn’t be a problem. If booking at short notice, when other sites are full it might be worth trying here especially if you don’t require hook up. The cost for 2 nights with EHU was a very reasonable £31 with the only extra being a shower at 50 pence. The site office closes at 7pm, so you must arrive before then. Bizarrely the warden said that the site was full when we rang up and it was only when I said that I didn't want EHU that she said she could fit us in. When we arrived there was loads of room.

The toilets and showers were heated and in reasonable condition. Our pitch was very large but the grass needed cutting.
When choosing your pitch note that in late afternoon some are shaded by the trees, this may be a good or bad thing. As the site is so large it can be a long walk from some pitches to the toilet block so ask to be pitched nearby if this is important to you.
Plenty of dog walks nearby and it is possible to take your dog off his lead in the middle of the racetrack for a good run.

There is a car boot sale at weekends in the next field and as well as races there as often other events there such as the beer festival in June that we would love to visit if we didn’t live so far away.

Overall we had a very enjoyable weekend there.

Room Tip: Some pitches are in the shade. Some pitches are far from the toilets and showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

We have stayed many times over the last few years at this touring park as we visit the theatre regularly. New managers took over last year and are very helpful and friendly and go out their way to assist you. The park itself is mostly grass with some hard standing, all with water and disposal points nearby. The park is within the racecourse grounds, so if you are there on a race day you can have a good view of the horses racing past the fencing. Facilities are clean and tidy. Within 30 mins walking distance of the theatre, 5-10 minutes by cycle using the cycle lanes. Good dog walks nearby. Close to Shakespeare attractions including Hathaway's cottage. All in all one of my favourite touring parks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanna159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

One of the best things about this site is John and Pam, the wardens. Salt of the earth. Always friendly helpful and hardworking. Best of all, John takes no prisoners when it comes to getting rid of idiots. He acts promptly and decisively, which makes for a good atmosphere for the rest of us.

I've stayed there often. When it's very busy, perhaps there ought to be extra staff to cope with the pressure. This is because it can accommodate large rallies, and numbers vary more widely than on most sites. But it's no big deal unless you are particularly prissy, and most of the time everything is tickety-boo.

Perhaps the odd snotty review is inevitable. It takes a reasonable degree of rudeness or anti-social behaviour to earn Johns displeasure, but I wouldn't like to be on the recieving end.

Highly recommended, unless you are an idiot.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The site is very close to town, there is plenty of space a friendly site the wardens are very pleasant and helpful... I don't understand the comments about the cleanliness or water temperature as we had no such problems will definitely return

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have just left the Stratford Racecourse site after a 4 day rally, the facilities were excellent and the wardens were both very helpful and obliging, nothing was too much bother to them.
We spoke to many of our neighbours who all said the same thing,
Having experienced a number of so called club camp sites we found the racecourse site every bit as good if not better, and a very willing couple running the site.
We will definitely be back, when next travelling in the area
Walter & Emily

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We are currently staying here with the Self Build Motor Caravan Club as part of the Club's AGM. The part of the site we have been given has turned out to be an excellent location right in the middle of the race track. The facilities have been ideal for the club to hold all sorts of activities over the weekend.

The warden has been over at least 5-6 times a day, being right next to the loo's we have almost started setting our clocks by his visits. From reading other reviews below it has to be a different warden as this chap could not be more helpful or cheerful and must definately go to the same hair dresser as me! The grass is a bit long, but I would rather have that than grass cuttings walked into the motorhome. Apparently grounds maintenance is took care of by the race course itself and not the site warden.

The walk into town is about 25 minutes or there is a no 28 bus from the main gate every 15 mins or so. On saturday morning there is a good car boot and market on the big parking area next to the main gate. Over the other end of the site are 2 railway carriages that is actually a cafe, very handy!!

If you are looking for a good rally site for your club in the midlands then give this one some thought, it has been a lot less stressful for the committee using this one!!

Room Tip: Book the ballon ride!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,620 reviews
2.9 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
863 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,222 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,433 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#18 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford-upon-Avon Racecourse Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford-upon-Avon Racecourse Touring Park

Property: Stratford-upon-Avon Racecourse Touring Park
Address: Luddington Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Stratford-upon-Avon
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stratford Racecourse Touring Park is close to the River Avon, about a mile from the heart of Stratford-On-Avon, home of the 'Man of the Millennium' - William Shakespeare. Our rural site offers facilities for upto 150 motorhomes/caravans and 50 tents as well as ample space for Rallies to be held in the centre of the racecourse. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing