We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved by the proprietor”
Review of Bradbourne House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bradbourne House
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Four stars is a pretty good rating for Britain's B&B business. But some four stars are better than others. Bradbourne House has the advantage of having Ian Gregory, the avuncular owner of the inn who dispenses advice on getting the most out of a visit to Stratford. A former wallpaper designer who couldn't bring himself to retire, he is a charmer. Mr. Gregory tries to put his guests at ease. In our case it was a little more difficult because of the annual motorcycle rally had bikers roaring up and down the road outside the B&B. Mr. Gregory obliged us by moving our room to the garden side of the house into a sort of hut called The Lodge, a musty smelling, humid enclosure. After two restless nights, he put us in a more agreeable room. He made best efforts to make us happy and this saved our visit. For Americans, one of the great marvels of a stay at a B&B in Britain is what is called the "full English breakfast." Mr. Gregory handles the cooking almost all on his own. But given our other experiences at B&Bs, Bradbourne House could take a step forward by not serving canned fruit, canned tomatoes and canned beans with the cold eggs and bacon. On the other hand, Mr. Gregory pointed us to some very restaurants in the town. He is a B&B owners who clearly enjoys his guests.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Scripto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

My friend and I made our 2nd trip to Stratford and once again Ian made us very welcome.
Bradbourne House is a gem - very easy to get to by car, parking spaces, a short walk to the town and lovely comfortable accommodation.
Not to mention the breakfast - which is excellent.
We will be back for a third visit!
Thank you for your hospitality, Ian.

Gail Searby and Anna McPhee (Hull)

Room Tip: The Garden Room is very nice Rooms at the back would be quieter - although the front ones are not n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 214gail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I did a self drive tour in May. Had no bookings so had to go door-to-door. Found a room here and were very happy! Lovely, neat, perfect for a night stay-over. Great pub across the road and walking distance to central Stratford.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My sister and I booked last minute for 2 day stay. Ian was marvellous - from the initial phone call right through to the end of our visit. The room was excellent. More than a B&B. Very clean. Breakfast outstanding. Ian was a font of knowledge especially when it came to recommending local places to eat in particular The Tramway. Would certainly stay again if ever we were in Stratford again. Once again, many thanks Ian. Note having trouble with click a rating: service, value, sleep quality, cleaniness, location, rooms all excellent - there is no fitness centre but for some reason my laptop insists there is!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lesley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful place. Ian our host was charming. Our room, the lodge, exquisite. The grounds, picturesque. A true b&b experience. Thanks to Ian he suggested The Old Tramway Inn across the street served amazing meals.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaKingaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here in April to watch the Shakespeare Celebrations.
Although the hotel has a car park it is a pleasant 10 minute walk into town. Ian, the owner, was very welcoming and cooked a delicious breakfast. There is a lovely garden at the back where you can sit and enjoy a glass of wine. Room was clean, tv, tea/coffee, excellent value for money!

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Immaculately clean and cozy rooms, great central heating, so nice and warm with plush carpets underfoot. Rooms had TV's, tea facilities with biscuits and spare bedding/plenty of towels.

Ian the host was very helpful with suggestions on where to go with children on a rainy day. He even had a box of toys to keep the little ones happy. The location was perfect for a short walk into the centre if everything along a pretty old tramline. Car parking available and free.

The only improvement I could suggest would have been a high chair for breakfast, it would have significantly improved my morning (having to eat one handed with a one year old on my lap/hot plate and having to keep him out of cupboards/away from beautifully laid out tables when he was put down!).

Thank you for a lovely stay Ian.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank LisaLin2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,433 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
The Limes Country Lodge Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,116 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bradbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bradbourne House

Address: 44 Shipston Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing