We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“could ask for nothing more”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Meets Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MargaretD...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“could ask for nothing more”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

David Gray is a genuinely nice person. and the lodge has everything that you might want, and more! Have stayed in another lodge, at the same site, but would definitely recommend this one. Have just come back after 10 days, of warm sun and blue skies, but even without that bonus we would have had a great holiday. Just one regret - that we didn't find this a few years earlier. Hope to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: the site does not supply free Wi-fi (not the owners fault)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful peaceful luxurious lodge”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in October 2013

We have stayed here twice and loved it both times. Loved cooking in the fabulous kitchen. Relaxed watching the world go by with the lovely views. Place was spotless and very comfortable. The bed is sublime!! Looking forward to another stay soon. We would recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a place to re-charge the batteries

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARCKETTI
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME PLACE TO STAY!!!!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in December 2013

You will not go wrong staying at River Meets Lodge!!! David is a WONDERFUL host and extremely helpful with all your needs. The jetted bathtub with built-in TV is to die for. The lodge is right on the River Avon and the ducks come right up to the patio deck in search of food...so cute. You can take the river taxi straight into Stratford for 1pound 50 pence. The river boat ride into town is very pretty and tranquil. ENJOY YOUR STAY!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jetted bathtub with TV
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy M
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place..... shame about the dirty bedding”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were met by the owner at the lodge who explained everything we needed to know. The location was great, close to the river and clubhouse. We used the restaurant but was disappointed with the slow service and average food. The lodge was very comfortable and looked clean but we were astounded that the bedding on the single bed had not been cleaned and was filthy, as it was late at night I was unable to do anything about it so had to sleep on the sofa. I then had to wash the bedding the next day, which was time consuming and impacted on our two day stay. I contacted the owner as I was not very happy, he did apologise but I felt it warranted a reduction in price for the inconvenience. He has since not replied to any of my messages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location over looking the river
Liked least: The unclean bedding
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
On reading this review we are extreemly surprised to receive some negative feedback. We pride ourselves on ensuring that all of our guests fully enjoy their time at Rivermeets Lodge.
All of our laundry is professionally cleaned and if a guest has any issue we ensure that things are acted upon in a timely and responsive manner.
In this instance we were unable to inspect the laundry as the guest had apparently washed the sheet themselves.

On balance this review is completly against all of the positive comments we have had to date, however will take these points on board.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnD_Notts
Ruddington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely lodge in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My wife and I, along with her parents, spent a few days here in May and we all loved it. The owners met us onsite and gave us a tour of the lodge which included a guide to operating all of the numerous mod cons!

The lodge itself is in a peaceful location directly overlooking the river and is spacious and very comfortable with good quality furnishings and equipment throughout, including on the outdoor balcony. It has everything you require and more.

The location is perfect for exploring Stratford and the surrounding area. Just over the footbridge close to the lodge you can catch the river taxi which runs to and from Stratford centre between 1 or 2 times an hour (depending on demand) between 10:00 & 17:30, and costs £1.50 each way. Alternatively you can walk into Stratford either by crossing the footbridge and walking through the site on that side to Tiddington Road and right into Stratford or by walking back out of the Avon Park site onto Warwick Road. After a few hundred yards you can then go through the car park on the left hand side and follow the path along the riverside directly into Stratford. Both routes are approximately 1 mile.

The village of Tiddington which is a 15 minute walk from the lodge has a pub which serves food, a Spar shop and a Tapas restaurant, all of which we used, along with both Indian & Chinese takeaways, which we didn't try.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: Water pressure for shower & bath could be better
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola P
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, luxurious and well appointed lodge”
Reviewed 7 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We were met by David, who was very friendly and showed us around the lodge and all the mod cons on offer. Then we just sat back and relaxed, the view of the river was superb and the decking area was very well equipped with plenty of seating. A short walk over the footbridge to the river taxi and that takes you into Stratford Marina, also over the footbridge is a café which serves breakfast for an incredible 99p. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend, indulging in the use of the spa bath, which takes a while to run, but well worth the wait, and were very sorry to leave on the Monday morning. I'd have no hesitation in recommending this lodge to anyone, and I will certainly be returning. Thank you David for a lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to the river
Liked least: Mattresses, I have a bad back and found them too soft.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: relaxing location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$193
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing