We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“60th birthday celebration”
Entrance and front garden with hot tub, dining and seating area with Kandi fire bowl and Bar b Que
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance and front garden with hot tub, dining and seating area with Kandi fire bowl and Bar b Que
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Entrance and front garden with hot tub, dining and seating area with Kandi fire bowl and Bar b Que
Large spacious down stairs bedroom adjacent to walk in shower room.
Balcony Overlooking Malvern Hills and Adjacent Farm land
Stairs leading to the first floor.
Free Range Eggs?
Some of this years lambs.
Stunning Views
Fantastic Sunset over the Malvern Hills
Harvest selection form our Kitchen Garden
Air rifle coaching and Shooting available
Plenty of wildlife on the farm
See the deer on the adjacent Ragley Hall Estate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“60th birthday celebration”
Reviewed 24 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The Granary was a lovely venue for my wife's 60th birthday with our family. The 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms were ample for the 6.5 of us. We enjoyed our evening dip in the hot tub watching the sun go down. We all went to the food festival at Alcester, which is a lovely old town with plenty of stalls to peruse. In the afternoon the men in the family went to the Purity brewery for their tour and tasting. Also close by is Stratford upon Avon which also had a market day. Here we went to the butterfly farm, which I believe is now one of the largest in the UK. It was lovely, the sunshine ensured the butterfly's were very active. The highlight of the trip was the hot air balloons rising from the Midland airshow at Ragley Hall, we could see them go up from the Granary and not pay a penny.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Thank You for taking the time to review your stay you really picked an excellent time to stay and the sky filled with balloons made it extra special, we only organise this for 60th birthdays and were glad to help on this occasion.

Hope to be able to welcome you back to the farm soon.

Wayne & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izzyisrar
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Stay!”
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed for for 3 days over the bank holifay weekend. We had a lovely relaxing weekend.

The house was beautiful. With high standard fittings.
If you are after a quiet peaceful stay.. stay here!!

The children loved collecting eggs from the chicken coup, playing with the sheep. The tree swing was in constant use and the girls spent most of their time on the swing.

It was so nice talking to Sue and Wayne. They really made us feel welcome. They live next doors.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
Many thanks for your kind words, we pride ourselves ensuring families have a lovely time whilst visiting one of our properties here at Oaks Barn Farm. Your children were an absolute joy, you should be very proud. 'Tony' the dog is missing you already!! We hope you welcome you back again soon. Wayne and Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saqib R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 27 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Oaks Barn Farm. Location was excellent for a wedding we attended at Ragley Hall. Wayne and Sue were excellent hosts and really took their time to show us around their farm and my 2 year old daughter was over the moon as discovering the lambs and the big yellow tractor. Highly recommend!

Saq

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2018
Thank you Saq we have a lovely photo of your daughter on the Gator take a look at Oaks Barn Farm on Facebook so glad the wedding went well at Ragley Hall for you. hope to welcome you back to the farm soon.
Wayne & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoDivide...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“Sheep-tastic!”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Myself, hubby and our two children aged 10 and 12 stayed in The Granary for three nights over the August Bank Holiday weekend.

It's in a great location within very easy reach of Stratford upon Avon (about 20 minutes easy drive away), and many other towns and tourist attractions. I don't get on well with small country single-track lanes, and I can reassure anyone reading that this is certainly not the case here - it's on a proper road with easy access to anywhere you could wish to travel to!

We were warmly welcomed by Wayne, who showed us around the property, and Sue was also really helpful and friendly during our stay. You do feel like valued guests.

The Granary itself is attractive, clean and spacious, and makes good use of the barn’s original features. There are three bedrooms, all with king size beds, and a shower room and toilet on both floors. We slept downstairs, and our children had a bedroom each upstairs. I'd say the best bedroom, should you wish to nab it first, is the one to the right of the top of the stairs, as it has its own balcony overlooking farmland. The one to the left is also very spacious, and has an outside staircase leading up to it - but that door can only be opened and the staircase used if you have rented the Coach House as well, as otherwise it overlooks your neighbours' living and bedroom areas. The door has frosted glass so it's fine to pull back the curtain though. The downstairs bedroom is nice too. All bedrooms have TVs but we didn't try these.

The shower room downstairs is the main one, as the shower there is very spacious, so we didn't try the smaller one on the top floor.

The kitchen is solid and good quality, and we found everything we needed. The fridge and freezer are a good size. The only thing we really missed was a dishwasher! There isn't a washing machine, and we didn't need one during our short stay, but at a small cost they can do washing for you.

The kitchen is open plan with the dining and sitting areas. We managed with the sitting area as a family of four, but if there was six of you, some of you would need to sit at the dining room table chairs when gathering there. We didn't turn on the TV while there, but we noticed there were plenty of DVDs to borrow - and also books and board games.

Info on the local area's attractions is in the drawers under the bookcase.

We absolutely loved the animals and the play area! Special mention here for Jimmy, the calm, patient and lovely farm dog! Also for Jess the very friendly cat, who was happy to come into our cottage for a visit! We loved seeing the herd of sheep (27 if I counted correctly) in their lovely big field - and found that sheep do have their own personalities! We loved stroking the friendly ones, who trotted up to us when we approached. They looked all grown up but many would have been lambs in the spring so that must be a lovely time to stay. There is a rooster with his four beautiful hens, and you can lift the back of the coop to collect lovely freshly-laid eggs! We didn't take any, as we were only staying a short time, but if you are staying long enough to collect six there is an honesty box at the farm produce stall. There were also two pigs when we stayed, also very friendly, who will devour any leftovers you give them in seconds!

There is a little play area, with a slide and, most importantly for my 10 year old swing-mad daughter, a tyre swing, hanging off a lovely oak tree. Next to this is the farm’s little stall of their own produce, where I bought some delicious onion chutney, redcurrant and mint jelly, and some gooseberry jam and jelly. I haven't tried the gooseberry ones yet but can vouch that the others are superb - grab some if they are available! This is also paid for in the honesty box.

In a gated orchard area is a box containing things like racquets and balls, cricket equipment, skipping ropes and so on, to borrow. The orchard was beautiful at the time of year we visited, with lovely trees full of shiny red apples, pears and damsons. The apples tasted exactly as apples used to when I was a child!

We paid extra to be able to use the hot tub during our stay, which was lovely, warm and spacious, and within easy reach of the front door.

Also on our spacious patio were a BBQ, fire pit, tables and chairs. If you are particularly after a property with a lawned area instead, you might consider the Coach House next door.

One thing that wasn't so great was the Wi-Fi, which I understand is a longstanding issue with the cable connections in the local area, rather than being a fault at the farm. We did end up having to buy 'bolt-ons' to our phones to provide the amount of data to the iPads that was required, as our children like watching You Tube videos and playing games when not out and about! I think we would just factor this cost in to the holiday if staying next time. I think you would be fine if just needing to use it to look up info and check emails. However, our holiday was short and if staying longer our children would have been more likely to watch TV, read, watch DVDs or play board games while in the property rather than using the internet.

We did all our shopping at the pleasant Waitrose in Alcester, just a few minutes away, but there are Tesco's and suchlike also within reasonable distance. There isn't a 'welcome pack' of things like tea, coffee, milk, butter, bread and so on, which we've always found on arrival at other stays like this, and that would have been really welcome after our journey, though I did find some teabags in a cupboard that tided my caffeine levels over! Therefore I'd recommend getting anything you would like on arrival en route, then going off to do a bigger shop once settled in.

During our short stay we visited the lovely Coughton Court (National Trust) just a few minutes’ drive away. We would have visited Ragley Hall, also very close by, but they had a camping and music festival across the entire bank holiday weekend, and as that wasn't our thing, and you couldn't visit the house and gardens normally, we didn't go - but I think it is probably an excellent place to visit otherwise, so check their events before you book if you particularly have Ragley in mind. We spent two evenings visiting Stratford upon Avon, eating out, walking along the river and seeing the historic buildings - it's a lovely town. It's easy to park in the evenings there but I suspect may be harder in the day - but there is a park and ride within an easy drive.

There are so many places to visit within an easy drive of Oaks Barn Farm that it makes an ideal base.

We had a good stay and would certainly consider staying again, particularly as it is so central to lots of good places to visit, and is a lovely calm place to come back to!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravensgra...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oaks Barn Farm - The perfect retreat”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A lovely time spent at Oaks Barn Farm with the family. Relaxing environment and attentive hosts. Our accommodation was outstanding, situated within perfectly tranquil surroundings. Our 12 year old son had the opportunity to help Wayne around the farm. My wife and I on the other hand languished within the hot tub. To anyone who is thinking of staying at Oaks Barn Farm, we highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, glad we were able to make your stay with us special we look forward to welcoming you back to the farm soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulabrat...
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Welcoming and luxurious farmhouse in the beautiful English countryside.”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is the second time we have stayed at Oaks Barn Farm and we will most certainly return. The location is perfect for our needs and the accommodations in both units are very comfortable and well maintained. Wayne and Sue are the perfect hosts and are more than willing to share their knowledge and include you in the farm happenings! If you love the countryside, you will love this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to Review your Farm Stay, on your second visit And this time as part of your Wedding Trip to the UK, Glad you enjoyed both Properties and also the timing with the harvest being fully active around the farm. You were fortunate to see the Deer and also the Foxes so not sure what surprises we can come up with on your next visit but As you are now aware no day is the same at Oaks Barn Farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart P
1 review
“Peace itself”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Beautiful location. Lovely farm animals. Everything was superb; good beds, good shower, good furniture, etc.
Only the WiFi was not that strong, but who needs internet when there is so much to see. Too bad for us the host and hostess were on a honeymoon (lucky for them ^_^) so we couldn't do the air rifle shooting. This means we have to go back next year.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Hi Bart
Thank you for taking the time to review your Granary Farm Stay, too bad that you have to return to enjoy the Air Rifle Shooting but I think Getting Married more than compensates for your disappointment on this occasion and Air Rifle Shooting will be delivered on your next visit to the Farm the Cheese you gave us was lovely and much appreciated, so glad you enjoyed the quality of the accommodation and its centrality to local attractions.

Best Wishes Mr & Mrs Smith (Wayne & Sue)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing