We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“45 minute river cruise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bancroft Cruisers

Bancroft Cruisers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The best 45 minute sightseeing cruise in Stratford upon Avon!! We offer excellent sightseeing cruises and we're the only company to have a boat with a licensed bar, wonderful cream teas and a Live commentary by our own on-board guides. Our guides share the history - and the amusing unknown history - of Stratford & Shakespeare during your cruise. We're a family business that operates 365 days a year, river conditions permitting. We can also cater for private parties - birthdays, hen parties, anniversaries, Christmas, schools & coach groups - we do just about everything! Our cruises are popular with local residents and tourists alike.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“45 minute river cruise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Generally a worthwhile trip. The crew were reasonably informative with some humour thrown in. Maybe could have lasted a little longer as it seemed over in a flash but worth doing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank martind457_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    62
    11
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never happened”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We bought tickets via livingsocial to take my mother out for a cruise and cream tea. We phoned bancroft several weeks in advance of voucher expiry to book and got no answer so left voicemails. We heard nothing back. Voucher dates finally expired so called living social who said we should have called to complain earlier! Totally un helpful and very disapppointing. Won't use either Bancroft or Living Social again :-(

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona R, Owner at Bancroft Cruisers, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Hi John,

I'm so sorry you had problems getting through to us. We had horrendous problems with our phones and lost many calls. Fixed now!

May I invite you to join us for a free cruise with cream tea to make up for your disappointment!!? With a glass of fizz too :)

Best wishes,

Fiona
DIRECTOR
BANCROFT CRUISERS
01789 269669
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great value for money, cream tea was very enjoyable, the scenery stunning, the tour guide, Andrew was both informative and humorous, a very pleasant way to spend an hour and see some historic sights from the river, the boat was both clean and comfortable and enclosed for the days when the weather is not quite so nice but with windows that open fully for when the sun make and appearance, highly recommended

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very entertaining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Good value & very entertaining the guide was so funny & made every one feel welcome would highly recommend

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank louchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“very entertaining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Really enjoyed the boat trip, the guide was very funny and entertaining, the hour flew by, also had a pot of tea, the antics of the rowers on the river also were mentioned in the commentary. well worth the money,recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank roscwmbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bancroft Cruisers also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Bancroft Cruisers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing