We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cox's Yard escellent”
Review of Cox's Yard

Cox's Yard
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cox's Yard is a must-visit destination in Stratford-upon-Avon. Set around a converted timber yard on the River Avon waterfront it hosts a family pub, English Tea Shop and Continental Coffee Shop. You'll find it at the end of the Tramway Bridge between the Butterfly Farm and the Bancroft Gardens. Cox's Yard is world famous for its live entertainment which ranges from strolling players via nights of live standup comedy, travelling Theatre and Burlesque to heritage rock bands and top tribute acts. Artists display their wares at the height of summer. In short, there's always a reason to pop in.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cox's Yard escellent”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

On our tour of the English country side we stopped in Strafford. We came upeon the restaurant. Being on limited time and knew we needed to have lunch. We were told that lunch was not served until 11:00. We explained about our time frame. They were so gracious to prepare our meal. Which was great by the way. We made it back to our bus on time. Would highly recommend this restaurant

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank georgygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    19
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Music venue”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Scenic live music venue.Very picturesque setting Right by the river.
Downstairs is a pub, which serves food up to 9pm (though we didn't eat, so can't comment on the food). Pub has a good atmosphere. Live music is upstairs, which is good except for drinks being served in plastic glasses

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Baylehum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Small and intimate”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Good venue for live music. Been a few times this year with mixed results - some of the bands have been great but on one occasion it was sadly lacking in quality and atmosphere. Hope to get in another couple of visits this year. Please note that if you purchase draught drinks upstairs they will be served in plastic glasses - bizarrely enough you are allowed to bring your drinks from downstairs in 'grown-up' vessels so just hang on to these and decant as required. Another thing to bear in mind is that there can be as few as 4 stools available (the most we have ever seen is 7) so be prepared to stand for the entire evening! Don't let these minor irritations deter you from going, as overall it is an enjoyable place to listen to live music at a reasonable cost.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Addicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Live Bands”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My Wife and I have been four times over the last two years to see live bands. We stayed at local hotels to make a weekend break as we live a couple of hours away. The venue is well equiped for sound and light and you can get up close in there. Holds perhaps acouple of hundred people and the audience has been really appreciative and a mixed age group. The bar downstairs does bar meals early evening, and has an outside area which is great in the summer.
To sum up, great atmosphere, decent food and great music - but choose your night to suit your taste.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average food - great location though”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Great location just by the canal basin and wonderful to sit outside on a summer's evening. However, the food is pretty average and the coffee is dismal - like dish water! Could do better.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jwwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cox's Yard also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Cox's Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing