We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view from the street”

Shakespeare's Birthplace
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$33.31*
and up
Shakespeare's Birthplace: All 5 Houses Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Shakespeare’s Birthplace to walk in Shakespeare’s footsteps and explore the house where he was born and grew up. Hear tales of Shakespeare’s family life, enjoy live theatre on demand and get up close to rare artefacts from the Trust’s world class collections as you discover how the extraordinary William Shakespeare continues to shape our lives today.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent view from the street”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I didn't go inside as I had limited time in the area and arrived at night but the building was able to be viewed on one side from the street and you could be close up to it for photos. It is in a mixed street with modern and historic buildings. Worth a visit if you are in the area even just passing through.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank greendream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,773
    1,160
    394
    109
    51
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“For Shakespeare fans”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A well preserved and maintained house with period furniture, giving a real sense of the life and times of Shakespeare and his family. The guide, in period costume, was well informed with interesting facts, helpful with questions and obviously an enthusiast.
The walk through museum before the house visit is well laid out and new, not an awful lot to see there but the house is the attraction of course. The staff are very helpful, there is the inevitable shop but great if you want to buy souvenirs. Outside in the gardens, there are staff in costume offering little mini scenes from Shakespeare plays, a nice extra to experience.
Do buy the pass for all the properties, which are well worth going to and it ends up being cheaper.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth buying a pass”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I really liked this attraction but would recommend buying a pass for the 12 months because there were a lot of people (yes it was high summer) and I felt just a little claustrophobic.

The museum was exceptionally well presented

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HugeMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Classic houses & Beautiful gardens to visit in the summer”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Well worth making the effort to visit all 5 houses & the church where Shakespeare is buried - can all be done in a day, just! But we walked around the Stratford houses on the first day & drove to Anne Hathaways house & the farm the following day.

The houses are quite interesting but the best bit is listening to the resident actors perform well known excerpts from Shakespeare's plays on demand - funny & engaging.

The gardens were all so beautiful this time of year & easily accessible with a pushchair.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharpkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you love Shakespeare, do it”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We got a group rate so I'm not sure how expensive it is. And parts were really enjoyable- the birth house has some original flooring in it, you learn a little about the man himself. But beyond that, be careful of the advertising. Shakespeare's "new house" is an empty lot with his granddaughter's adjoining house nearby. It was fun, but it seemed a little shady about giving the actual truth to its customers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBT_Marketing, Marketing Officer at Shakespeare's Birthplace, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to Shakespeare's family homes.

I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed to find that the house at New Place no longer stands. It is certainly not our intention to mislead any of our visitors about the demolition of the house in 1759.

We recently began work on a large scale project to unlock the rich heritage of New Place. The project is still in its early stages, but through it we aim to re-imagine the site of Shakespeare's final home for a 21st Century audience.

This will be a very exciting time for New Place and I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit again in the future to see the work after it has been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shakespeare's Birthplace also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Shakespeare's Birthplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing