We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Tudor World

Tudor World
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This award winning museum is situated right in the heart of the historic town of Stratford upon Avon within a Grade 2* listed historic building. The attraction depicts various aspects of Tudor life in an exciting atmospheric setting. The museum also runs the Walking tour with William Shakespeare; museum ghost tours and is popular with school groups.
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We discovered by accident and were very glad to have done so. An interesting step back in time with carefully thought about information and objects to look at and listen to. Price of £5 per adult , concession £4 children £3.50 (I think!)

Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetF2301, Owner at Tudor World, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Naomi, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. People like yourselves make all the hard work worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"ghost tour"
in 116 reviews
"horrible histories"
in 10 reviews
"walking tour"
in 51 reviews
"ghost hunt"
in 12 reviews
"henry viii"
in 11 reviews
"ghost walk"
in 39 reviews
"haunted house"
in 8 reviews
"sheep street"
in 15 reviews
"old building"
in 20 reviews
"great fun"
in 35 reviews
"value for money"
in 35 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 19 reviews
"small museum"
in 8 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 13 reviews
"family ticket"
in 10 reviews
"other attractions"
in 11 reviews
"per adult"
in 10 reviews
Filter

474 - 478 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

This could be such a wonderful place! However when there is such an obvious spelling mistake in the gold lettered notice and now in a shiny poster, it makes me very impatient! (See and here instead of See and hear). I first reported it about a year ago! And yes it matters, especially when it is an educational establishment. I appreciate it is difficult with being an independent museum, however I have offered to proof-read for free! There are plenty of activities and interesting facts; a traditional feel, and friendly staff.

Thank SueJennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetF2301, Owner at Tudor World, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Sue, thank you for taking the time to review – one misspelling if we understand correctly? We are not an educational establishment as you incorrectly state and the laminated posters at the front of the building were updated a few weeks ago, so we are not sure which mistake you refer to exactly? In future, if you find a problem, it would be much appreciated if you could advise us privately, allowing us the chance to put any potential problem right. If we have indeed managed to let a minor spelling mistake slip through the net, then we must consider ourselves lucky considering the enormous amount of work and long hours it takes to run a museum, single-handed and on a tight budget.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very disappointed!!! Over priced, considering there's very little in there apart from huge amounts of reading to do, exhibits with pen marks on or being held together with tape and a poor quality video! It's got pieces of old cloth up against the windows and doors to hide the light (which didn't work) and the 1 member of staff that we saw couldn't even find the key to the till and was very disorganised! If you suffer from dyslexia it really isn't for you and if you were expecting a spooky experience then I wouldn't bother!

Thank Ruth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetF2301, Owner at Tudor World, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Ruth Y, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you do not enjoy your visit to our unique museum. We are small independent attraction, relying on the visitor fee to pay towards the historic building and maintain its history. We are sorry you did not enjoy the 15-minute documentary either, which took us quite a few years to save up for to get professionally produced! Unfortunately, we do have to make a small charge for entry, which goes towards the maintainance of the building, plus all the costs of running a business in Stratford and staff etc. Nevertheless we consciously keep our entry charges to a minimum. At only £5.50 for adults, you will not find another attraction in town that charges less and you will certainly find a lot that charge quite a bit more, even those that regularly receive substantial funding. Unfortunately, we are not even allowed to ask for volunteers. During the summer we also provide family friendly shows, included in the price to make the experience even better value for the visitor. We hope you will visit us again and join one of our tours of Stratford with William Shakespeare or evening ghost tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I visited Tudor World with my partner, and whilst my interest in the topic does not match hers, I found the exhibits, and museum, to be very interesting. The staff were very polite and, according to my partner at least, the information provided throughout the museum was in-depth, and at times rather surprising. Highly recommended to anyone with an interest in British history.

Thank AJDC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetF2301, Owner at Tudor World, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear AJDC92, thank you for your lovely review. It is much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

No at all what I expected from an Award Winning Attraction? Took my two children, (9 and 3) and my Inlaws and not one of us actually enjoyed it. Its a beautiful old building, one of the oldest in Stratford but it was so dark and cluttered inside you could have been in anywhere which was a shame, they need to use the building as part of the display and not just the venue hidden behind black cloths and tired looking displays.

The actual displays are very dated, lots of broken bits and really rather dull. There was too much information on tatty reading card which when you have young children is impossible to stand still long enough to read. There were a few hats to try on and on a few flaps to lift but not a lot else to keep the interest going and this is from a 9yr old who is mad on the Tudor era. I just found the whole museum extremely old fashioned with no umph about it. We walked round it in about 20 minutes and my son didn't want to stay for the children's show he was that disappointed with it.

This museum could be so much better with the wealth of history it has to work with but I think it caters more for the night time ghost tours as its set up to be dark and spooky but that doesn't really do anything for the daytime visitors other than make them want to leave quickly.

I won't be going back and couldn't recommend it.

2  Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetF2301, Owner at Tudor World, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Sharon O, thank you for your review. We understand that the museum is not to everyone’s taste, but we try to provide something a bit unique within our limited budget. Small museums like ourselves receive no help, grants or funding of any kind are of course more open to ciriticsm than that of our large well funded counterparts! However, we maintain the historic building and its history by only charging a nominal fee which includes a free quiz for children (with a sweet prize) and Tudor person cards to the adults. In addition, we provide shows during peak times, at no extra charge, offering even more value to family visits. We are sorry you did not feel you could return to enjoy those, even though it was included. You may be interested to know, that one of owners has just won a ‘heroine of Stratford’ award for her contribution towards the community, inspiring thousands of school children by making history fun and enhancing the visitors experience in Stratford by bringing the character of William Shakespeare to life. She has worked tirelessly for nearly 7 years to bring the museum alive, and continuously updating the exhibits and experience, whilst fighting cancer at the same time. We are very proud of her and are were delighted that she received some recognition for all the years of hard work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tudor World also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Tudor World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing