We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Historical fun

A good way to spend an hour in Stratford on Avon exploring Tudor history. Lots of interesting... read more

Reviewed 4 November 2020
888SteveD
,
Frome, United Kingdom
via mobile
Tudor'tastic

My 10 year old is a 'horrible histories' fan and subsequently had a fun time here. Kept her engaged... read more

Reviewed 30 October 2020
Mintycakereviews
Read all 1,025 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Stratford-upon-Avon
from US$11.34
More Info
from US$21.26
More Info
from US$30.51
More Info
Reviews (1,025)
Filter reviews
1,025 results
Traveller rating
512
317
111
35
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
512
317
111
35
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ghost tour horrible histories ghost hunt henry viii walking tour old building value for money interesting facts other attractions visiting stratford museum tudor kingsley spooky information exhibits shakespeare
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 1,025 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We came across Tudor World when walking up Sheep Street and decided to have a look in after reading the FAQs outside (frequently annoying questions !!) So funny, and glad we did. It was interesting, amusing and the history of the house itself was fascinating too. We were in about an hour and can recommend it for adults and children alike.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Okay, interesting for the young kids on a rainy day but little historical accuracy. Sit in the stocks or pose with manequin period costume for fun photos, but realistic no. The grim reaper and other gostly bits actually a bit scary for youngsters. The building is interesting enough and all is very hands on, lie on a straw mattress or practice with quill pen. But an essential, no not really,

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Nightowl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetF2301, Manager at Tudor World, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Nighthowl, thank you for your review. The secret life of the Tudors depicts selected aspects of Tudor life from the rich to the poor (the throne room of Henry VIII to a poor person's thatched cottage). However, there is no grim reaper? Perhaps you mean the plague doctor, which is based on historical records? We would welcome an email from you to advise which bits you found inaccurate so that we may improve the experience?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We had planned to join the walking tour which started from the Swan fountain next to the RSC, but we ended up going with the walking tour organised by Tudor World given by Shakespeare himself! Obviously an actor dressed as the Bard! We are so glad we did!
The walking tour was most informative & entertaining. Shakespeare brought his life story alive with humour & amusing anecdotes. It was a very educational & enjoyable 90mins, despite the chilly & wet afternoon walking around the various Shakespeare sites. Our ticket was £4.50 each from the tourist information office, compared to £5.00 from Tudor World.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank lamchint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

A small little house who gives huge insight into how people lived during Tudor's time. If you can afford the tour guide, even better. The stories and the visual effects of the rooms ''hunted'' me after the visit. Great place to bring the kids too...they will appreciate their current life thereafter and will end up eating their veggies too. Lots of interesting facts on the walls.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank MAndersson-1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

A nice little museum, not enormous and the exhibits are perhaps dated, but this is a private museum not a mass funded "charity" one, and frankly the building itself and the enthusiasm of the tour guides is worth more than all that. A credit to the town, and a wonderful opportunity for visitors to see a taste of old Stratford.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Winelover1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews