We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great Shakespearian play” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Shakespeare Theatre

The Royal Shakespeare Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.87*
and up
City Sightseeing Stratford-upon-Avon Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The RSC's recently transformed theatres in Stratford-upon-Avon re-opened in November 2010. The new building include two theatres, the Royal Shakespeare Theatre and the Swan Theatre, both using a thrust stage. Tickets for RSC performances are available to purchase in advance on the RSC website. Visitors can also experience Theatre Tours, take a trip up the Tower for fantastic views of Stratford-upon-Avon and enjoy free exhibitions. You can also book a table for lunch or dinner in the Rooftop Restaurant and Bar or enjoy a light bite in the Riverside Cafe. There is free public Wi Fi throughout the building.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Another great Shakespearian play”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Great seats in the stalls. Very cosy and intimate. Bit of audience participation going on while we waited for the play to start.
Well acted and amusing story of The Two Gentlemen of Verona.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MelandVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,928
    418
    98
    31
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sandy, utah
Level Contributor
243 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Two Gentlemen of Verona was excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Loved how they interacted with the audience and were excellent performers. Great production and glad we went.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank wellsfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A breathtaking performance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We decided at the last minute to go to a play. We picked "The Rape of Lucrece a narrative Shakespearian poem. It was performed by Camile O'Sullivan accompanied by pianist Feargel Murray. The performance was simply stunning and extremely moving. Camile gives everything to the performance. I have continued to rave about it. If only I saw this when I was at High School-I would definitely have been more into Shakespeare. To top the performance at the end Camile, Feargel and Elizabeth Feestone (Director) spend 45 minutes in a Q & A session with the audience. A real bonus. A memorable night.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stylezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great resource, gift shop stunning.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We visited here on our trip to Stratford. Although we didn't see a play (it was morning) the café facilities were brilliant and there was an exhibition upstairs which was very interesting. The gift shop is outstanding and contains resources for actors, directors, teachers, English lit students and your general Shakespeare enthusiast. A few quid was spent in here on some resources we hadn't encountered elsewhere.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fuzzbot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Its The Royal Shakespeare Theatre....what more of a title does it need?!?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Ok so visiting Stratford Upon Avon and not visiting The Royal Shakespeare Theatre is like visiting Paris and walking around with your eyes closed so you don't see the Eiffel Tower!!!

If you visit SAU then you must visit the RST if you can go see a play. I am not a Shakespeare lover but I took my wife for our anniversary and I really enjoyed the production. The RST also has numerous costumes to view and a nice cafe situated in a beautiful location. I can't recommend a visit there more strongly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 3PsInAPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Shakespeare Theatre also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Royal Shakespeare Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing