We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Second visit and just as good"”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of RIVERVIEW LODGE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gareth P
2 reviews
“"Second visit and just as good"”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Four years between bookings! Why did we wait so long? Irene was great helping us to sort out a booking when the required dates were not available. We were not disappointed, RiverView looked as good as it did four years ago. A lovely quiet location overlooking the river that is busy with rowers and boaters of all kinds,
Central location means plenty of places of interest or you can just sit on the deck and watch the world go by.
It wont be four years before our next visit.
P.S. Wine and Cake on arrival...............

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home feeling..
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind review as you know we aim to please and glad your return visit was just as memorable
Don't wait to long for next visit
See you soon
Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This is an amazing venue that was home from home. Met by the owners who were so friendly and showed us how everything worked and the decorations that were put up made it feel even more like home and a family Christmas.

Thank you for a brilliant stay and luckily the river levels stayed down!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The river views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2016
Thank you both for your kind comments as so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Riverview Lodge
Much appreciated and I do hope we will see you in the near future
Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki E
Ripponden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gorgeous lodge, beautiful setting and everything you need”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Riverview Lodge is exactly as its described....beautifully kept, everything you need to have a home from home and well its extremely comfortable.
The name says it all as you are literally overlooking the river and its extremely tranquil every morning and evening, sitting on the veranda enjoying a glass or two!.
There is a lovely riverboat that takes you into Stratford that's about 5 mins away from the lodge, this is a fab way to get about without having to drive and you can enjoy the lovely setting around. Stratford itself is a beauitful place to visit and staying at the lodge enables you to have a fabulous central point. I would recommend staying at this lodge and would definitely come back and stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: to be honest everything!
Liked least: nothing that we didnt like
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
thank you for your welcome comments about our beautiful lodge
Look forward to seeing you all in the near future
Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport...
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Awesome stay”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My family of 9 adults stayed in this lodge and a neighboring lodge, which we booked through Irene Thompson. Our experience was terrific - from start to finish. Lodge is clean, has plenty of amenities, and felt very safe. Location is awesome. Wifi can be a bit spotty, due to the location on the river, but unless you are planning a working vacation, it shouldn't be a problem. Irene was incredibly responsive. Every time I emailed her, while planning the trip from 7 time zones away, she responded almost immediately.
Suzanne

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
Many thanks it was lovely to meet you all and thank you for your kind comments it makes it all worthwhile meeting lots of kind people
Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyCoup...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simply WOW”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Lodge for two nights and I have to admit, it is the best lodge we have stayed in. Everything was PERFECT. Irene and John were there to great us at the lodge with cakes in the fridge for the kids. The lodge does actually look like the pictures. Actually, the lodge has to be seen in real life as it is better than the pictures.

The lodge was extremely clean and it was well stocked with all cooking appliances, herbs, tea etc. The outdoor area is perfect to sit and enjoy a drink and see the world pass by. There is also a electric bbq, which we didn't use though. It is about 10 - 12 minutes walk to the local Spar and the walk take you past the riverside club house from where you can take the boat ferry into town. There is also Wi-Fi in the lodge which supports two users at a time. It was used by the kids and it did drop at times, but, it did not bother us because we were at the lodge for a break and to get away from all the hectic demands of life and be close to nature.

Over all, I have got no complaints and I would HIGHLY recommend the lodge to any one who is looking for a break. Everything from booking the lodge to the communication on pre arrival at the lodge was excellent. We shall be back again. Thank you for making our holiday memorable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of the lodge
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review it is much appreciated and it does help when guests need to know how the lodge is presented. It does look better than in photos as you cannot explain to guests how beautiful it is. It is thanks to guests like yourself that can share this.
Hope to see you all soon and Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smoggy123
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Wonderful lodge, will be back for sure!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Myself, husband and two children stayed here for one week in August 2014.

The lodge is situated on Avon Caravan park, which is a quiet caravan park about one mile from the centre of Stratford, a nice leisurely walk away.

On arriving at the lodge we were met by Irene and we were delighted to find that it looked just as lovely in the flesh as it did on the photographs. You really couldn't wish for a better view.

Irene obviously has a very good eye for colour and style as the decor was lovely - warm and stylish but at the same time very homely. We loved all her little 'nick nacks' and were still discovering new things on our last morning! The ambience on an evening is perfect, lots of wall lights and table lamps inside, as well as various solar lamps and decking lights outside.

The lodge was extremely clean, Irene obviously has very thorough cleaners!

The kitchen is very well equipped, providing everything you need to cater for a family of six, whether it be a barbecue on the patio or a full home cooked meal. There is a large american style fridge/freezer which has an ice making facility (and electronic child lock should you need it!) There is also a washer dryer which was extremely handy.

A large SMART 3DTV sits above the fireplace, with Bose surround sound system, and the owners have a plentiful supply of DVDs for all the family to enjoy - not to mention a host of books and games. We found the lodge lovely and warm with the sun streaming in, and only one evening did we switch the fire on after a cold evening.

Bedroom One - Great sized room with an extremely comfortable king sized bed, and full wall to wall wardrobe. TV on the wall, hairdryer provided so no need to pack one. Large en-suite bathroom with large corner 'Rain Head' shower (suitable for disabled) Plenty of good quality thick towels provided, as well as two dressing gowns (very handy, thank you!) The water is heated by a combi boiler so there is always plenty of hot water for all the family.

Bedroom Two - Standard sized double room again with very comfortable bed, tv on the wall and large wardrobe. The decor in both rooms is beautiful. Bedroom 2 had the best Wi-Fi reception.

Family bathroom - modern, warm and stylish with an overbath shower and plenty of storage space one again.

The outside decking overlooks the River Avon, and is well furnished with plenty of wicker chairs (cushions inside if you need them) table, dining table, gas barbecue and patio heater. The lodge must be south facing as you are greeted with the sun streaming through the windows on a morning ( great to sit on the decking with a cuppa first thing and watch the geese and ducks fly onto the river) and on an evening you can still enjoy the sun with a glass of wine (writing this I wish I was back there now!)

There is a little path which takes you to a footbridge over the river to another caravan park, which is where you will find the new clubhouse (open to both sites) This is a stunning looking structure made of glass and wood on stilts, with great views over the river.It has a restaurant, bar and entertainment lounge, and a playpark. We had a wander round but didn't eat here although the menu seemed reasonable.
If you carry on through the caravan park you come to Tiddington village, which has a lovely Indian, a chinese and a small Spar store. Apparently there is a large Tesco in Stratford but we didn't come across it.

You have fishing rights in front of the lodge, we spent a couple of afternoons fishing ( a new thing for my children, and nice to see them doing something that didn't involve a 'gadget'!
There is a River Taxi, a small covered motor boat (seats 7 plus the driver) that takes you into the centre of Stratford. Catch this just over the bridge 2 mins walk from the lodge - £2 one way for adults, £1 for children) It takes about 20 mins, but it's a lovely ride, and you get a sneak peak at the stunning houses with huge gardens ( Millionaire's Row!) that back onto the river.

One of the reasons I love this lodge SO much is how peaceful it is. You literally do not hear a peep from other lodges, and we all slept so well.

My only one little suggestion to the owners would be to leave one of the larger kitchen cupboards free to store your own food. There IS two sliding compartments that were half empty, but I would have liked a bigger cupboard especially for cereal boxes etc that would be easier to access. I brought quite a bit of our own food for a week and as the kitchen is SO well equipped I struggled to store it!

We absolutely love this gem of a place, and to call it a 'lodge' doesn't seem to do it justice. I would quite happily live here! I know there are not many reviews on Trip Advisor but you only have to read through the numerous visitor books that Irene has to see just how many satisfied people have stayed here and returned time after time. In fact I think the lack of reviews must be because everyone is trying to keep it a secret!

Irene and John, thank you, we will definitely be back.

* The Crown Inn, Tiddington - ate here once but weren't impressed. The food was mediocre at best, and not worth what we paid.

* Warwick Castle - Expensive entrance fee, £96 for family of 4 and £6 extra to park. We enjoyed it, but more a 'half day' experience than a whole day.

Take a drive around the Cotswolds, Bourton on the Water is a stunning village with a river running through it, Model Village, Motor Museum (home of Brum!) and lots of gorgeous tea rooms/cafes and shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views, gorgeous decor
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments about Riverview Lodge it is much appreciated. I am so glad you all had a super time, you are welcome anytime
The Lodge is special to us aswell as our many clients. Children love all the outdoor space especially the river.
I hope to see you all in the near future and once again thank you for your custom.
Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare K
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quiet setting.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Hidden from view so turning was very difficult to spot and blind turn when pulling out onto main road. Shower not suitable for elderly guests. The picnic table was out front and not very private. Wifi only worked in one corner of the main upstairs bedroom. But it was free!
Good points were that the kitchen was very well stocked and there were plenty of chairs in the dining area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
Sorry I have checked Riverview Diary for July and it appears you were not a guest at Riverview Lodge
Our large walk in shower is perfect for elderly guests and we do not have a picnic table as our high spec furniture is on our large decked area
Would be helpful if you could confirm date as I think you may have stayed at a different lodge as I cannot find your name
Please let me know as then your review can be sent to correct owner
Thank you
Irene Thompson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing