We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway cottage”
Luxury Private Hot Tub just for your group seats 4 in indivual chairs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury Private Hot Tub just for your group seats 4 in indivual chairs
Quaint Cottage in 16th Century Village, with pubs/restuarants, Stratford upon Avon & Warwick Towns Tradtional Beamed Features, Inglenook Fire Place Log Burning Stove & Great Central Heating System
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Luxury Private Hot Tub just for your group seats 4 in indivual chairs
Quaint Cottage in 16th Century Village, with pubs/restuarants, Stratford upon Avon & Warwick Towns
Tradtional Beamed Features, Inglenook Fire Place Log Burning Stove & Great Central Heating System
Modern Hand Crafted Kitchen, fully equipped
Sleeps 6 guests (1 x double and 4 singles)
Lounge with 2 Sofats
Private Cottage Patio Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicola B
1 review
“Perfect getaway cottage”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed at measure cottage for three nights. Great cottage in a brilliant location. Took our two boys (3&6) and visited Warwick castle, Cadbury world and Drayton Manor, all within short drives of the cottage. Also loads of country parks to visit in the area. The boys loved the hot tub, really easy to use as you don't even need to heat it up ! Would really recommend this cottage for a young family on a break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve c
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Measure Cottage”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

On arrival Measure Cottage has its own parking space outside front door.The kitchen is equipped with everything you will need.It has a downstairs toilet and a bathroom upstairs, again equipped with toilet rolls and towels. All the bedding was supplied and the beds were very comfortable. The lounge had a lovely big fire place with log burner, logs,fire lighters, matches all there. Warmed the room in no time. The garden was secluded and had a hot tub which was very relaxing, easy to use. You get the noise of traffic passing by,not a problem.Only 6 miles from Stratford upon Avon, we went racing in Leicester only an hour away. Great base, wonderful Cottage. Will visit again for sure.
Big thanks to Antonia, made booking process very easy. All in all a wonderful 4 day break. You will love it.

Stephen

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yossiab
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice cottage”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time. The Cottage was clean, well equipped and only ten minutes from Stratford.
The kitchen was well stocked.
The only problem was the shower door sealing that was out of place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl W
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely cottage with a few minor snags”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A great little cottage tucked away in a very quaint village but within a stone's throw of Henley in Arden (which was a surprisingly good town) and Stratford.

The cottage is well laid out, full of character and plenty big enough for 6 guests (though the second bedroom is a bit of a squeeze so think carefully if it's for 6 adults). There is a dishwasher and tags which is a great time saver, and plenty of crockery and glasses... Even champagne flutes. It is also pleasantly decorated and quite well equipped otherwise. The hot tub is excellent and I think other reviewers have been unfair: of course it will smell of chlorine, it has to be kept clean. The instructions they send also state you shouldn't use it if you have sensitive skin or a skin condition: this is surely common sense.

The other instructions we got from the agent were also very comprehensive and useful, and although We didn't use it there was a lot of info on things to do and places to eat which is nice. We all agreed overall it was competitively priced and we would use the company/ visit the same cottage again in a heartbeat.

Bear in mind that this is not luxury accomodation and so there were a few things we thought could be better, but they were all fairly minor and didn't really affect our overall enjoyment. They were-

Quite a few bulbs were blown
All clocks had stopped
There weren't enough forks for 6
All of the dining chairs are in need of replacing (broken seats/backs/wobbly legs) but are still useable
The garden needs a good weeding
We couldn't get the heating to work/ there were no logs or a way of lighting the fire (fortunately these latter 2 weren't a big deal because we had warm weather).

We did leave a note for the owners about most of these problems so hopefully they will address them for future users. As we were only there 2 nights we didn't think it necessary to call them whilst we stayed.

I also see from previous reviews there were negative comments on the shower- this seems to have been fixed as we found it quite good.

Overall a great place to stay in an excellent location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry G
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Weekend in Warwickshire”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Measure cottage last weekend with my girlfriend as a last minute get away.
Lovely cottage with ample space and a wonderful hot tub, the cottage is lovely inside and furnished to a high standard making our weekend extremely enjoyable.

The cottage is in a lovely, quaint village and we spent the evening in Henley-in-Arden enjoying dinner at Matricardi's restaurant, witch was also very enjoyable.

Overall wonderful weekend, excellent accommodation and reasonably priced. We will be booking the same stay again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot Tub and Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not as described in a number of areas.”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Booked this cottage as group of 6 female friends -we are all professionals in our 50's. Stayed for a 2 night weekend.
Positives - clean, heating very warm, hot tub nice and hot.
Negatives - 1 Oil boiler had been serviced just before visit and oil had been spilt on the wooden floor in boiler cupboard. The whole cottage was pervaded by an extremely strong smell of oil -like car diesel - all weekend which meant we had to have ALL doors and windows open when in the cottage and heating on full blast. Shutting them at night to sleep meant that the smell built up and gave us headache and nausea. We reported it on the phone 3 times to Antonia on the Saturday who repeatedly said there was nothing she could do and informed us the engineers had said it was not dangerous. Reported it again on the Sunday morning before we left at lunchtime and informed her that we did not consider the cottage fit to rent out the following week. Received an email after our departure saying 'the smell was hardly noticeable' and had cleared within a day. We were given an account of the upset and disappointment of the subsequent renters having had their holiday cancelled. Note - the smell had eased only because we had sat with the doors and windows open again ALL Sunday morning so when Antonia went in it would not have had time to build up again. We did not take kindly to the implication we were to blame for the upset of the subsequent cancelled rental -that is Antonia's 'call'. We certainly did not take kindly to the 'offer' of 50% off a future booking or £100 refund on the condition we did not write a negative review. We do not think that was appropriate.
Other negative points that we would have mentioned anyway are -
2 the photo of the hot tub is not the hot tub at this cottage -the hot tub is in the back garden, placed on the round patio shown in one of the other photos. There is no step in/out, there is nothing to empty out some water when it rises -despite urgent instructions re this. we had to use the mop bucket. the water sloshes onto the flower beds and gets muddy.
3 The cottage is not really suitable for 6 as described. The photo of the single bed in the bedroom is inaccurate -there are 3 beds in that room and to fit them in, the head of one is placed where the wardrobe is shown, the wardrobe moved across and a third bed is in the other window space. There is no room to move around the beds, the door only opens to 45 degrees before it is obstructed by the middle bed meaning you have to edge around it and there is no clothes or bags storage for the occupants.
4 there is only seating in the lounge for 5 on the settees. Luckily we had taken a floor cushion due to a back problem and 1 of us always had to sit/lay on the floor.
5 whilst we were there 2 light bulbs blew, tripping the fuse box and concerning us as the switches sparked. To rectify the fuse switch it is necessary to climb on a kitchen chair and reach up above the cooker. Not safe and we also questioned why bulbs kept blowing, especially as when we arrived Antonia was busily checking that all bulbs were working.
6 Most of the beds were not proper divans or beds with a proper frame/mattress. some were the sort you pull out from under another and were too soft for adults. Only 1 single was a more supportive one and the single one in the double room appeared a short bed. Maybe fine for a family with several young children but as this cottage is promoted for Hen weekends, not suitable for adults.
7 As per other reviews -the shower is appalling and needs replacing. It dribbles and is not suitable for a group of people. It needs a pumped shower fitting.
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub
Liked least: smell of oil
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky D
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage let down by the hot tub...”
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Myself and 4 friends stayed at Measure Cottage for a weekend away towards the end of January.

Pros: The cottage itself is presentable and well-equipped, with just enough room to seat 5 comfortably in the living room. It wasn't cold enough to use the log burner but it looked great!

Cons:
- The hot tub smells very very strongly of chlorine as soon as you open the lid. Initially we ignored this, but three of our party had a skin rash when we got out of the hot tub, and the next morning we discovered our swimming costumes had completely changed colour. Two days later our skin was flaky... it was clear there is way too much chlorine in the tub. It is not acceptable for the owner to send an email disclaiming responsibility for 'discoloured swimsuits'... the balance of chlorine is clearly wrong and this needs addressing.

- The shower is terrible, very low water pressure and unreliable temperature which proved impossible to adjust. It is very awkward to get into as the shower screen does not move and the shower itself is tucked under a sloping ceiling. Would be very challenging for a tall person!

Otherwise we had an enjoyable trip and the location and surroundings are great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosiness
Liked least: The hot tub... far too much chlorine
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing