We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Wilmslow to Wilmcote”
Review of The Mary Arden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mary Arden Inn
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“From Wilmslow to Wilmcote”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My fiancé and I visited the Mary Arden Inn for one night whilst we hosted a chocolate party locally.
We were looking for somewhere reasonably priced with a personality which this certainly was.
We were immediately struck by the warm atmosphere and the friendliness of the staff, it was like staying in someone's home which of course we were. We were made to feel very welcome from the offset. The room was very clean and the bed was comfy, what more could we ask for!
The food looked fantastic but we had to dash to the chocolate party, our main concern was will the bar still be open when we get back! We were assured it would be which was great.
We returned to the bar after our busy evening and we had a great time with regulars and the staff who ran the place. It was very interesting to hear all the history of the place first hand. The personal touch was just what we like and we felt very privileged to be treated so well by such lovely people. It's the people who make a place/a business like this and they really couldn't do enough for us.
The breakfast was superb and no wonder as we had learned about their passion for food the night before. We can't wait for our next visit to the Mary Arden Inn, hopefully next time we won't be so busy and we can make the most of the beautiful area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    73
    34
    23
    32
See reviews for
29
137
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

It's mine and my partners second time at the Hotel love it so much. The Managers are fantastic people. As others say said go as guest and leave as friends, Friendly lovely place will deff go back. Great food and great people. Cant wait to go again.

Room Tip: Great rooms great people. The best Managers ever. Close to everything. Great food
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The Mary Arden Inn is a big surprise--in a good way. Though it's not in the heart of Stratford-Upon-Avon, it's not far away. The rooms are comfortable (in an old-fashioned way), each named for a Shakespearean play. There's a restaurant and pub on premises, and if you're too late for dinner, they'll call for local take-out food.

The best part is the staff. They're so friendly. If you engage them in conversation, you'll quickly feel like a friend.

Breakfast is included, and it's quite good, made to order.

Oh, and did I mention--the hotel is reputed to be haunted! If you're adventurous and ready for something different, check out the Mary Arden.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Doctor_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

we have just returned from this inn , and had a great weekend, staff were great, food was tasty,
the room we had was clean spacious, comfy & warm. the locals in the bar were friendly, all in all great vfm, i have stayed in some of the so called better hotels in stratford before this place knocks them dead. just five minutes in a taxi to stratford £10 one way.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This Inn is located directly opposite Mary Arden's house and in a lovely village location only 10 mins from Stratford. The decor throughout is slightly dated and in need of an upgrade but very clean. We stayed in a room above the bar which was very noisy but I guess what you'd expect from an Inn which was also a pub. The breakfast was lovely and the staff were really nice and helpful. We ate in the bar one night and the food (traditional pub grub) was really good. For the price, we would definitely consider returning but perhaps request a different room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbiz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codsall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stayed for a Night on Saturday 23/03/13 with my partner. Staff extremely friendly at all times. Stopped for dinner on the evening and the meal was fantastic - everything fresh, even the sauce to accompany the steaks was freshly made. Puddings and started also great. Definitely no pre-packaged or microwave food here. Breakfast also fantastic with loads of choice. It is also extremely well situated for visits to Stratford Upon Avaon - being either a 10 minute drive max, or you can get on the train with the station only a 5 minute walk from the Inn. Definitely highly recommended indeed.

Room Tip: We had a four poster room which was extremely good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

we stayed here on sat 16/3/13 we stayed in romeo n juliet suite very beautiful room very spacious too also jaccuzi bath in this particular room weve stayed 3 times now and we love it here friendly managers hotel clean and comfortable breakfast excellent pub downstairs cosy.n friendly food good too staff very helpfull and are on hand to help you with watever you need i love it here too as its in the heart of the little wilcote village no street lights which makes it all that more romantic looking out from bedroom windows into pitch black night when your all cosied up in this lovely olde worlde pub cant think of anywhere else id want to be il definatley be going back fantastic hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
811 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,043 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#19 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,394 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arden Park Guest House
Arden Park Guest House
#34 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
275 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
#28 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mary Arden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mary Arden Inn

Property: The Mary Arden Inn
Address: The Green | (Off A3400), Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9XJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mary Arden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Mary Arden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mary Arden Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing