We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend an afternoon”
Review of Mary Arden's Farm

Mary Arden's Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
US$34.00*
and up
Shakespeare's Birthplace: All 5 Houses Ticket
More Info
US$18.52*
and up
City Sightseeing Stratford-upon-Avon Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
US$24.47*
and up
Shakespeare's Birthplace: 'Any Three Houses' Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mary Arden's Farm was the childhood home of Shakespeare's mother. Today you can experience all the sights, sounds and smells of a working Tudor farm, just as it would have been when Shakespeare was a boy. Watch "Tudors" go about their daily routine, see rare breed animals and explore nature trails. There are daily falconry displays and archery at weekends and in school holidays. There is a playground for children from 2 upwards, a picnic area and a cafe. Mary Arden's Farm is a working farm that keeps pace with the season so there is always something new to see and do.The Farm is open seasonally from Easter to the end of October half-term.The Farm is 3 miles from the centre of Stratford-upon-Avon in the village of Wilmcote. There are buses and trains to Wilmcote. The train journey takes 5 minutes and the Farm is a short walk from Wilmcote rail station. It is also a pleasant walk along the canal from the centre of Stratford.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an afternoon”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Favourite of the 'Shakespeare Houses'. The demonstrations and interaction with the staff make a visit something more than looking at a few old bits of furniture. We particularly liked the demo of sword play and the chance to ask questions about life for farm workers,

After looking around the farmhouse and seeing a couple of demonstrations you can enjoy a walk around the farm fields and see rare breeds (got caught out petting a sheep like the townie I am).

We went as a couple but would be great for a family day out too

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kaygee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    291
    64
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Terrific tudors!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I spent a relaxing half day at the farm. The costumed demonstrators were superb, bringing a Tudor meal to life and pitching their presentations just right, whether it was for a class of schoolchildren or the general public. The birds of prey handlers were equally impressive, and again both demonstrators took very different and entertaining approaches. The place is wonderful, and the staff bring it to life. The only tiny grumble is the catering, which appears to be the same company across the five Shakespeare houses, which was vastly overpriced. All in all, a lovely visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Naughty but nice”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Well worth a visit lots to do and see, couple of points against them though are
1). There are no family parking zones,. And it is a real problem getting children out of the car when you can only open the door part way , I have mentioned this to them on a number of occasions but nothing has been done, my advice if your taking the kids park over the lines.
2). The picnic tables are covered in bird poo, it would not take long for a staff member to go round and wash them down every so often, we spread our picnic blanket on them first.
Other than that go and see for yourself it is a great day out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We didn't enjoy this a much as the other houses, if we had come to this house 1st, we would not have learnt anything about Shakespeare or his lifestyle. The bird display was the best part of this visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthAfrican2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBT_Marketing, Marketing Officer at Mary Arden's Farm, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to Mary Arden's Farm. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed a falconry display, but sorry to hear that your visit didn't fully meet your expectations overall.

The Shakespeare Birthplace Trust aims to promote the enjoyment and understanding not only of Shakespeare's own work and life, but also of the times during which he lived.

Since Shakespeare's grandparents would have lived at Mary Arden's Farm while he was a child, we focus on what life would have been like on a working farm at that time. The daily tasks and traditional skills that visitors can see our Tudors performing would have been very familiar to the young William, so in this way we hope to provide visitors with a wider context for Shakespeare's own life.

I hope that you might have the opportunity to visit the farm again while your 12 month pass is valid, to chat to our lovely and knowledgeable guides and explore even more of what the farm has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great for the kids”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is part of the Shakespeare trust which control a few different sites. This site is first class for education and entertainment. The cost of entry, for a day visitor, is not cheap but for someone local the ticket allows unlimited entry for the year so is excellent value. The facilities are mostly outdoor so best on a fine day. Everyone working on the site is helpful and friendly and keen to engage with visitors. For the children there are play areas, adventure trails, farm animals and Tudor themed displays. For the grown ups there is also history and a nice cup of coffee.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank NTFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mary Arden's Farm also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Mary Arden's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing