We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing farm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mary Arden's Farm

Mary Arden's Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
US$33.69*
and up
Shakespeare's Birthplace: All 5 Houses Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mary Arden's Farm was the childhood home of Shakespeare's mother. Today you can experience all the sights, sounds and smells of a working Tudor farm, just as it would have been when Shakespeare was a boy. Watch "Tudors" go about their daily routine, see rare breed animals and explore nature trails. There are daily falconry displays and archery at weekends and in school holidays. There is a playground for children from 2 upwards, a picnic area and a cafe. Mary Arden's Farm is a working farm that keeps pace with the season so there is always something new to see and do.The Farm is open seasonally from Easter to the end of October half-term.The Farm is 3 miles from the centre of Stratford-upon-Avon in the village of Wilmcote. There are buses and trains to Wilmcote. The train journey takes 5 minutes and the Farm is a short walk from Wilmcote rail station. It is also a pleasant walk along the canal from the centre of Stratford.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
“An amazing farm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had never heard of it before but had passed the sign on Stratford road a few times so thought I would check it out. Really glad I did, we had a fantastic time. Falconry show was amazing and they may not have birds as big as Warwick Castles but the information given and character performance was far better, learnt show much new information in the show and did an experience sitting on the floor and the owl flew over which is worth volunteering for, don't be scared its much more fun when you join in with the shows. The blacksmith was great and I had a long chat with him being a smithy myself and the site is yet to utilize him to his full ability as there is so much he could do and is able to do if allowed to by the site and given a slightly more equipped working room to the standard that would have been there historically.

The sword demo was really good as well and I am so glad that they are teaching historical fencing and showing the difference to some of the naff you see in the old or even modern movies some times. A very informative show and again very interactive with the audience, which I must admit that day seemed the audience where all very shy and not as engaging back with answers but the performers still did very well. They did ask at the end if there is any improvements that could be made and I would request that they both equip themselves with a fencing mask and do a demo at full pace with a chest protector on. They did do a demo but it was at about 70 percent speed and with a very short sequence. Perhaps a full speed demo in safety gear which goes through one cut, a counter, a counter again and then a weapon bind and unarmed strike to show the full versatility of the combat of that time.

The site is very well kept, no litter was seen all day by myself which is pretty impressive. The food is good and not too expensive but I think the soft drinks are over priced £3.75 for 500ml of coke is quite expensive.

The animals are all really nice and they sit to be stroked and petted with good tolerance. It really does look like the Tudor Farm Tv show at lots of parts not being ruined by too many modern things which is really great. I can see this place getting better and better and I will be back with friends especially as your ticket gets you back in again.

Thanks for the great day :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mpffpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakespeareBT, Houses Manager at Mary Arden's Farm, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of your visit to Mary Arden's Farm.

We're always keen to hear feedback from our visitors, and I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much. We'll look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    279
    59
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great fun for all the family. Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

One can watch and take part in all sorts of activities from the tudor period and the presenters are all great fun. They obviously enjoy what they do!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was the home and farm of Shakespeare's mother. It is extremely well presented and portrayed as a real Tudor working farm with people dressed in Tudor clothing and re-enacting life as it might have been in those times. There is a lot to entertain children of all ages and with various activities taking place throughout the day, such a falconry display, a great place to while away an hour or two.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good reconstruction of working farm.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a good place for children and families to visit, as there are demonstrations and exhibitions, as well as live animals which were authentic to Shakespeare's time.
The house and grounds are very interesting and the staff are knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We loved the old feel of the rooms in the house.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience, but perhaps take a picnic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We arrived very early at the farm, and so had the pleasure of seeing the very friendly "Smithy" stating his work for the day. A very informative and friendly experience, of which more later!. We had a pleasant stroll around the farm, including the play area, which was clean, and great for my 9 year old. The Birds of Prey display is absolutely fantastic. Jan is a natural showman, and provides a huge amount of information, in a very funny and engaging manner. The birds are of course, beautiful, and Jan has an obvious affection for them, and a joy in showing them off. Then to the Tudor lunch, which is a brilliant display of Tudor life. It is fascinating to see Tudor life brought so vividly to life, and again, the actors/volunteers are incredibly informative, and very engaging.
If there is a slight bugbear, it is that the cafe appears to be very understaffed. We had only a light lunch, but had to wait 40 minutes for 3 sandwiches which was very frustrating, and perhaps this is the major aspect of the farm that needs addressing as all other aspects are hugely enjoyable. Perhaps the best option is to take a picnic as there are plenty of nice areas to have a pleasant lunch.
The final bonus however, was that when we tried to buy one of the bottle openers being made by the Smithy, we actually got the one we watched him make. Wonderful!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge-Valentino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mary Arden's Farm also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Mary Arden's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing