We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arden Park Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great B and B”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The owners were great hosts, very welcoming and accommodating. The place was clean and nice, Breakfast was good. Free parking, Great location if you are arriving by train, just a short walk. Very close to all tourist sites and the owner is ready to give you helpful tips on how to get around town. We found a nice pub dating back to the 1500's we enjoyed two nights after dinner. Its just a couple blocks away.

Oh yea and if you need to use the internet there is a computer in the entrance area for guest to use. We would stay there again without hesitation.

Scott from Houston Texas

Room Tip: If you have a Rick Steves guide book you will receive a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    87
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
61
105
36
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Arden Park Guest House. The owner was very friendly and was even able to find us a laundromat around the corner that did a weeks worth of laundry for six of us while we were out sightseeing. The rates were VERY reasonable and the rooms were super clean - everything was fresh and neat and the beds were comfy Would definitely stay there again - it was only a short walk to all the "Shakespeare stuff" and there were lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raleigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerringong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our stay at Arden Park B and B, was very enjoyable. Close proximity to Stratford station and the township made the location very easy for access when we did not have a car. The room was most comfortable in every way and the friendliness and service that Mark showed us was most appreciated .I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast for a stay in Stratford upon Avon.

Room Tip: Double glazing on the front windows means that even these rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Having read the positive reviews I was expecting a great stay.
I’d checked out the price of a one night stay for two rooms on a last minute online booking system. I rang the hotel and the manager said I should book direct with him rather than book through the intermediary. He asked what price I had been given online and said he would charge the same and asked if we had a car and the parking would be an additional £30 for 24 hours. Not knowing how much parking would be in Stratford I accepted that. I received an email confirming my booking and the total due for the two rooms had a price for each room which had now increased by a total of £30 indicating a higher price for the rooms and parking was not shown as a separate item.
We arrived and I rang the doorbell. The greeting wasn’t particularly friendly and I started to follow the manager into the hotel, and he said ‘stay there’. Not much of a welcoming greeting. I’m sure something like, ‘if you’d like to wait I’ll get the parking voucher for you’ would have been better. He didn’t introduce himself, from the other reviews I guess his name was Mark. We were advised that breakfast was between 08:30 and 09:30, well in fact he said no later than 09:15 as he finished at 09:30. He asked exactly when we’d be turning up for breakfast the following morning which did take me back a little, and I felt like I was imposing on him. The manager asked how many croissants we’d be wanting and we had to decide there and then the evening before so we settled on 3 for 4 of us. He also asked if I could pay in cash so I said ok, I’d have to withdraw the cash later.
We were shown to our rooms which were spacious enough and clean, no carpets, which made the room look a bit hard, and there was a little kitchenette type arrangement. I felt like I was going to sleep in the kitchen.. Our rooms were in an extension at the back. The double bed was extremely uncomfortable. It was rock hard. The quilt was very thin. I had a dreadful night’s sleep. The room had adjustable heating so it wasn’t cold but the bed was just not a cosy place to be. The other room we had was the same.
We turned up for breakfast at 8:45, 15 minutes later than we’d stated and I felt nervous about it, based on the firm way the manager had asked when we’d be turning up for breakfast as if a 45 minute window was not a restricted enough timeframe in which to appear. The 3 croissants arrived which were very good. We’d finished our breakfast when the manager then asked if we’d like any toast. It was really bad timing and I felt that the answer should be no otherwise we’d be putting him out. We said no. A water filter would also be good as the tea tasted of chemicals.

We checked out immediately after breakfast and the manager asked if I had the cash for him. When we returned to the car park I checked how much it costs to park there for 24 hours. The cost is actually £10 for 24 hours, and having read other reviews and Mark’s comments in return, there is reference to free parking if booked direct. We weren’t offered the 50% discount card for the attractions either as other reviewers had been, and he didn’t offer any information at all other than give us a map. I felt like the manager had taken a dislike to us as soon as we got there. I had booked this mini-trip as a treat for my sister and her daughter and although we still had a great time in Stratford I’d hoped to give her a better hotel experience than the one we received.

The place itself is actually spotless clean to the point of being sterile. There is no welcoming home from home atmosphere and I didn’t feel we were welcomed at all. I will be returning to Stratford but not to here.

Room Tip: rooms out the back are big but not comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyGuy188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markkw, Owner at Arden Park Guest House, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear FamilyGuy188

Thank you for your review.

It seems that there was a misunderstanding:

Laterooms prices for Arden Park never include breakfast or parking. When a guest rings us after seeing their prices, we will either give a lower price or, as in your case, an upgraded room. However, the optional breakfast at £5 per meal and parking at £5 per 24-hours would still be extra.

So, the £30 charge was for parking and 5 breakfasts. The total for your 2 rooms, including extras, was £160, which is £32 per person per night. If you feel that I misled you, then please email me and I will adjust your bill.


I am sorry that were unhappy with many other aspects of your stay, particularly the impression I gave you at breakfast.

Actually there is a 60-minute window for arriving for breakfast: 08:30-09:30. If a guest has booked breakfast, but has not arrived by 09:30, I will pop to their room to remind them. Also, we are happy for guests to eat and chat until 10:00.


Finally, regarding discount vouchers, at check-in I religiously distribute whichever ones I have for Warwick Castle and the 5 Shakespeare Houses.

I like to save our guests money especially when it costs me nothing, but I cannot distribute vouchers that I do not have.

At the beginning of the year, I had an ample supply of Houses vouchers, but they expired on 31st March. The vouchers, which are printed by The Shakespeare Birthplace Trust, for subsequent months were not issued to guest houses for most, if not all, of April. So, your stay on 16th April meant that you missed out on them.


Best regards


Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Perfectly situated near the railway station and only a short walk to historic sites. Our room was comfortable, super-clean, and updated with a great modern bath. Unlike other reviewers, however, we did not find Mark to be particularly friendly or helpful; in fact, we could hardly find him at all. After reluctantly helping us up the stairs with one piece of luggage, we were quickly told how to use the wi-fi, when breakfast was available, to keep the tv volume low in the evening, and then he was gone. Maybe we caught him on a bad day, but we did not feel very welcome there. We spoke with another guest later in the day who also could not find him to ask a question. If it weren't for the excellent room and location, I would have rated this lower.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie32159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon Victoria
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a lovely couple of days in Stratford and the Arden Park Guest House was a perfect base for our exploration of Shakespeare's town. The guest house is very welcoming, has a lovely homely atmosphere, offers a brilliant breakfast....in short, a great place to stay. We can recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilgrim1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhylUK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Very good location. Plenty of parking spaces just across the road and Mark gave me free parking vouchers for 2 days on my arrival. I stayed in a room on the ground floor which was a studio room.The room was spacious and very clean.Very nice decor. Breakfast was really amazing. There are chinese , indian and turkish takeaways within walking distance. Mark also provides with discount vouchers for some attractions . I highly recommend this guest house and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamuelBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,618 reviews
0.6 mi away
Penryn Guest House
Penryn Guest House
#14 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Faviere Guest House
Faviere Guest House
#13 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
#27 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avonpark House
Avonpark House
#8 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashgrove House
Ashgrove House
#16 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Park Guest House

Property: Arden Park Guest House
Address: 6 Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arden Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non-Smoking, Family Run & Family Friendly, 4-star Guest Accommodation Character Town Centre Property, Close To Railway Station, Close To Shakespeare's Birthplace, 12 Minutes Stroll To Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Beautiful Decor, Guest Lounge, All Rooms En-suite, Single, Twin, Double, Triple And Family Rooms, Two Ground Floor Rooms For 2-3 Guests, Self-Catering Possible, Freeview LCD Televisions, Tea & Coffee Making Facilities, Hair Dryers, Ironing Facilities, Mobile Phone Hire, Money Savers Free Guest Computer For Internet Access, Free Wi-Fi Hotspot, Generous Cancellation Policy. Property Website Booking Options: Parking Permit - Full 24 Hours From Arrival, All You Can Eat Continental Buffet Breakfast, Secure On-Line Booking, Freephone Booking Number, Multi-Nights Discount (£5 or £10 per night), LASTMINUTE 10% Discount (This Sunday-Friday) ROOM ONLY 15% Discount (Any Booking) Make An Offer Facility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arden Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing