We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and pleasant”
Review of Shakespeare's View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shakespeare's View
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and pleasant”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Me and my husband stayed two nights here for a little weekend away and were really pleased with our choice of B and B. We had the double room with the lovely views of the apple orchard out of our window. It came with a private bathroom which is obviously not as convenient as an en-suite but really was not a big deal as it was just a step across the hallway and was lovely and big.
The breakfasts were really tasty and we got to eat them overlooking an amazing view in a sunny, bright living room.
The location is really good for exploring the Stratford-upon-Avon and Cotswolds area because it is pretty much central for most places there. It is a very short drive to Stratford and we only got stuck in traffic once so not too much stress with that.
Overall, a really nice experience, which helped make our weekend away really pleasant, was nice knowing we were coming back in the evening to such a lovely little B&B.

Room Tip: The double room has the really good view but private bathroom, the twin/double has the ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammiShortbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
62
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed for two nights at this very peaceful b&b. The room (double) was bright, airy and had a beautiful view and the bed was very comfortable. The hosts were friendly and helpful and the breakfast excellent. Wifi was available if needed.

Whilst in a rural location (peaceful), it was perfectly situated for a night at the theatre in Stratford and an evening in Warwick (both about 10mins by car).

Room Tip: The double has a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BwanaMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Well managed, great location, excellent breakfast, and views.

Use of a very good lounge.

We all enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleMonkey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stayed at this lovely B&B overnight. Ellie is was a fantastic host and really made us feel welcome. The setting is idyllic beyond words, looking over a beautiful valley right in the Cotswolds. The bedroom was very nice and the sitting room downstairs was a lovely place to have breakfast. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Catch a show at the RSC in Stratford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexFlint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland Australia
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

My husband and I and our three university aged children visited Shakespeare's View in July for two nights. We had a whole wing of the house to ourselves, which included two bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms and a living room downstairs overlooking the vineyard. We had the same beautiful view upstairs. Our rooms were tastefully decorated and the beds very comfortable.We slept well.
Elide, the owner cooked us a delicious English breakfast each morning, with fresh fruit and cereals, toast and homemade jams and even gluten free bread for me!
The house is situated outside the village of Snitterfield, close to Stratford upon Avon, within a few minutes drive to the "Park and Drive" (saves struggling with parking).
Thankyou Elide for a lovely stay. We hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AinslieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Snitterfield is a small village just a short drive from Stratford Upon Avon and we stayed at the Shakespears View twice during my recent visit back to the UK. The two rooms one a twin and one a double are in their own annex and we had use of a beautiful lounge for the guests only, which overlooks the stunning garden and orchards and the views of the Warwickshire countryside are beautiful. Breakfast is served in this room and there was an excellent choice and cooked to perfection. I would certainly receommend a visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savannahsperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Shakespeare's View, is everything you could want, wonderful location, in the country, but only 3 miles from the town centre. The service was friendly and very hospitable. The views from out bedroom were breathtaking. The beds were the comfiest we have ever slep in. The breakfast was to die for, fresh eggs from their free range chicken, homemade jams, fresh fruit, the list is endless. Perfect for a romantic break. We will definitely return to this jewel in Stratford Upon Avon

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
2.1 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
864 reviews
2.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,621 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,057 reviews
3.1 mi away
Avonpark House
Avonpark House
#8 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
435 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hunters Moon Guest House
Hunters Moon Guest House
#10 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare's View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare's View

Property: Shakespeare's View
Address: Kings Lane, Snitterfield, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shakespeare's View 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant award winning 5 Diamonds Gold B&B. Situated in the middle of a fruit orchard with spectacular views looking south across the Avon Valley, and beyond. Guests have the West Wing of the house affording complete privacy. Bright and beautifully decorated rooms, crisp white sheet and very comfy beds. 3 miles from Stratford centre, ideally placed for exploring Shakespeare Country and the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Shakespeare's View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing