We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal in a quaint pub”
Review of Rose and Crown

Rose and Crown
Price range: US$5 - US$18
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are a traditional English pub with some really great traditional meals
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice meal in a quaint pub”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Whilst staying just outside Stratford upon Avon we called into the town and had a walk by the river. After a good mooch around the shops too we were feeling hungry and called in for something to eat. The place was clean the staff friendly and the food good value. The pub is a lot larger inside than you think with plenty of tables to choose from - a good find.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mancunian2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    120
    73
    62
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Even terrible seems too good a review for this place.”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Worst service ever! We visited last night for dinner before going to the theatre. It was obviously fairly busy which we took to be a good sign. We found a table and ordered our food promptly... My partner didn't like certain items on his meal and asked for them to be substituted with something else only to be told no discounts on the price and no substitutions "we can only take food off, not put it on". We were told our food would be with us in about 25 minutes. It was nearly an hour before our food arrived, over cooked and tasting horrible. The chips were so over-fried that I was too scared to eat them in-case I damaged a tooth! And at that point we had 10 minutes before the start of our show. There was obviously some football game or another on that day and all the TVs were BLARING so loudly it was impossible to talk to each other or hear anything else. We'd had such a fabulous day and going to the Rose & Crown totally ruined what had been a rare night away from the kids. If you value good food, good atmosphere and good service my advice is to go ANYWHERE but here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJHosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pub - Let down by the attitude...”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We use this pub whenever we go to Stratford - the food is good value and not your average pub chain "grub" I can particularly recommend the burgers! The ale too is always excellent.

With the way the place is laid out, it offers a mix of small tables for two, right through to a couple of large group tables - so it can cater for a quick shopping lunch or a long lazy family gathering. Service is always quick without being rushed and the serving staff are always polite, smiling etc.

And now the downside... The bar staff & managers - God they can be grumpy! Woe betide the customer tries to deviate in the slightest from the menu options and make sure you know EXACTLY what you want when you go to the bar. We made the mistake of asking whether they could not put beans on one of our orders - you'd have thought we'd insulted their entire family! This isn't the first time we've found this response behind the bar - and probably won't be the last. Fortunately, the rest of the pub covers for the grumpy staff behind the bar!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Huge!”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Very large pub that seems to go on and on lol We enjoyed a meal here that was very tasty and reasonably priced, we also sampled a couple of cocktails that were prepared by a very friendly barman that chatted to us for a while. Has a large beer garden with pool tables. All in all very nice pub!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoxySimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

On entering this pub, was amazed at the size on the inside as it went back and back. Unfortunately the service was poor, my partner had a pint of lager which the manager who was training a young lad observed that the pump he was using was not regularly used. My partners pint was as flat as a pancake and I made him take it back, only to be told there was nothing wrong but they did replace the pint.

Not impressed with the service I am afraid being an ex landlady, surely the customer is alway right?

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim_sperring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose and Crown also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing