We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uncomfortable seating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swan Theatre

Swan Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable seating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies were excellent however the seating, particularly on the upper levels was uncomfortable. I felt I was at an angle all night and it impinged on my enjoyment of the performance. You have to manoeuvre yourself into the seats on the front row and slide in under the ledge. It can't be easy if you are not fully mobile but don't require wheelchair access. How anyone can stand for over 21/2 hours or so deserves my admiration.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank timperley-trotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    93
    27
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have just seen Wolf Hall and Bring up the Bodies in one day. The staff at the theatre are very friendly and helpful. The seating in the Gallery is a little uncomfortable and crammed but the staff supplied us with some cushions which was a big help. A wonderful experience all round.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marion E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Thrilling, but squashed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We saw a performance of Hilary Mantel's award-winning Wolf Hall at the Swan. It was riveting and unforgettable. The seats were very skimpy though as if designed for children and we were very glad that we are both on the small side!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BobKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“frequent visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We love this theatre. It is full of character, and very intimate. If you have long legs, some seats can feel a bit cramped (i don't, so it isn't a problem, but we have friends who have mentioned this!). We've sat in the stalls and circle and had brilliant view in both. We were on the front row at the side of the stage for Wolf Hall in February. Wow. What a performance. Only problem was a spotlight which was blinding occasionally, but overall the experience was incredible. So sorry i hadn't booked Bring Up the Bodies at the same time! We've seen lots of performances at The Swan and RSC, and have never been disappointed though Wolf Hall was exceptional.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jam4teaLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great play”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Went to see Wolf Hall which was fantastic. However, some of the seating in the Swan is not at all comfortable and over a long play this can play havoc with your back if you are over a certain age!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JFT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swan Theatre also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Swan Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing