We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tea forties style”
Review of The Fourteas

The Fourteas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$23
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: A 1940s themed Tea Room in Stratford-Upon-Avon. Come and join us in the 1940s and experience gorgeous loose leaf teas or a lovely cup of coffee accompanied by sandwiches on locally baked bread or try a cake or scone made daily on the premises by one of our bakers. No packet mixes or frozen products here. We also offer a gluten free cake each day and will do our best to help any other allergies too. The Fourteas is an experience not to be missed. The Fourteas has won the 2012 TouchFM Pride of Stratford Awards Town Outlet of the Year and has been selected by Jamie Oliver for his best 1000 Places To Eat In Britain app. We have recently moved to larger premises, but we are still only operating from one shop with no plans to expand to a chain yet!
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tea forties style”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A group of 12 of us had afternoon tea at this unusual tea shop. Its like walking back in time, to an age of vera lynn and ration books. We had a nice selection of sandwiches and a horrid jam sandwich!! We had a fruit scone with jam and cream and there was also a few small cakes and some larger cup cakes. Anything you can't eat can be put into a dogey box It was good value for money. You can just turn up and eat/drink down stairs too..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weekender066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,046
    361
    91
    34
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and experience”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family and I found The Fourteas quite by accident and enjoyed a really lovely lunch there. I couldn't make a decision and ended up opting for the Ivor Novello Cream Tea (£12.50) in order to try a bit of everything - this consisted of a very good egg mayonnaise sandwich, an enormous warm scone with jam and cream and a selection of a cupcake, biscuits and meringue. The special Fourteas blend of tea it came with was lovely and I'm now thinking of buying some to have at home! The other members of my party ordered scrambled egg on toast (£4.15), which was declared to be "proper scrambled egg" and went down very well, and the Churchill Club sandwich (£6.50) which was absolutely enormous and very good.

I adore the 1940s and enjoyed the atmosphere, decor and music immensely and am already planning to take friends there. I was also very impressed with the attentiveness of staff to a large party that was in for a birthday celebration. Other patrons were making use of the hats and coats kept for the full dressing-up experience and staff seemed very happy to take and appear in pictures which is a nice touch.

My only, very minor, criticism would be that our table was approached by 3 different staff in quite quick succession before we were ready to order but once we had made a decision it was difficult to get anyone's attention to place our order. Our food also took quite a long time to come but as I say this felt very minor compared to the excellent overall experience and we were there on a very busy Bank Holiday weekend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SKBhambra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect period detail matched with great tea & cakes.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The attention to detail in the cafe is great and very unique. From the posters on the wall, the background music plus the staff in their 1940s outfits, it all makes for a perfect and authentic dining experience. Topped off by the use of a 'tea-timer' which acts as a guide for when your tea is ready. Would highly recommend if you like the Forties.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilDavis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fabulous afternoon tea - you've got to try it!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

As a BIG fan of afternoon tea, I was very excited to find this tearoom which was even better due to the 1940s theme. The afternoon tea itself is very good value (It was around £12) and the cakes were delicious. The staff were friendly and efficient and I will most certainly return :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cate_devine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Swinging back in time!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was an experience that felt so right in Stratford amongst all the history. The guide at Nash's House suggested we try it and we were glad we did.
Authentically dressed waitresses dealt with the busy tea room expertly and were charming. The scones were the best I have had, so light and tasty, and the large teapot was a blast from the past, along with the green teacups and saucers. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fourteas also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Fourteas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing