We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a shed with lots of items just lying around”

Stratford Armouries Museum
Attraction details
birmingham
Level Contributor
550 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“its a shed with lots of items just lying around”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

ordered tickets via amazon local so only paid £6 for the pair. the place is small , there are not many information boards and there is no theme as such

there was a huge table of animal horns...WHY???

if I had paid more than three quid a head I would have asked for my money back!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank phil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Owner at Stratford Armouries Museum, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your opinion, but have to say we are very surprised by your comments. Firstly the building you refer to as a 'shed' was a high cost capital project carried out in 2007. The word 'shed' has no resemblance to the building whatsoever. It was built to the highest specifications possible using only best quality locally sourced materials.

We also used top quality local crafts people to construct the building which has provided our customers with approximately 20,000 sq ft of gallery space - clearly not a small building as you suggest. The museum is privately owned, not government funded; we work incredibly hard to make our customers visits as interesting and as happy an experience as possible

The theme of the museum is 'warfare'. We are called 'Stratford Armouries - and this Is expressed very clearly throughout. Customers are surrounded by world class exhibits from The War of The Roses and The English Civil War to World War II and beyond. For example, at Stratford Armouries you can see: Leonardo da Vinci's giant crossbow, a rare group of four walker and Co 32 pounder canon, Horse armour formerly exhibited at The Metropolitan Museum of New York, Lawrence of Arabia's crystal hilted dagger, one of the earliest breech loading canon in the world - approximately 600 years old, pistols made by gunsmiths in Stratford-Upon-Avon e.g. Thomas Sharp, Britains National Collection of model soliders - over 10,000 pieces, the tail section of a wellington bomber - a very rare item indeed, cabinets containing first and second world war uniforms,weaponry and equipment etc.

We are sorry that you did not feel able to imagine the significance of our table of animal 'horns'. We do like to leave some things to our customers imagination......horns are metaphors for weaponry, warfare and barbaric actions - but there are a number of interpretations our customers may like to make! We will take this latter comment seriously and will produce an information panel which will help to obtain customer opinion and feedback.

Thank you for your comments although we are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Stratford Armouries. James Wigington, Curator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    6
    4
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Ok, but probably a bit expensive for the amount of time there”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Visited at the weekend, quite a small museum full of interesting exhibits that could have been spread over a larger area (if they had the space). We were only there for about an hour. Confused by the other reviews, didn't see a restaurant, would have loved a cup of tea! Didn't see the outside play area either! Definitely didn't see that elephant in the picture!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank womanwholivesinashoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Easter Sunday: windy, wet , chilly. We wanted somewhere different to visit as we were all Shakespeared out. We were welcomed by Julian who was on hand to answer any questions but was not intrusive. A large collection of armour, weapons and toy soldiers. And if your little ones get bored there is a play area and adventure playground.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Small museum, big welcome”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A lovely private collection museum full of interesting military artifacts. Huge collections of model and toy soldiers and a lot of full size weqaponry and armour from the late middle ages to more recent conflicts. Very friendly and informative curator. It was a quiet day so plenty of time to look around and take pictures.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stratford armouries grounds”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Came along on a nice summer day to have a picnic and to the go in and use the play pod !!
Picnic table available and grass area with no signs saying it can not be used ( I do no your not allowed to take your own food into the premises so that's why we thought we could eat outside and then go in after ) Only to have a member of staff come over and told us we were not allowed to eat there on the picnic bench that is provided and was extremely rude and informed that we had upset her day when she had upset the whole of our family !!! DONT EAT ON PiCNIC TABLE

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne-Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stratford Armouries Museum also viewed

 
Wellesbourne Hastings, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Stratford Armouries Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing