We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pear Tree Holiday Cottages

Pear Tree Holiday Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pear Tree Holiday Cottages
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
295 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Margaret and Ted are ideal "on-site" hosts. Your privacy is respected but, if needed, they are there to help and advise.
We enjoyed the comfort of the Apple Loft, which provides well appointed accommodation; good location, amenities, fittings and fixtures. The gardens are a treat. The Apple Loft and Acanthus Cottage have separate entrances on different sides of the building. In front of each door is a garden with table and four chairs. Perfect for relaxation and privacy on a warm summer's evening. Ample off-road parking. Very quiet location, no road noise and we don't know if the nearby church has a bell because we never heard one ring.
Local transport is good: the train station is only a 5 minute, relaxed walk from the cottages and a return ticket cost only 1,90 GBP.. Frequent service, last train from Stratford to Wilmcote is 22:30.
We hope the Apple Loft is available when we next visit the Stratford area.
Highly recommended.
Taxi is 9,00GBP

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Drehort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were guests of Margaret and Ted for one week in September.Five star self catering cottage environment. Our first visit and not knowing the area, Ted drove us around to get oriented. Extremely comfortable, nicely furnished and quiet, just a short walk to the historical sites (do not miss St. Andrew's) and restaurants as well as the local market (Thomas's) for groceries and papers. Do try Anna's and David's croissants. Our view was of the lovely gardens and pastures. Walk along the canal for a pleasant 4 miles to Stratford upon Avon - we even helped open the locks. Margaret and Ted made us feel at home and had our kitchen and refrigerator stocked with the necessary items for our first full breakfast. Gracious and friendly. Hated to move on and want to return. Thoroughly relaxing! You will enjoy your stay

Room Tip: Any of the cottage selections will be comfortable and quiet. Second floor offers nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YnotNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Two American senior ladies, we just spent a week at Acanthus Cottage, and of all the self-catering experiences we have had during our several visits to England, this was by far the best. Many things contribute to this opinion, but highest on the list is Ted and Margaret's hospitality. Not in the least obtrusive, they were on hand for our every need and we always felt comfortable in asking for help or advice. The cottage itself is the stuff we Anglophile's dream of - that old, old feeling, but modern conveniences at hand. The location is superb for walks and short drives to excellent pubs as well at Stratford itself. The nearby canal path makes for wonderful walks - I even met and chatted with a retired Oxford Don. We found Warwick Castle easily, a few minutes from the cottage. (Don't miss touring the Lord Leycester Hospital in Warwick.) A special experience was a drive to the Cotswolds, seeing again the lovely villages of the Slaughters and Bourton-on-the-Water, followed by an impressive visit to the Roman Villa at Chedworth. My friend and I appreciate our entire experience at Acanthus and Pear Tree Cottage, and will remember Ted and Margaret with much fondness.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anglophile14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Just had a great stay there with my Mother-in-law and Aunt. Perfect ground floor accomodation, lovely gardens. Ideally located for Mary Ardens House, local pubs and perfect village shop.
Will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

Acanthus 2 bedroom cottage provided every comfort required to make our one week stay a pleasure from beginning to end. We arrived after a very long journey by plane and train and were delighted to find provisions in the fridge. Ted and Margaret the owners were very friendly and most helpful.
Peartree cottage, with the adjoining Acanthus and Apple loft accommodation is surrounded by beautiful lawns and flower beds. Situated in the delightful Wilmcote village it is an ideal location when visiting the historic sights in the area.
Thank you
Margaret & Ted.
The Maxwells and the Jappys.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mairijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Pear Tree Cottage in Wilmcote offers 2 self-catering units. I stayed in the Apple Loft for a week, a 1st floor one bedroom unit, which the web site states can accommodate up to 3 people. The accommodation has a fully equipped kitchen, including a washing machine and dryer. This is one of the reasons I selected the location. However, upon arrival we were asked not to use it as it is too noisy. The only other option was to use the owners' machines down stairs and around the corner in a shed. Not bad except when it is raining on laundry day. On my booking form I included my name, my travelling companion, and a friend who lives in England and planned to join us for a few days. However, when she called, twice, she was told she could not stay and was given the names of B & Bs in the surrounding area. Once we arrived and mentioned this to Ted, the owner, he stated she could stay. Of course she had already booked elsewhere! Other than these two complaints the location and unit layout was fabulous. Wilmcote is about 3 miles from Stratford upon Avon and an easy drive to the park and ride so you don't need to drive into the town center. Pear Tree is also around the corner from Mary Arden's Farm. However, I would not go back again as I feel lied to about the accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anglophile82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, Owner at Pear Tree Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
The review dated July 27th 2009 suggests that I lied about the availability of my Apple Loft.
What actually happened was that the American lady who booked ,for herself & her mother asked that, if it was possible, a third person could stay with them in a folding bed in the one bedroom flat.
I agreed and she fiiled in a booking form that stated that the third person MIGHT come.
When they arrived the third person was not mentioned and I assumed she would not be coming.
I subsequently found out that, for some strange reason, she had told this person to BOOK HERSELF IN for that week.. She did this and did not not indicate that she was the third person mentioned and I obviously hought that hers was a new enquiry, and told her that the apartment was already booked and advised her about alternative accommodation in the area.
I have since asked the lady who booked to give me the contact details of the third person so that I can explain what happened-she has declined to do so.
With regard to the comments regarding laundry-I asked her not to use the machine in her kitchen because we had had complaints about other American guests setting the washing machine to run overnight. causing noise and vibration in the adjacent apartment. She was shown to a fully equipped laundry in a brick outhouse 5 yards from her door, which she used without complaint.
I hope this explains the misunderstanding which through no fault of mine caused the complaint, and will convince you to delete the msleading comment
Thank you
P E Mander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, Devon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2009

This B&B is a home away from home. The landlady and landlord were extremely welcoming on arrival and friendly at breakfast each morning. They had gone to a great deal of effort to provide comprehensive information about local attractions and facilities, including copies of the menus of each pub and restaurant within 10 miles. They even included their own personal review of the food if they'd visited the restaurant.

We were surprised by the quality because the rates were very reasonable.

The facilities on site aren't really suitable for eating in, so eating out is a must, which may prove expensive, but Stratford has plenty of choice.

The location was plus for us. Set in a nice quiet modern feeling village, but only a short drive from Stratford itself. It was also handy for reaching main routes leading in all directions so a great touring base.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TivRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
1.3 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Larkrise Cottage
Larkrise Cottage
#32 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pear Tree Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Holiday Cottages

Property: Pear Tree Holiday Cottages
Address: 7 Church Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing