We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Other reviewers must have been very lucky”
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The New Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Other reviewers must have been very lucky”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

A tiny double room ( hard to walk around the bed) , so called free wifi - only really working in a small part of the bar, a tiny and tired bathroom with no soap or toiletries, restuarant open only until 9'00pm with a very odd choice on the menu - not able to charge anything to the room.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank GriffoHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    123
    46
    13
    12
See reviews for
51
186
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

we have today returned from a very pleasant and comfortable 4 night stay at the new inn, our room was clean and spacious bathroom with walk in shower . the food is very good and plenty of it we ate in three of our four nights and selected different meals each evening all were great. all the staff are most friendly and there was nothing they would not do for you.hope to go back again before end of year.

Room Tip: choose rooms 16-21
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Stayed there on 3rd august had a room on ground floor number 14 paid for a ex room look like cleaner forgot to dust cobwebs around ceiling bulbs not working in bathroom room it self was next to the pub toilets and you could hear them going in and out very basic room not worth 80 pound a night breakfast okay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ironboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Our first night and start of our nearly 3 weeks of tour across UK and Ireland... 50€ incl. breakfast is a more than reasanoble price; nice and warm welcome, restaurant OK for dinner; the rooms are really small but equipped with traditional furniture - perfect fit for a couple like us...

TIP: If you are around, dont miss the ingleton waterfalls, great waterfalls and long walks give a good insight....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koray_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

£5 for wifi that only works in the bar. And I mean ONLY IN THE BAR not even in the garden outside. I was able to receive my emails but not reply to them. Very disappointed. This wasn't meant to be a business trip but I received an email that I absolutely had to reply to. I would hate to be booked in here when there was more than one campervan on the field as there is only one shower and one toilet all in the same room and as a previous reviewer said you have to walk over a scrubby yard to get to it. I feel the description could have been more precise. The cycle path is supposed to be very close by - we'll see in the morning.

Room Tip: Don't know about the rooms. Stayed on the campsite. Let's just say that wifi should have b...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The New Inn (my wife and I couldn't agree whether a hotel or a pub) is about 2 miles outside the town, and at the edge of the village of Clifford Chambers. At less than £40 via a special offer, this was really good value so near a major tourist attraction. The room was small, but had everything you wanted. An annoying feature was the bathroom light/fan, which seemed to leave one in complete darkness without warning; and meant you couldn't visit the loo or sink in the night without setting up a whirlwind.
Excellent carvery on Sunday (but the restaurant closes by 7 on Sundays, later other days). Breakfast very good and freshly cooked. Friendly local staff and ample parking. An odd quirk seems to be that you settle your bill the night before leaving!
The village of Clifford Chambers (which doesn't seem to rate a mention in the guidebooks) is well worth a visit - the main street is about half a mile long leading to the sumptuous manor house and a charming old mill with waterlilies growing thickly.
You are close enough to Stratford-o-a (an hourly bus from opposite the inn if you don't want to have to park there) but can get away from the noisy international crowds at the New Inn.

Room Tip: Probably quieter at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loughtonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We didn't stay in the hotel but were on the attached campsite in a campervan and ate at the pub so this review is based on the campsite, pub and restaurant.

This campsite is a field next to the pub, 10 pitches with hook up and possibly more without hook up. Each of the 10 pitches has plenty of room and there is a light to each pitch. There is just 1 room with 1 toilet, 1 shower and 1 wash basin, shared by men and women so if someone is having a shower you have to wait to use the toilet! Also to get to this room you have to walk past all the rubbish and bins from the pub and left over building materials. The campsite is right next to a main road so if you are sitting outside you may get some road noise. However at £12 per night for 2 adults and 2 dogs including electric I still thought this was good value.

The pub is pleasant and it has a dining area attached that served a carvery (however this had ended by 8:30 when we came to eat) and a full menu. Many of the main courses included a visit to the salad bar, which I enjoyed. The restaurant staff were friendly and helpful and I enjoyed the food.

Because the pub includes a hotel it felt a bit like the campsite was just an extra side line and it felt like we were treated differently to other guests.

The centre of Stratford is about 3 miles away and there is a bus stop right outside the pub. However a man in the next caravan gave us a lift into Stratford and we intended to get the last bus back (7:20pm) but this bus never came so the bus service doesn't seem very reliable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tibbytnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,462 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,782 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,486 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,289 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: Clifford Chambers, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing