We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not What we Hoped For”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The New Inn
Tamworth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not What we Hoped For”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We just returned from a nights stay here. Wasn't the best night away we have had, the hotel rooms were average, very basic but not great.
The most annoying thing for me about this trip is that:
1. I had to leave at 7.30am for a business trip and they failed to tell us until the end of the night before that breakfast wasn't served until 8am (we paid for B&B) which I thought was a bit strange considering it was a week day. So we went hungry
2. At 6am, there was no hot water in the hotel (well my room at least) meaning i couldn't have a shower! Tried again at 6.30 and still no hot water. Nobody to contact as a small family run hotel.
Wasn't overly impressed and wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    115
    44
    10
    10
See reviews for
46
172
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Not really convenient for visiting Stratford. It's a couple of miles away and the walk is on a narrow footpath on a busy road with trucks zooming past just inches away. Yes, there's a park and ride which runs regularly and is reasonably priced (£3 return) but it's approx 2/3rds of the way along the aforementioned walk. You can drive into Stratford of course but you can probably imagine how much fun that can be - and how much fun parking can be.

For our nights out in town we ended up using taxis. FYI: these cost between £6 to £8 each way.


As for the place itself, it's pretty basic and our room (Room 1) very small and cramped. It does have a lovely four-poster bed but that bed takes up most of the space.
Internet very unreliable. Shower veers intermittently from hot to cold (and vice versa). Breakfast not bad. Service wasn't bad but felt a little offhand and not particularly bothered. I've stayed in worse places but based on all the above I'd say I'm very unlikely to come back here,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surrealistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during July 2013. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. Visiting Stratford on Avon and parking was really easy. We booked the Restaurant on the first night but after being advised that the was a 30 mins wait we went outside to the tables and our order was taken straight away and we got our meal in about 10 mins!!! The quality of the meat was really good. Breakfast is self service and very good. The rooms are in need of some upgrading in regard to furniture but perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We brought a group to The New Inn and was welcomed with open arms. The owner went out of her way to help us get settled and checked in. We loved the location and the rooms were great. The breakfast was plenty and filling. We will definitely bring a group back to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeRodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Travelled down to Stratford-Upon Avon for a couple of days with my daughter - in -law. This Hotel is situated about 10 mins outside the city and it's lovely and peaceful there.
The building we stayed in has recently been refurbished to a high standard. As my daughter-in -law is disabled we required a twin room with easy access to bathroom facilities, Although they don't have a twin room with disabled facilities they where able to offer us a room on the ground floor which suited or needs perfectly. Plenty of space in the room to move around, lots of storage space too for anyone staying longer than a couple of nights.
Breakfast depends on the number people staying, the 1st morning we had a buffet type breakfast and the 2nd morning was served to the table, Both equally good thou.
On the 2nd evening we ate at the pub taking advantage of the vouchers we found in the local booklet, We would recommend the food , plenty of it and piping hot too.
Lots of parking on site, as there is also a camping / caravan field to the side of the hotel.
Staff are very helpful and showed us our room, very approachable , and extremely friendly.

If you decide to use the park and ride at the end of the road be aware there are 3 different rates , We didn't realise till we had paid and were on the bus heading for town .
Directly in front of Waitrose is limited to 2 hrs, however the car park to the left where the white and blue signs are you pay £1 for up 12 hrs , go further down to were the bus stops and you pay £4 for 9 hrs, !! . Please check.

We also visited Butterfly World near the river and would recommend this too

Overall we would recommend the hotel, area excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

An extremely good value offer from Booking.com led us to book the New Inn,plus my wifes love of carveries,which had good reviews. As luck would have it, the only night they dont have a carvery is on the night we stayed!(Monday) The staff were friendly,especially the dark haired young lady with glasses,who looked after all of us at breakfast (very efficiently too) We were given room 10 on the ground floor,which was thankfully very cool in the heatwave we are experiencing.Although very clean,it had two downsides. 1)The front door is opposite the kitchen extractor fan and when we entered, the smell of fat/grease was very strong. 2) We opened one of the windows and found two large waste bins directly below,so had to choose which of the unpleasant smells to put up with! A quick trip to Waitrose to purchase air freshener sorted out most of the problem,and we were able to enjoy our breakfast next morning.

Room Tip: To avoid unpleasant odours,check the bins are not under your windows if you get room 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyA1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The New Inn is well located away from the hustle and bustle of Statford but has a park and ride just a 1 mile walk/drive away that gets you into Stratford within minutes. Also a Waitrose in the park and ride car park for any drinks or food you may want.
The staff were excellent at the New Inn, which has a nice bar and food in the restuarant is also good. The rooms were fine for the price, although I did feel the bed lined could have smelt fresher. There was thick dust behind the radiator pipe, which is accessible to clean but I am a perfectionist! Having said that I would be happy to stay there again. There is a steep and deep staircase up to the rooms, so if you would have difficulty with that ask for a ground floor room, as they do have some. They also have a camp/caravan site ajdacent to the Inn.

Room Tip: If you need to avoid deep/steep staircase ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.0 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,682 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
818 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,458 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
#19 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
779 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#18 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: Clifford Chambers, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing