We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay just out of town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The New Inn
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay just out of town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

A small village pub that has been tastefully extended. Great food in the conservatory restaraunt including a carvary.

We had problems booking through their website as we wanted a room with disabled facilties so had to contact them by EMail. We had a large groundfloor room in the new annex with a wet room. Could of done with a seat or more grab rails in the shower and larger towels.

Good nights sleep although some early risers woke us by letting doors bang!

Hourly bus into Stratford stops opposite.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    113
    43
    10
    10
See reviews for
45
167
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for just one night at the New Inn as we we attending an event at the nearby Long Marston Airfield. The staff welcomed us and we were quickly shown our room which was very clean and comfortable. The spacious shower was excellent.

We ate dinner in the restaurant and starters, main courses and desserts were all very well reviewed by our group. The steaks were cooked as requested and individual preferences on sides etc were catered for. All washed down with some excellent local ale. If anything the menu was too big but the quality of the food could not be faulted.

Would stay again if in the Stratford area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reido1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in deluxe room (19) which was clean tidy with nice furniture. En suite was small but clean and modern with spacious shower. Our room was in another building but I prefer it as there is less noise.

Breakfast was ok. There was a hot buffet of bacon, sausages, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, grilled tomatoes, mushrooms, beans and toast. There was also 3 cereal boxes and some yoghurt, tea coffee and juice.

It was an adequate breakfast. I found the fried eggs very oily so fine if you don't mind it. The scrambled eggs a bit salty. I don't know what was done to the mushrooms, I usually love them but these were. .. boiled maybe or something, not sure what, they were a bit rubbery and tasteless.

The waitress was lovely but think the chef was a bit grumpy. We've been to a number of similar places and would say this breakfast was fine but not as nice as others we've been to.

Unfortunately each time either my husband or I were at the reception for something, it seemed to take a while for the guy to notice us waiting. He was ok but seemed indifferent. We didn't experience the welcoming that other people got, maybe it depends who's on shift?

Overall Ok as we got on voucher but wouldn't pay anymore than the £99.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oncecalledfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were made very welcome at The New Inn and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean, and with a lovely BIG bed (6ft wide). The breakfast was very tasty and we weren't hurried at all. The hotel is just outside Stratford upon Avon but there is a 'park and ride' bus a five minute drive away where you can leave your car for just £1 a day. You can download a voucher from the hotel website which enables you to have 2 meals (from a selection) for £14.95. We had a very relaxing enjoyable stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms are in a separate, but adjacent, building. Rooms 16 to 18 are on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay, which cost £99 for carvery and two breakfasts, which was a good bargain, the carvery was plentiful,and with help yourself breakfast one morning and served breakfast, on the second day..we had room 19 which was more than adequate and comfortable, and over looking the campsite which was empty at this time of the year..problem with the light going off in the bathroom, which seemed to be the same in most rooms, but if you waved your arms about it was fine lol...the staff were pleasant and helpful...all in all for the price we paid, we have no complaints...

Room Tip: room 19 was quiet and a nice outlook, but not good if disabled, as plenty of steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a one night stay. The room was small and a little tired but spotlessly clean and more than adequate for us, The food and staff were excellent, if we are ever in the area again, it will be at the top of our list to visit. The Sunday carvery was very good, served on a lunchtime and early evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willow81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

What a lovely site, we arrived around 4pm and went to reception where we were greeted and shown the amienities (the food was cooking in the restaurant and smelt lovely) and told where to pitch up.
It is a small site with only 5 spaces (at the moment) for camper vans,caravans or mobile homes (no tents)
We returned to the inn once sorted and had a pint or 2 then went into the restaurant for food and it was lovely.

After a good nights sleep we woke up and cycled into stratford as the greenway is only around 1/2 mile away over public right of ways which is easily cycle able (may get muddy if been raining but you can get via the main road) and we had a great day there.

On the way back we were doing a bit of Geocaching and around the corner from the inn is a working mens club,we were welcomed and stayed for a while, would say that if like me you are in a camper van take wipes as there are no washing facilities for the pots...yet.
There is only 1 toilet and shower which could be a problem in the mornings so be aware,after speaking to the owner he said that there will be a new toilet/wash block built in the near future so all is good.

Would I recommend this site...Yes I definitely would

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siluspoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
2.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#18 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: Clifford Chambers, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing