We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The New Inn
newcastle, england
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

just enjoyed a 2 day break at the new inn. very pleasant staff, good food, comfortable bed. we were in the new annexe. well worth the money. would stay again if ever we were in Stratford.
very surprised to find they don't supply clothes hangers!! I was told by guy on reception that it's in case they get stolen.....the mind boggles!!! why bother supplying a wardrobe but no hangers?? maybe they should let customers know at the time of booking.

Room Tip: the annexe is quiet and nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntievera48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    115
    44
    10
    10
See reviews for
46
173
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Really nice place. Friendly staff and lovely and warm (wet and cold outside!). Excellent value for money. Comfy beds and even though it's at a pub it was quiet. Would go back and recommend. Good location for the town. although you probably need transport or be ok to walk (about 30mins)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We booked a 2 night stay here from one of the online travel discount firms (forget which one) - £99 for 2 nights b&b & a carvery dinner on 1 night. Our room was in the new extension & was lovely; decent size, good quality furniture & very clean. Only minor gripe was that there were no (wine etc) glasses - just cheap plastic ones. Breakfast was very nice, as was the carvery dinner - both a notch above normal pub food. Free Wi-Fi In the rooms - get a password at the bar.
The pub is only a couple of miles from the town centre, but you feel as you're really in the countryside. We used the park & ride to get into Stratford - not expensive, but think the last return bus leaves around 7pm, so may not suit everyone.
Will certainly consider returning here when we next visit Stratford.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lettyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in September. Room lovely and comfortable, The staff were all friendly. The food was excellent. Good location for visiting Stratford and surrounding area. The pub also has grounds catering for tourers and tents.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyblahblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Good place to stay to enjoy Shakespeare country. We stayed here for 2 nights while soaking up the history of the district. The room was clean however with three adults it was a little on the small side, luckily there is a lot to do in and around Stratford so we kept busy. Management where very good and very responsive when we reported the leaking radiator in the bathroom. The response was swift and they did what they could to deal with the issue.
The inn itself has heaps of character and the restaurant serves VERY good food. (the lasagna was especially good!) The policy of room settlement the night before makes check out easy. Clean room and good food made a great stay.

Room Tip: Don't book bunk bed room unless it is for children
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ossie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

An ideal place to visit Stratford on Avon with an excellent Breakfast as well. Another great point is the nearness of the Park and Ride, though do be careful where you park, different parts of the apparently same car park are charged very differently, at present either 50p an hour or £1 for the whole day! I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spidermei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Beeding, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed in the newly opened part and our room was nicely fitted out , a very comfortable bed and an excellent bathroom with a very good shower. Although not large it was perfectly adequate as we only use it to sleep in as we spent most of the day out. Great location for visiting Stratford. Food was very good especially when you consider the prices, the set menu is very good value at £12.50 for 3 courses but the full menu (which is vast ) is very reasonably priced. Staff were very friendly and willing to help with any query.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.0 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#18 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
1.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: Clifford Chambers, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing