We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly practical, no frills.”
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The New Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed here with a friend when we visited Stratford to see a performance at The Swan Theatre. First impressions of the place are not brilliant. The pub is painted a gaudy shade of yellow and some of the signage has seen better days. But I was very pleasantly surprised when I was shown to our room in a separate building. The executive twin room was fresh, modern and extremely clean. The beds were comfy, with cotton sheets and a choice of feather or man made pillows. The bathroom was well appointed with a fantastic shower. Breakfast was fine - nothing to write home about; I suspect that the sausages were neither local nor organic - but it was tasty, plentiful and absolutely right for the price. This is not a boutique hotel nor would you expect it to be for such reasonable prices, but for a short break in Stratford when you are likely to be spending most of your time out and about, this is a perfectly functional and reliable hotel. Highly recommended - which is more than can be said for the taxi firm recommended by reception, who should not be trusted when they say they will have a cab with you in 20 minutes. Book taxis into town well in advance!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaBarraca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Arrived on Sunday 4th May stayed 2 nights. The room in the newer annexe was quiet, spotlessly clean and comfortable (although slightly too warm on a really warm weekend). Breakfast both days was plentiful, fresh and good quality with full vegetarian breakfast offered. Carvery was of good quality - and lots of it. We had the hot rock option the next day with steak for my husband and I had Tuna. Good size and quality of both. Staff were helpful and attentive throughout dinner and during our whole stay. The hotel is nicely situated in the pretty village of Clifford Chambers, just 5 miles out off Stratford centre. We drove in both days, reasonable parking costs (£1 per hour) it was extremely busy due to a Classic Car rally and some roads were closed off but parking was available. The day was fun, superb riverside market, lovely characteristic pubs and of course all the history and beauty Stratford upon Avon affords

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

If you are looking for a short break around Stratford-upon -Avon, then i would thoroughly recommend this hotel, the staff were friendly and joined in some banter with us,room very very clean with a spacious feel (even though this was the disabled room) with modern well appointed furniture and a comfortable bed, the older part of the hotel into the main bar was a little tight getting in with a wheelchair but manageable and expected for an older building,food was very good.
A very big well done to all and will be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our experience was very disappointing. Bunk bed in our room squeaked every time the children moved so had to put the mattresses on the floor so we could all sleep undisturbed. No hot water at all the first morning, so cold showers. When I told the staff, their response ref. the bed was for us to lift it to see if the legs had been moved, and regarding the hot water, they just said the problem had been fixed. There was no apology, or even the slightest sense they were at all bothered by our problems. Breakfast was 8.30-9.30 at the weekend so we arrived at 9 to find they had run out of fruit and yoghurt with no replacements. The cooked buffet was adequate, and there was a limited offering of toast, cheap juice, cheap packets of jam and butter. In general, everything appeared too much effort, even a smile. They also appeared in a hurry to clear away our table so we didn't feel at all relaxed. Their local knowledge was poor as they said the park and ride was £1 each. It is £1 per car plus £1.70 per person, so turned out way more expensive than parking in Stratford where we noticed the car parks were £4/day and no where near full, even on a Saturday in the Easter holidays. We would not go back.

Room Tip: Room 18 was a large family room with bunks and twin beds. Outside lights were very bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

booked a 2 day break via wowcher and ended up staying for 3 nights enjoyed it so much .the staff are friendly knowledgeable and helpful.The food very good the whole place was spotlessly clean.Although we had to move rooms as we wanted to stay a second night we actually prefered the second room so if you get offered room 14 dont be put off that it is so close to the bar.The hotel itself is convenient for both Stratford and the Cotswolds we had a wonderful time and will be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: both rooms we stayed in were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Saturday lunchtime, not many having lunch. Served by two grumpy waitresses, one who shuffled around and a barman who only smiled once or was that wind? Whilst we were served with drinks quickly, we then had to wait 25 minutes for order to be taken. Ordered nachos, £7.95, consisted of nachos covered by stuff out of a jar and very little cheese. What a shame all this spoilt very pleasant and good value main courses. Was just about to forgive them and then found they charge an additional £1.50 for credit cards. Get into the real world. NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank MarathonBillybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here for an evening trip to the RSC at Stratford. The location is terrific as it is surrounded by countryside but only a few minutes from the south side of Stratford. It is even closer to a decent sized Waitrose. The pub looks nice but we were out all evening and didn't try it. There were three of us staying there me, my wife and our daughter. We had one room with a double bed and bunk-beds. The room (#12) was a bit small and a little old-fashioned with nowhere to sit. The breakfast was a buffet style and was fine. The waitress was friendly and efficient. It cost us £95 for the night (with breakfast) compared with £63 for a Premier Inn family room in Stratford (without breakfast). Even allowing for breakfast and parking, the Premier Inn will work out cheaper for a nicer, larger room. So that's where we will be staying to see Henry IV part 2.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,827 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,162 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
910 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,140 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Address: Clifford Chambers, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £56 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing