We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant experience”
Review of S&D Falconry

S&D Falconry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Recently took part in a 2 hour falconry experience and had a great time.

+ Steve & Debbie were fantastic hosts, they know their stuff but most importantly they carry it with humor and interest that it makes it very entertaining.

+ The birds - we got to handle a barn owl, a great horned owl, a harris hawk, a peregrine falcon hybrid and a tawny owl. Each bird magnificent in their own way and very relaxed when perched.

+ The grounds - beautiful Warwickshire countryside with well kept grounds and plenty of parking space.

Overall, a great experience which is ideal for doing something out of the ordinary or getting as a gift for someone.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank aglazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    11
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

What an amazing experience and they obviously adore all the birds of prey in there care amazing value for money would recommend highly

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jacquiemaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I've always been fascinated by birds of prey and when the Groupon voucher came along I couldn't resist. The two hours we spent at the centre exceeded all my expectations. We got to handle the birds; barn owls, kestrel, and falcons and It was wonderful to see the birds so closely, to learn so much about them and to witness how well they were cared for and how much their owners loved and respected them.
A previous comment posted a criticism that it cost £10 for a companion to take photos. Apart from actually handling the birds they take part in the whole experience; I would class that as good value for money! Thank you S and D Falconry - a fab experience!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisWinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday treat thoroughly enjoyed”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Was given a half day falconry experience for my 40th birthday. Went today and had the luxury of being the only guest there. I had plenty of one on one time with the birds; owls, hawks and falcons. There was a consistent narrative throughout giving me lots of education about the birds. The family running it was very friendly and welcoming (and gave me a nice cup of tea). Seeing the birds close up was such a treat, seeing such detail in the plumage up close was stunning.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Group environment (20 - 30 people) didn't detract from the experience at all. We watched all the birds fly between the hosts, everyone got the chance to have every bird fly to their hand once, then the opportunity to hold at least one bird for 5 minutes or so. The hosts were a family, they were very knowledgeable and passionate and no questions were left unanswered because they told us everything we could possibly want to know. Definitely recommend for the discount price we paid but full price (as per those quoted on the website) I'd expect a smaller more intimate group.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HAM1002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed S&D Falconry also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to S&D Falconry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing